We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

If you are planning on staying in Port Douglas then this is the perfect place to set up base! The hotel is very clean and the grounds well kept. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and had everything you could possibly need; even a heated jacuzzi. The bed was huge and very comfortable; and the air-con was quiet and efficient. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. We did have a couple of problems during our stay and the staff sorted out the problems fully and promptly. I have stayed at some very good, and some very poor hotels, but this is the first time I felt I needed to write a review; and this is solely down to the fantastic service we received from the staff. The swimming pools and facilities are excellent. The only minor point is that the hotel does not have a 24hr reception. However it does have a telephone available should you need assistance after 9pm (worth noting if you're arriving late!). The location of the hotel is very good, the front of the hotel is in a quiet street, and the back of the hotel leads directly into the main centre of Port Douglas. This means the hotel is quiet and relaxing but right in the centre for your shops and restaurants. This means you get the best of both worlds especially as some of the other hotels, like the Sheraton, are quite a way from the centre of Port Douglas. In terms of price, facilities, location and service I don't think you can go far wrong with the Mantra Heritage. As for Port Douglas itself - all the brochures, web sites and photos I've seen does not do it justice; it far exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff
  • Disliked — no 24hr Reception
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justcallmeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    159
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
111
220
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

Really enjoyed my time here in Port Douglas. The hotel has 2 lovely pools and a jacuzzi. The setting is beautiful and the location is right in the heart of the town. The rooms are spacious and standard enough. No restaurant in this hotel but you are adequately catered for in the town. No complaints from me about this place.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

My partner and I recently stayed at the Mantra Heritage during a mulit-sector trip around Australia. I am pleased to say that we thoroughly enjoyed the time that we stayed here. We stayed in a spa suite, which was excellent. There was tonnes of space. With a bedroom, separate living/dining room and kitchen area. A full bathroom, utiliy area and our very own spa enclosed on our balcony. It was great. The hotel itself was very clean. The pool was a clean and a great place to relax. The location of the hotel was splendid. On the main road right in the heart of Port Douglas. We were surrounded by loads of restaurants and bars and just a 5 minute walk from the beach. We were also just a five minute walk away from the marina. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our holiday - we arrived early and our apartment wasn't ready but it was high season so I wasn't surprised at that. We had a 1 bedroom apartment booked and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us when we checked in as I had briefly mentioned that I had organised this holiday as a surprise for my husband and they must have made a note of that which was really impressive.

The decor in the apartments isn't modern but definately nice enough, a good 4 star and clean and full equipped with everything you need. The location of the property is what I really loved. Right on macrossan street, you couldn't have a better spot - and no noise whatsoever as all the apartments are located right at the back of the property. There are two pools, not overly big but definately big enough, a bbq area too. The best bit was the poolside delivery service for lunch. There is a phone next to the pool that you call and order whatever you want off the menu, it goes to the local cafe who whips it up and delivers it to the pool in about 15 mins. Delicious food and a huge serving, it was great to have that.

Staff were friendly and I would definately stay here again, I could stay here for well over a week and never run out of restaurants to go to, there are so many on Macrossan Street! There is also free car parking underneath the hotel which is full secured. Foxtel tv too.

Highly recommended for everyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — It is hard to find your room sometimes as it can be a bit of a maze getting around
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

We originally reserved a 1BR @ Mantra Village (through a Qantas Holidays package), but there was a mix-up with our booking. Management was excellent in resolving this issue & they put us in a 1BR @ Heritage next door. Room was okay with kitchenette & washer/dryer (no dishwasher, though). Furnishings were tired for what's advertised as a 4.5* (sofa stained, tub mold, flat old pillows). A few tiny bugs running around but I guess that's common for this climate. Location is the best - right in the heart of Port Douglas, walking distance to everything (beach, restaurants, wharf). Our room overlooked the main street, but we were never bothered by any noise. Didn't have a chance to use the pool or spa (just too busy seeing the reef, rainforest & beach). Pool looked refreshing, though the deck area was small (not enough loungers).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nijunihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

What a wonderful hotel and great location! We just returned from an 10 night stay there while visiting my brother-in-law who lives in Port Douglas. The room we had was a suite, which had a kitchen and living room along with a private deck out to the pool, and also had a private jacuzzi (which I believe is standard in all rooms). The bedroom also had a slider door to insure privacy. The location was great as you could walk out and be right in the center of town. I will say however that the housekeeping could use some help, just as far as sweeping and cleaning the bathroom and floors throughout the room (they are all tile). Our beds were made every day however, and we received fresh towels also. Port Douglas is a great town with lots to offer and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a short 10 or so minutes to the beach also. Hope this helps anyone who is considering staying there!

  • Liked — the room and location
  • Disliked — the housekeeping as far as actually cleaning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tags107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here for 5 night in early August, and what a great place. The room was gorgeous (see pictures), the balcony view was over the pool and the rain forest in the distance, and we even had a Sunbird nesting on our balcony, highly entertaining!
Ignore other reviews about the Spa being too cold, if you read the instructions, you simply switch it on 3 hours prior to when you want to use it, go out for food at one of the many places locally, and then come back and jump in with a beer or two, job done.
Port douglas is a very nice place, but Steven Spielberg is currently there filming a new mini-series, so avoid the hollywood looking types and enjoy the cool calm atmosphere and lovely weather.
By the way, if booking a trip to the reef and you're nervous about being a first time scuba diver, avoid scuba with Poseidon, they rush you like mad on the way out, and if your in any way nervous, you just get overwhelmed and end up opting for snorkeling, for which there are many more better constructed, and dedicated trips.

  • Liked — Spa and the views...
  • Disliked — Receptionist was very quiet and info had to be dragged from her...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpectTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Mantra Aqueous On Port
#12 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Property: Mantra Heritage
Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. Enjoy a stroll along Macrossan Street sampling the wares on offer, or snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and experience one of Australia's famous natural wonders. Whatever takes your fancy, Port Douglas has something for everyone. Mantra Heritage epitomises the laid back Port Douglas lifestyle making it the perfect place for a tropical family holiday or couples romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing