We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I must say after staying at the Mantra Esplanade in Cairns for 3 nights on our arrival at the Mantra Portsea for our 4 night stay we were shocked with the size of the room we were allocated. Our 'hotel' room was the 2nd bedroom for a 2 bedroom apartment. There was one 'main' door which led into 2 doors - one being the main bedroom with bathroom, kitchenette and balcony while the other door was supposed to accommodate the children with their own bathroom and no balcony.

This 2nd bedroom was the room we were allocated and we felt like we were in a cage with no balcony to step out into the fresh air and only a louvered window to look out from whilst standing (plus the room was much smaller than we have in our own homes). There were 2 lounge chairs (placed below the tv so you could not sit in them to watch), 2 single beds a small bar fridge and no room for anything else - not even a luggage rack so we needed to place bags on the lounge chairs so we did not trip over them.

We approached the reception desk asking if there had been a mistake and if we could move to something else but all they said was it is the 'hotel room' which we booked. My response was we booked a 'hotel room' at the Mantra Esplanade in Cairns and they also had the one main door with 2 doors leading from it but our '2nd bedroom' there had much more space and we also had a balcony where we could get out and feel like we were experiencing FNQ. To go to such an exotic place and then have to sit in your room of an afternoon with no view while trying to have 'happy hour' was a major disappointment.

There was no happy outcome for us from the management (even though they promised to look at it the next day, we did not hear from them again) but we made the most of their pool area and when other people retreated to their balcony rooms for dinner we stayed with cocktails lazing on our pool chairs enjoying our own personal 'balcony' that was bigger than anyone else had. We enjoyed champagne, prawns, pizzas and many other meals on that 'balcony' sitting in the dark with only the pool lighting. I guess we were lucky we had nice weather to be able to experience the hotel facilities and not be sitting in our small hotel room.

I know we all take pot luck when we book a resort or hotel but how are guests supposed to know the floor plans of rooms when they book we can only go by pictures in brochures and web sites when we make our decisions. We did get over it after the first night and enjoyed the continental breakfast that was provided each morning but I would think twice about booking a Mantra hotel again before I knew the layout of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda_B_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at Mantra Portsea.

I am disappointed to hear your room did not meet your expectations. We make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise property information.

It is good to note you enjoyed the resort facilities and Port Douglas. Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Austin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2009

Love the staff at the Portsea - great! Great location,definitely within walking distance to town, but also a GREAT pizza place and a bottle shop (liquor/wine store) right across the street. Our room was a bit disappointing, it had new furniture, possibly new tile, but the walls could use painting and the cleaning staff is definitely inadequate. A hair in a drawer in bathroom and even nightstand of bedroom, and while they had a big corner bath tub with jets, (we had a studio, #60), the jets were in need of cleaning and I would never have taken a bath in that tub. That said, the shower was awesome - best water pressure we had in all of eastern Australia, including the 4 Seasons in Sydney. There were also tiny ants,mostly on the floor in the bathroom, but on the kitchen counter in the kitchen. Don't put anything edible in the garbage, or empty it nightly. But - from what I understand from other people in Port Douglas, there were ants in the 5 star resorts too - it's a beach town. The pools were beautiful, altho not as large as the website implies. The pool bartender was fantastic (again, great staff) and it was fun place to chill. Food in Port Douglas itself, we thought, was outrageously priced. We ate at Bistro 3 and it was good food, not 5 star, and was incredibly expensive. Get a place with a kitchenette and buy some fresh fish, the Portsea has a grill out back and a patio. Careful with the kitchen tho, if you set off the smoke alarm, it can cost you at at some hotels in Port Douglas. Some friends did it at the Portsea, and they, thankfully, were not charged. The Portsea does have a computer room with PCs, $5 for 30 min, with 2 PCs but one was broken. No real wait tho,we were there a bit before the high season started. All in all, for the price I would stay here again, but I should have asked when we first checked in if they had another studio with more renovations. However, our suite was very roomy, with sofa and chair, plus kitchenette and table w/2 chairs, so it was nice to be able to spread out and be comfortable. Bed was okay, no trouble sleeping.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank kaceevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

After reading other reviews I can see that there have been improvements. Nice updated look rooms. Fresh, clean, nice quality linens and towels were available whenever requested at the front desk. Halls, lobby nice, staff very friendly and helpful. The small rooms were ok after all the price is low. My major concern was the less than sparkling clean bath and a few large roaches. Yes, this is the tropics, but. . .It seems they are really trying to improve but not quite there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver8350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. It is pleasing to note you found our staff friendly and helpful.

I am disappointed to hear your feedback in relation to the bath tub and have discussed the issues raised with our team as afford us an opportunity to review our procedures and make enhancements.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Portsea.

Kind Regards,

Austin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I went to Port Douglas to see "Carnivale", the biggest festival in PD. I was originally planning to stay at Mantra Heritage because it was on the main street there was parade happening but there was booking problem and they transfered to Mantra Portsea. Portsea was little disappointed. The pool is beautiful but it is cold this time of the year to swim for us. There is no heated pool at all. My kids were freezing after 5mins in the pool. The room was small and not clean. Bed was nicely clean but lots of dist in the closet, kitchen and bathroom. I could see the fan was getting old and not maintain well. There is no dish washer...I think if you are in the holiday, the last thing you want to do it dishes. So I was pretty disappointed. Other than that it's OK.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you enjoyed “Carnivale”. I am disappointed to hear your room did not meet your expectations.

Feedback such as yours is important to us as they afford us an opportunity to review our procedures and make enhancements to our property and procedures including housekeeping and our ongoing maintenance and refurbishment programs.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Portsea and Port Douglas.

Kind Regards,

Austin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

The hotel has amazing pools, rooms are nica and fully equipped with air conditioning(really necessary in summer). Service its not good but the hotel has a nice tennis court and gym. Location is great although the sea is infested by stingers. Port Douglas is a really beautiful city, scuba cruises at the great barrier reef are strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDRKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

Thank you for your comments, it pleases me to note you enjoyed your stay at Port Douglas and Mantra Portsea.

I am disappointed to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations as we receive many great comments on service and the friendliness of our staff. I will pass on your feedback to my team so that we can continue to improve on our overall customer service.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Portsea.

Kind Regards,

Austin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the Mantra Portsea for 7 nights and loved it. Our 2 bedroom apartment was smaller than we are used to , and certainly is only a studio, with no proper kitchen.
But the kids had a separate room and we could put them to bed and relax on the balcony or watch TV easily.
We had a ground floor room that opened right on the pool and was clean and recently renovated.
The continental breakfast was great and there was always a lot to choose from. The kids would see friends they had made around the pool and have a run around the tennis court after bfast !
The pool was great , and we all loved the water slide and waterfall. It was a lagoon style pool and had different levels to suit everyone. It was the highlight of the kids day after a big day sightseeing to go " home " and swim in the pool.
The staff were friendly and one lovely lady even gave my daughter a necklace as she celebrated her birthday up there.
It was a nice stroll into town and heaps of restaurants to choose from. The markets are great if you are there on a weekend too.
Port Douglas is a lovely town and has a great vibe to it. We hired a car in Cairns and drove up which I would recommend as its easy then to visit Mosman Gorge , Cape Trib and back into Cairns for the amazing Sky Rail up to Kuranda and Train back .
All in all a great family holiday and lovely resort. Just dont expect a large 2 bedroom apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at the Mantra portsea for 1 week in jan 2 2009, we had a wonderful time. the resort is beautiful, good for family's. When we got there we were greeted well by the staff excellent staff and they helped us to our room. Our room was lovely new and renevated LOVED IT. Had everything u need just no washing mashine which is a good idea for the resort to think about putting in each room ( BUT THEY HAVE A LAUNDRY IN THE CAR PARK , AND IN THE RESORT ANOTHER ONE TOO) and a fan in the bathrooms would be good, otherwise great rooms and a great renevation LOVED THE PLASMAS.
The resort is beautiful great pools, the bar on the pool is great not expensive at all great cocktails and nice food. The pools are great. the resort is 10 mins from town not far but having a car makes life easier than waiting for a bus in that humid heat.
Overall the resort is great, excellent service from staff, we will be back next year for another holiday here. Thanks to portsea for making our holiday a wonderful experience. WE LOVED IT

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holiday20072008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.2 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $87 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing