We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$132
Priceline$132
eDreams$132
CheapTickets$120
Travelocity$120
Agoda.com$132
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,303)
Filter reviews
2,303 results
Traveler rating
634
883
470
190
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
883
470
190
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar continental breakfast bedroom studio minute walk enjoyed our stay main pool great for families bottle shop great pool four mile beach tennis courts no lift spa bath close to town school holidays the main street the ground floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,216 - 2,221 of 2,303 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the Mantra Portsea for 7 nights and loved it. Our 2 bedroom apartment was smaller than we are used to , and certainly is only a studio, with no proper kitchen.
But the kids had a separate room and we could put them to bed and relax on the balcony or watch TV easily.
We had a ground floor room that opened right on the pool and was clean and recently renovated.
The continental breakfast was great and there was always a lot to choose from. The kids would see friends they had made around the pool and have a run around the tennis court after bfast !
The pool was great , and we all loved the water slide and waterfall. It was a lagoon style pool and had different levels to suit everyone. It was the highlight of the kids day after a big day sightseeing to go " home " and swim in the pool.
The staff were friendly and one lovely lady even gave my daughter a necklace as she celebrated her birthday up there.
It was a nice stroll into town and heaps of restaurants to choose from. The markets are great if you are there on a weekend too.
Port Douglas is a lovely town and has a great vibe to it. We hired a car in Cairns and drove up which I would recommend as its easy then to visit Mosman Gorge , Cape Trib and back into Cairns for the amazing Sky Rail up to Kuranda and Train back .
All in all a great family holiday and lovely resort. Just dont expect a large 2 bedroom apartment.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at the Mantra portsea for 1 week in jan 2 2009, we had a wonderful time. the resort is beautiful, good for family's. When we got there we were greeted well by the staff excellent staff and they helped us to our room. Our room was lovely new and renevated LOVED IT. Had everything u need just no washing mashine which is a good idea for the resort to think about putting in each room ( BUT THEY HAVE A LAUNDRY IN THE CAR PARK , AND IN THE RESORT ANOTHER ONE TOO) and a fan in the bathrooms would be good, otherwise great rooms and a great renevation LOVED THE PLASMAS.
The resort is beautiful great pools, the bar on the pool is great not expensive at all great cocktails and nice food. The pools are great. the resort is 10 mins from town not far but having a car makes life easier than waiting for a bus in that humid heat.
Overall the resort is great, excellent service from staff, we will be back next year for another holiday here. Thanks to portsea for making our holiday a wonderful experience. WE LOVED IT

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holiday20072008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My husband and two adult siblings (18 & 20 yrs) have just gotten back from our third trip to Portsea Resort. We all enjoyed our stay again - we had a one bedroom studio on ground level and our kids had a two bedroom studio near the pool.
We had a great Xmas there.. but I noticed some comments complaining on laundry and some sort of mould problem. From our point of view I will make the following statement:-
Yes you do have to do your own laundry of towels - no big deal unless your lazy, and being a self contained unit, you should know its not a daily hotel servicing of rooms.
Yes you do get a starter pack of tea, coffee, toilet paper - so again no big deal if you go shopping at Coles in Port Douglas for some minor goods.. again I cannot see the problem here.
Mould? Well we have visited in both high and low seasons, and the low season being Xmas can have some mould - as does a few other properties in Port Douglas because it is typical of all resorts to have some problems associated with the wet season
This property is not over priced and meets all our needs - its clean, close to Macrossan St. and has the best pools. We would not hesitate to make it a fourth trip and are doing so as we speak. If you want someone to service your room daily - book a hotel, if you are happy for a self contained kitchenette and aren't bothered about doing your own laundry then don't hesitate to book the Portsea.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We arrived at the hotel hot and bothered to sea exactly what the pictures and blurbs described! The big pools, big white walls etc. Then we walked to our room and found the smell of chip fat and mould greet our noses. It smelt just awful but there was no other way to get to our room. Inside our rooms it smelt like damp mould and although the rooms were quite clean, it didn't smell nice. Outside on our patio we found green mouldy slime dripping from the walls and water dripping from the pipes above! There was no where in the hotel where you could get away from the disgusting mix of damp mould and chip fat oil/grease. Overall the hotel was a thorough let down and has put my whole family from coming back there again! We were all very disappointed with the hotel which completely ruined our family holiday!

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_Lover1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My fantastic husband and 2 teenage children arranged 5 nights at the Portsea for myself and my hubby (the kids stayed with their fantastic grandparents) as a surprise for my 40th birthday.
I loved it!
We had a one bedroom studio apartment on the ground floor, about 10 steps to the pool.
Our room was spotlessly clean and definately did not have any of the musty smell that other reviewers talk about. I will not add any photos, as they are all the same as other peoples, but our room was just the same as some photos a while back, not the room with the cane furniture and blue/green bedspread, but with more modern colours and simple, comfortable furniture. I would say that our room looked like it had been painted and re-furnished not that long ago. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. As for room service, etc. people do have to remember that this is self-contained accommodation, not a hotel, that is why you have to supply your own toilet paper (we had 2 rolls supplied), toiletries, etc. Every second day our bed was seen to and the towels changed - I found this very adequate for a 5 night stay. Our room was near the waterfall that others have talked about, and as long as you close your windows (you can put on the overhead fans or A/C) there was very little noise. The kitchenette had everything you would need for meals, except an oven (there was a microwave and hotplates). We spent plenty of time sitting outside on the patio, reading and relaxing by the pool

The pools, as others have said, were fantastic. I kept thinking our children would have loved them, with the different levels and areas you can move around in. Pool bar looked great, but we didn't use it.

Breakfast - very adequate. Plenty of cereal, fresh fruit, breads, yoghurt, muffins, danishes (my favourite), juice and tea/coffeee. Not hot food, but you know this from making your booking. If you weren't happy with what was on offer, you must be very fussy. It was replenished often and there was plenty for all.

Location - 2 minutes to the beach, which was great. 15 minutes SLOW stroll to the main street. It was lovely to walk to dinner each night and stroll back. When we bought a few groceries (not much, we went out for every meal as there were so many fantastic restaurants for lunch and dinner) we took a taxi back to Portsea, which cost us $7. There are shuttle buses which run day and night and cost about $5 per person.

Staff - all staff we came across were curteous and helpfull.

Port Douglas - loved it! We felt that Port was a great place for couples and families with smaller children, who are happy to play in the pool or at the beach. For older children, there is not a lot to do, apart from the reef and trips to the rainforest. We loved Port for this very reason though - quiet, relaxing, but with great food, shopping and lovely walks (we walked a lot, on the beach and around town)

We caught a bus from the Cairns airport (about an hour trip), which was fine, but if we went back again (certainly hope to!), we would hire a car so that when we arrived we could buy groceries and get them back to our accommodation easily, then perhaps hand the car back, hiring another for a day or so before we left to go for some drives to Mossman, etc, then to drive back to the airport.

Overall, loved Port Douglas and loved the Portsea. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends - have already done so. Thanks for a fantastic stay - it really made my 40th birthday very memorable.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kathy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews