We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - 10 out of 10”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed November 9, 2005

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we had prepared ourselves for disappointment at this hotel. And the fact that it was raining when we arrived and couldn't find the place (Davidson Street splits into two) didn't help alleviate our fears. But how unfounded these fears were!

But when we eventually did see it, in the dark, we were pleasantly surprised - the hotel was lit up with "flamed torches" which really set it apart from others in the area.

Location wise, this was perfect for us; about a 10 minute walk from the central shops/restaurants of Port Douglas (which gives you time to walk off your dinner), and just a 2 minute walk throught he back of the hotel to the 4-mile beach - where there is a life-guarded area.

We called into Reception to ask what we did with the car, and they directed us to the spacious carpark, and then we checked in. The chap on Reception was so friendly and helpful it was unreal - so off we went to our hotel room (through the maze of passages), but were a little disappointed with the room - it was on the ground floor with a view of the lagoon (pool), but the balcony area was completely blocked by huge plants (great for preventing people staring into your room, but means you have no view).

So, we called back to Reception to see if there was anything better; they spent about 10 minutes trying to juggle around future room bookings so that we could upgrade to an apartment room, and had to wait for about an hour whilst it was cleaned. They let us look at the room before commiting to it, and yes, it was definitely worth the upgrade. The room was very large, had well equipped bathroom (with whirlpool thing in it), breakfast kitchen, separate seating area, and then a furnished balcony.

Breakfast was all that you needed - OK, so the surroundings are not luxurious and the table cloths are plastic, but the food variety and quality couldn't be faulted.

Pool area is fine - not good if you're a serious swimmer but then how many hotels are good for this?

We were so pleased with this hotel, we would absolutely recommend it and would go back there without any question.

The hotel doesn't do evening meals, so we ate on Macrossan Street - both "Zinc" and "Mango Jam" are places we won't forget - absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank collywobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2005

I don't see how there can be any bad reviews for this resort! My fiance and I stayed there for 3 nights in August of 2005. We did not notice any mold anywhere, save for a couple of spots in the far corners of the blinds (this is a tropical area, and it is to be expected!) Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. The mini-restaurant at the pool bar was very handy if we didn't feel like walking into town for dinner. The food was great too, and very affordable.
And if the carpets weren't cleaned during a stay, it's because your stay was less than 8 days. The information sheet given on check in states that rooms are only cleaned if your stay is 8 days or longer. This is an apartment style resort, not a typical hotel. It's a great place to stay if you just want your own space and want to feel like it's your own place.
Bed bugs are an unfortunate but somewhat common occurance in hotels (they're even in your own bed at home!). Bed bugs can invade the dingiest motel to a 5-star resort. Having studied the hotel industry and worked in it, I have heard of a world-class 5 star hotel chain that had to shut down 2 entire floors of its hotel in order to get rid of the bed bugs. But we did not find a single bed bug in our room!
The tropical buffet breakfast in the mornings was fantastic, and the staff were always quick to clear our tables. The proximity to the beach was great, and the walk into town was good to burn off a few calories after a delicious pizza from the pizza joint across the street. The lap pool looked neat, although we didn't try it. The barbeque areas were also handy if you were staying a long length of time. All in all, if you want a relaxing, comfortable and memorable experience in Port Douglas, we would recommend the Portsea.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank lemon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2005

Having booked at the last minute for three nights for what appeared to a reasonable deal, on the internet , for a four star hotel, I was disappointed and disgusted when we reached our room. We past a tidy reception area and the room did not reflect this.It was dirty, dusty and smelled of damp and was fusty . Our request to have the room cleaned was followed by a change of room to one that was worse, if anything. The cane furniture was ingrained with dirt and dead bugs were left behind the headboard for three days along with a spoon that fell from behind the headboard. We did not unpack our clothes for the whole stay.The carpets were stained and had not been cleaned once during our stay.Shabby and grubby describes the bedding and fittings. A two star is the true rating for the rooms. Shame they do not reflect the design and setting of this resort which had a lot to offer.Anne Arundale York u.k...

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Annio59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide, Australia
213
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Absolutely loved this resort. Had read some other reviews and was a little worried that I'd made the wrong choice in booking here, but I have nothing but 100% praise for the Portsea Breakfree Resort in Port Douglas.

All staff were very friendly. They made a point of remembering our drinks and were most helpful in relation to what to see and do around town.

We had a 1 bedroom studio apartment, which included a small but useful kitchenette and a good sized bathroom with a spa bath. The studio had its own balcony overlooking the lagoon style pool.

The lagoon style pool had many deckchairs surrounding it, both in sun and shade.

It is about a 10 minute walk from town, which can also be done along the beach. However, if 10 minutes seems too long on a warm day, there is a shuttle bus that comes by every 15 minutes for only $2.

All in all, we would definately stay at this resort again. It exceeded our expectations and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

PS - Try the pizza bar across the road....fabulous pizza and really well priced!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
123
Reviewed August 28, 2005

Just wanted to share a really bad experience at the Port Sea Resort Port Douglas. I think people have a right to know what they may be up for.

At a cost of approx $1200 per week and a 4-5 star rating as part of the Mirage chain of resorts, the PortSea turned out to be the worst holiday my family and I have ever experienced.

Leaving out all the finer details we ended up changing rooms on arrival due to a leaking roof and were then made to stay for 6 days in a bed bug infested room. I spent mothers day washing every single piece of clothing we (5 people) brought with us.

Knowing nothing about bed bugs, nor that they existed I wasn't aware what we were experiencing. We thought they were tropical mosquitos. We did however speak to the manager and staff regarding what we were experiencing and they, knowing what it could be didn't tell us or deal with the matter for 6 days, so we spent the whole time in infested beds.

After seeing a doctor and being told the cause of the massive reaction my husband had had, we complained and were then treated like second grade people.

We were not even dignified with a response despite multiple attempts to speak to the general manager. We were asked to put it in writing which we then (after months) recieved a reply consisting of a free week to another of Breakfree's hotels as compensation. We were not reimburesd for medical expenses nor for the damage to our cloths from being washed in boiling water. We remained out of pocket to the tune of $350 for these plus our holiday worth a couple of thousand dollars was an absolute disaster. One to be erased from the memory books.

Unfortunately we will not be staying at another breekfree resort by choice. Nor do we think the offering of a free week outside of peak season and not including flights is at all compensation for our loss. a pretty disgusting response to the whole saga. I would think twice before you consider this chain of accomodation at all.

23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
112
Reviewed April 1, 2005

The building suffers from a severe damp problem. You notice this as soon as you pass the reception area. The first room we were offered had mould and damp rising inside the wardrobe walls to about knee height. The second and third room we were offered still had a damp smell inside them but were a little better than the first. Most rooms on the lower levels had damp rising on the outside of the entry doors, and it was evident that they had been scrubbed and re-painted over.

Other than this it was a reasonable place to stay with a great pool.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
110
Reviewed March 22, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for our 3 year wedding anniversary in March 2005. The place was great, it was a short walk (10 minutes) from Port Douglas . The room was nice with a spa tub and a pretty good kitchen, we BBQ'd and cooked for 3 out of our 6 nights and saved a bit of money. The Lagoon style pool was very cool. There was no room service or cleaning up, but we preferred not having anyone in our room. Overall it was much better than we expected!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
745 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $85 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing