We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was worried about the reviews I'd read before our stay but upon arriving I was wondering what all the complaints were about. We really enjoyed our stay.
We found our room (Number 50 - 1 bedroom Studio) to be clean, airy big enough for the 2 of us. We didn't cook so I can't comment on the kitchen but it seemed very well equipped with a full sized fridge.
The staff throughout the hotel we found to be very helpful & attended to all our needs. We enjoyed hanging by the pool in the heat & using the pool bar facilities. one complaint I do have is that I wish the pool was heated. It was a bit chilly & I feel that the pool bar could be a happening place if the temperature in the pool was a tad warmer - we enjoyed the pool nonetheless.
We ate at the breakfast buffet everyday, it is one of the better free continental breakfasts I've had of late, consisting of bread, muffins, ham, cheese, sandwich press, pancake maker, muesli, yoghurt, fruit & a range of coffee & tea. I couldn't fault it & it set us up well for the day.
We were not worried about it being non-serviced as we read the fine print before paying and we were aware of this. We generally keep our room tidy & don't really like house-keeping around our things, so no problem there.
There is also a spa, gym, tennis courts and beach towels are free of charge & are changed whenever you need new ones.
For the reasonable price we were really happy with our stay & wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 50 (1bdr studio) was bright, airy and away from the pool making it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ione_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay,

So nice to hear your comments. Reviews are subject to personal perceptions and many expect more than the product allows. This is the main reason for so many varied reviews.

Our main pool can be a little fresh in the cooler months. The spa and lap pool offer a change from this.

Thank you again - look forward to a return visit.

Many Thanks

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    330
    170
    71
    38
See reviews for
261
388
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio with a balcony and I would highly recommend this room! As soon as we walked in we felt relaxed. The room was spacious and felt like a world away from the big cities. The hotel itself was tropical and welcoming as well as the staff. Just bring some aero gaurd as there is a few midgees around in the dry season. We used te BBQ facilities too which was great to have a dinner on our own balcony for a night. Just one thing is that the aircon unit in our room was slightly malfunctional 42a which would be a pain in the wet season. Apart from that we had a great stay and we're sad to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellmiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

So glad you enjoyed your time here at Portsea.

It is so nice on a warm 'winters' night to enjoy the facilities as you have. Look forward to welcoming you back next you choose to travel.

Kind regards,

LIsa
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 1 week during school holidays and 1 after. While not the best resort in Port Douglas it is as described online. Yes it was busy and yes even our 2 terrors were a handful at breakfast but you just get on with it. Room are fine and maybe ever so slightly dated (but not really) all living and bedrooms had fans and individual aircons. Balcony was a treat to eat and rest. Pool a tad chilli but this is the coolest month in PD so once again as expected. Beach 110% and only mins to walk. Town centre 10 min walk. Staff Brilliant and helpful. No room servicing is ideal for us and we clean up as we go anyway and makes it like home. Wasn't expecting anything different so very happy. Recommend 2 bedroom appt over 1 with connecting room. Would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you Rob for your review,

It is nice to hear PortSea was what you had expected. This resort offers a comfortable stay for families so nice to hear you enjoyed.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

With so many choices of accommodation in Port Douglas from right in the town centre to along the main drive into Port Douglas, this Mantra hotel provides a nice balance of location, close enough to town to walk along beach into town, & far enough away to not suffer from town and vehicle noise. The hotel itself while aged provides good swimming facilities (pool is not heated), including small slide for kids. The rooms were small, we had a 2 bedroom, but was really just a studio with kitchenette and a separate hotel room with a joined lobby. It may feel a bit cramped for longer stays, but was suitable for our 2 night stay. There was a swim up bar. Hotel is on beachside so just a 2 minute stroll and your on 4 mile beach! Not luxury accommodation, but was clean and suitable for a great holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandlisaplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay,

It is nice to see you got out to enjoy Port Douglas on foot which is so pleasant and nice to do this time of the year.

It will be nice to welcome you back for a longer stay next time,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for a week with my wife and 14 yr old daughter. Nice balcony view to the main pool although the pool bar was directly in front of us. The room was ok and clean enough so no complainants there. The general staff were mostly german and were always very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were excellent. This place caters for families and their seemed to be hundreds of kids but was only a bit of a challenge at breakfast time. I thought the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast but you had to be lucky to get a good table. No resturant at this hotel and the only very close takeaway was Japanese (but it was good). The only major disappointment was the pool. Why have three freezing cold pools that nobody except a few brave kids will use. Wouldn't go back to this one just on this basis alone.

Room Tip: Dont get ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Our One Bedroom Studio Lagoons are our most popular rooms. They are very spacious and offer a kitchenette, a lounge area and a balcony overlooking the lagoon pool.
Thank you for commenting on our reception staff, They are a great team and we will pass your comments on to the whole team.
During peak periods the breakfast room does get quite busy, however is open from 6.30am - 9.30am to offer flexibility in times. Our Mantra Portsea offers a swim up pool bar where you can enjoy drinks and snacks daily from 12noon until 6pm.
Our Lap Pool is solar heated and Spa pool is solar heated and are currently quite popular.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Being a little away from the main drag was excellent and a chance for a lovely walk 10 minutes back from the shops. The room was big and sunny. Service at reception was very good.
My only complaint is that there was no room service at all in the 6 days we stayed there and if we wanted clean towels we had to pay for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conniefiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review,

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at PortSea.
Please note, only a full service is a charge and or amenities. Fresh towels are available from reception at any time.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drysdale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After reading numerous reviews on the Mantra Port Sea I decided to make a 5 night reservation staying in the July school holidays. There were good and bad aspects to this resort. The good aspects were the reception area, main pool, although very cold at this time of year and the tennis court. The bad aspects were firstly the room. We were on the bottom level which meant we could not use our balcony due to swarms of mosquitos, the shutters on the apartment windows were ridiculous and unless they were open, no light entered the rooms. Floors and furniture were filthy. The corridors that lead to the rooms were long and confusing, once away from the reception area I felt like we were staying at a backpacker resort. Unfortunately we had pre-paid for our stay otherwise I would have checked out and moved on. Breakfast was included in our room rate and this was the worst aspect of our stay. I know it was school holidays but something needs to be done regarding this space. Hotel management need to come up with ideas on how to rectify this issue. The room was far too small to cater for the number of guests. People were everywhere, it was total chaos and there were constant lines for food, coffee, tables etc. Cheap tea and coffee is one thing, but to have to drink it out of a paper cups is another!!
I found the staff to be friendly and they seemed to move from one area of the hotel to another. Girls that worked in the breakfast room would later be working at the pool bar, and then back again the next morning at breakfast.
I would not stay at this resort again as there are better options around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have less mosquito issues during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neepfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your honest review,

It seems we have missed the mark in many areas during your stay which is dissapointing as Portsea is a great resort to enjoy.

I apologise for the standard of cleaniness in your room, this is not the standard we strive to achieve and this will be followed up promptly.
Our breakfast room offers a fresh offering of continental breakfast and although it does get busy during peak times our extending opening times during holidays cater for this.
Our takeaway coffee option is available at all times however there is always crockery as standard.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us here.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Property: Mantra PortSea
Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include 24 hour reception, baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing