We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a dual key two bedroom apartment, the apartment was very clean and tidy when we arrived. The pool is very nice and with its unique shape with foot bridges going over it and how it bends around corners it kept the kids entertained. The hallways take a while to get used to as it's like a labyrinth. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Although it's not the best mantra we've stayed at in terms of room quality we enjoyed our stay. It's a shame the weather wasn't the best though but that's the tropics for you.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank PAJamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear PAJamesy, thank you for your recent stay at Mantra Portsea and furthermore taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendly staff. We focus very hard on these areas of service. The pool is amazing and we are very lucky to have such a great centerpiece to our resort and glad that you and your children enjoyed it. The property is quite large and spacious and we understand this can take a little getting used to as you mentioned. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

The staff in this hotel are some of the nicest I've ever dealt with. Relaxed but professional and so helpful. The layout of the hotel is great and the pools are lovely. we had a two beder with kitchenette and there is a laundry available. Its close to 4 Mile beach and the town, although in hot weather the walk can be a long way! My only criticism is that the breakfast room is small and gets very crowded at times! We stayed two weeks and were very happy. Kids loved the pool

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Elizabeth R, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Portsea. What an amazing complement about our staff – this makes me extremely proud. We enjoy meeting new people each day and creating a unique holiday experience for them. It is certainly a hot time of year but luckily with 3 pools and a pool bar there is a lot to keep you cool, busy and relaxed. We are glad the kids loved the pool, it is certainly the key feature. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future as one of our valued guests.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Now don't get me wrong - it's clean and relatively comfortable and the location is fine....but
1. If you want daily maid service you pay extra.
2 . If you want wifi you pay entra. - have spent more time on the phone to the help desk to get it to work than I have on the wifi!
3 . The bar shuts at 5pm - really!
4. If you want clean towels you have to take them to the reception for exchange.
5. The breakfast is cereal, fruit, toast - if you want toast or anything else hot you cook it yourself.

This hotel has the potential but it seems like they are penny pinching and don't have enough staff - mantra you need to get your act together - because of 1 to 5 above will not be coming back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear David H, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Mantra Portsea. We regret that you were not satisfied with the servicing of the apartments. It is a shame to get this feedback as we are a self contained accommodation provider and we advertise this in our marketing collateral, terms and conditions, confirmation letters and through our accommodation partners. We are open about this on checkin and offer for our guests to replenish towels/sheets complementary as the rooms are not serviced daily. The pool bar is advertised as Noon -5pm daily through our resort welcome letter. These hours are seasonal depending on weather and time of year. During the past 3 weeks the pool bar has been closing around 6pm at the earliest as people were using this area so we are happy to service until required, if guest are not using this service we will close at 5pm as advertised. We are not strict on closing times. The breakfast is a continental buffet, meaning no cooked items like bacon and eggs. The units do have kitchenettes for people wishing to cook this style of breakfast but we find most are very happy with the wide selection of fruits, bakery items, yoghurts, cheese, meats, bircher, 5 cereals, tea, coffee and hot pancake offering. We are sorry that this has not reached your requirements. We appreciate your kind’s words on the cleanliness, comfort and location of the hotel. These are major factors in a hotels success and we are glad you found them to be acceptable. Thank you for your above comments, it is appreciated and we hope you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay in gorgeous Port Douglas.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have previously stayed at the Mantra Amphora (Palm Cove) and Mantra @ Kingscliff - both were enjoyable stays. This unfortunately was not up to the same standard. But first to the positives:

1. The staff are lovely and very helpful.
2. The pool was quite good - the kids certainly loved it. The main pool is however broken up into multiple sections and goes around corners so it is easy to lose track of the kids.

But on the down side:

1. The rooms are very small and poorly furnished. No TV or radio in either bedroom.
2. On arrival our room had a damp mould smell which took a few days to clear.
3. The kitchen was impossibly small and had no oven or dishwasher. This is certainly not the place to go if you like spending a bit of time in the kitchen.
4. Couldn't open any windows at night as they were louvred only (no glass or screens). When combined with bright white energy saving light globes and the small room size, the bedrooms felt like prison cells.
5. The breakfast service was appalling. It was mostly any type of continental breakfast food that comes from a packet or tin including packet bread and packet croissants. One might think that in tropical north Queensland that a nice selection of tropical fruit might be on offer but unfortunately there was instead tinned peaches or a mixture of watermelon, honeydew melon and rockmelon. The staff struggled to keep up with demand often resulting in no cutlery, plates, cups or other items being available.
6. There were not enough staff. Waits at reception and the pool bar were too long and the breakfast room suffered as already mentioned.
7. At $17, the cocktails available form the pool bar are overpriced.
8. The resort is a 10 - 15 minute walk from Macrossan Street, the main location for shops, cafes and restaurants. Not a problem if you're there for a day or 2, but it becomes very annoying after a week particularly when it is hot all the time, not to mention if it is raining. There is a shuttle bus every 30 minutes but this costs.
8. A 2% surcharge on credit card transactions is poor form.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kybertictoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Kybertictoc, we appreciate your recent detailed review of Mantra Portsea. We regret that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay but grateful that you also mentioned the positives. The rooms as advertised feature a kitchenette with 2 hotplates, full sized fridge and microwave, none of them have a full kitchen with oven or dishwasher. We apologise for the busy nature of the breakfast room during your stay. Over peak season at certain times we understand that this area can become very hectic and do our very best to ensure our food and wares are kept replenished. We ran with full staffing over this period so it is unfortunate that you felt wait times were too long and we certainly apologise for this. The pool bar cocktails range from $10 up to $17, depending on ingredients. Cocktail of the day is always a super way to enjoy cocktails at a great price. Thank you for your comments about the staff being helpful and lovely. We take a lot of pride in ensuring our guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay. The pool is certainly a kid pleaser and for those wanting a more peaceful area we have 2 other pools on offer. We wish that you were able to have a more memorable holiday experience as we are very confident that we are able to provide this for our guests. We hope that you will continue to holiday with Mantra Group properties as I understand you have had many great previous stays. If I can be of any further assistance do not hesitate to contact me.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Mantra Portsea is a very nice hotel. We stayed in a hotel room, pretty average size, but would recommend next time staying in a one bedroom apartment they are much bigger, plus a separate bedroom and its self catering. The room we had were on the top floor which is the 3RD floor, lots of steps to climb had no lift at all. Inside the room had a Queen size bed small wardrobe with only 6 coat hangers in, two bedside tables one draw in each, 2 arm chairs and a little stand for cases to put on. It had a en suite decent size, good shower. I would rate this hotel as a 3 star we never once got our room serviced the whole stay, had to ask for clean towels , toilet rolls , coffee and milk, the little fridge was good kept things cold, other than that pretty good. The pool is lovely its a very large lagoon pool, good for children not very deep, more shallow than deep, its has a big crocodile going right across the shallow end of the pool, our little grandson loved it, it has a pool bar. The only thing I can say about the pool it needs more shade very little, only a couple of shaded umbrellas. The hotel is only a short walk into town, its about a 15 minute walk. Across the road from the hotel has a good Chinese restaurant, dine in and take away , we had a takeaway very nice and tasty. There's also a bottle shop opposite , we found this hotel to be very good would stay again but in a self contained unit, the staff were very friendly, they also have a buffet restaurant which serves continental breakfast only which we enjoyed. The hotel as a underground carpark which is free, there is a bus stop across the road to take you into town if you do not like to walk, I think it is 1 a hour, hope this helps you.

Room Tip: The 3Rd floor is much quieter!!, but you do have to walk up flights of steps.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindarobinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear lindarobinson123, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Portsea. We were delighted to hear that you and your little grandson loved the pool. It is certainly a key feature of the resort and a wonderful asset. The resident croc and the pool bar add such great entertainment for the kids and adults (thank you for the photos you also posted, they were great!). The self contacted 1 bedroom studios definitely have more space than the hotel rooms and provide a kitchenette, lovely big balcony and a spa bath. We would welcome you back and trust that you would have an even better stay whist being in one of these larger room types. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future. Please contact us should we be able to assist you in any way.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights during a tour of Australia and had a great stay. The rooms are great and of a very good size and standard. The pool was lovely and the location close to the beach was fabulous. All staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly-no query was too much for them. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tassy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Tassy84, we appreciate your wonderful comments about your stay at Mantra Portsea. We are glad that you had a great stay and we would definitely welcome you back tomorrow! 5 nights is a great chance to relax and enjoy all Port Douglas has to offer. Thank you for your comments about our staff; it is our pleasure to offer a high level of service to our valued guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next memorable holiday.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed between Xmas and New Year for 2 nights with another couple in a 2 bedroom apartment.

It is a busy time of year but I would have thought the hotel would have been better prepared/equipped for this season. Breakfast was a very frustrating - no plates, no coffee cups and always waiting for food (and plates and cutlery) to be replenished. I could only see one staffer covering the breakfast room, and while she was doing her very best, it wasn't what I expected for a decent hotel. It was also the same at the pool bar....waiting 15 minutes at the bar for a cocktail.

Our room was fine - nice balcony, air con, fans, kitchen facilities, tv. One of our bathrooms was a bit grubby and I was surprised at the lack of maintenance - water damaged vanity unit, cracks in the bathroom wall.

It is a nice looking hotel with lovely pools, and the staff were nice, but I won't be staying here again - or at least not at this time of year.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Belinda459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Belinda459, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Portsea. We appolgise that you found the service to be delayed and frustrating in the breakfast room and pool bar over this extremely busy time. We can understand this concern, unfortunately it can get rather hectic at certain intervals of time depending on when the majority of our guests decide to dine for breakfast. We also appreciate you mentioning that the staff were doing their best to keep up with this period of heavy demand. They are very positive and hard working staff, always doing their best to service our valuable guests. Thank you for your kind words about the other facilities and the staff. We regret that you will not be staying with us again, as I do believe that you could have a very enjoyable experience as do the majority of our guests. If you wish to visit in the future please contact us directly and we will take great care of you. Thank you for your helpful feedback.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $87 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing