We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Portsea in early June with our 11 & 13 year olds. Its a great hotel with an awesome pool area complete with swim up bar. Easy walking distance to the main street and close to Four Mile Beach. The rooms were clean and modern and the staff were fantastic - really friendly and ready to help out wherever they could. The continental breakfast provided every morning was also very nice. This is a great spot, well managed and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear sip66, we thank you for your recent family holiday to Mantra Portsea. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback about our staff and our facilities. The walk into town can be really nice and the beach behind the hotel is just perfect at this time of year. We appreciate you recommending us and we hope that you too will be back for another great holiday.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    485
    269
    108
    56
See reviews for
403
602
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Portsea Hotel.
Very large hotel but still had a nice feel about it. Easy access to beautiful Four Mile Beach.
The continental breakfast was fresh and sufficient - provided a great start to the day.
Staff friendly and attentive - always willing to answer questions and be of assistance.

Room Tip: Don't choose the hotel room - my only regret. They are really, really small. Smaller than an ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear AndiAdelaide, we appreciate your wonderful review of Mantra Porstea and we are glad you had a lovely stay. What a great comment about the feel of the hotel. We hope that we provide services that allow our guests to feel warm and welcome which sets them up for a great holiday experience. Our friendly and attentive staff definitely add to this atmosphere. The breakfast is very satisfying and light which is perfect for the tropics. Most people really enjoy what we have to offer. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the start of our travels down the east coast. It was located about 10 mins walking from the main street along the main road which was a dark walk during the evening. However during the day it was only a matter of walking a few minutes down the lane next to the hotel onto the beautiful 5 Mile beach and heading into town. The staff, especially Vanessa at reception, were all very friendly and helpful and the apartment was clean, bright and with a lovely terrace area. The pool area was quite small but fine to cool down in and relax. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel but there are quiet a few other Mantra properties nearer the town which, presuming they are of similar standard, I would check out if I was returning to the area.

Room Tip: If you require twin accommodation make sure to get two separate beds as we we given a double bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Alison M, firstly thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Portsea, we are glad that you have had a lovely stay. Our location is a great asset as the walk into town via 4 Mile beach is just gorgeous, and only takes 10 mins. Thank you for commenting on our friendly and helpful staff. We pride ourselves on being able to provide exceptional service to our valued guests. It is great to see that you were comfortable in your room and happy to review that it was clean and bright. There are 3 pool areas for everyone to enjoy, the large lagoon pool, the smaller plunge pool and the 25m lap pool plenty of space to definitely cool down and relax. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we welcome you back in the future for another great holiday.
Kindest regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely hotel with nice pool area, with a short walk to Macrossan St. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms which was clean and big enough for a short stay. Fresh towels for the room and the pool were available from reception. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and always seemed to be smiling. Pool bar was only open 2-4 each day and seemed to tidy up well before 4 so you needed to be quick if you wanted coffee etc. This would be my only negative comment and not sure if this would be applicable during the busy season. All in all a great place to stay and a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Leighritchie, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Portsea. Your complements of our staff are much appreciated and have been passed on. We take on board your comments about the pool bar and you are right in saying that the limited hours are purely during low season. We are glad that you had a great stay and welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After our last years trip to this hotel we thought that we would choose it again on our next visit to Port Douglas as we loved it then and happy to report we loved it again. This time it was a different experience as we didn't have the kids. We stayed in a one bedroom studio and it was perfect for us. Lots of space, comfy bed, very clean, and we looked over the plunge pool at the back which was quiet and just what we needed for a long weekend without the kids. With the kids I would stay on the lagoon again but for the 2 of us the unit away from the centre was just what we needed to unwind. The weather was hot but we new it was that time of year - to be honest there was a great deal going on flights and the rates were really good so we couldn't resist and made the decision to give it a go - air con was a blessing at times but overall it was not to bad. The staff were so ,as they were last time. One of the staff that was still there remembered us which was surprising and flattering. We did miss the resort feel that the peak season offered on our last stay but overall the stay was relaxing, enjoyable and we loved it all over again. See you next year Mantra Portsea (or maybe later this year!).

Room Tip: With kids go with the lagoon - great location - as a couple we thought the quieter rooms were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear brky, Thank you so much for your complementary review of Mantra Portsea. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy yet another stay at our lovely hotel. We hope that you continue to stay with us when travelling to Port Douglas and appreciate your ongoing loyalty. Your travel tips about the room types are great for future holiday guests and we find your suggestions to be very true amongst repeat guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a quiet room overlooking the lap pool. The room was clean, the ac was welcomed as the weather was very hot humid and still. We couldn’t sit on the balcony at night because of mozzies. Breakfast was included, there was lots of it and lots of options. The lagoon pool was great to chill out in, however I’m not sure what it would be like at peak season. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There were burners in the external common areas to keep the bugs away. The wireless internet is NOT free, however there is a computer in the pool room which has free internet access for guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Susanleven, Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Portsea. We appreciate you taking the time to review this stay and offer your positive comments. There are a number of rooms that are located in the quieter areas of the resort and we are glad that you found yours to be very pleasant. The weather was still hot and humid in March and I am sure the air con and swimming made this a lot more bearable. During peak season the lagoon does get very busy however there is so many lounges and seating that it never appears to be overcrowded. Busy and full of hype, but certainly very fun. For those wanting time out and quiet time the other 2 pools offer space and peace, a nice area to read a book and catch some sun. We are glad that your break was relaxing and look forward to you returning for another wonderful stay.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for six nights over xmas in a two bedroom apartment comprising a very dark hotel room and a larger studio self contained apartment. The hotel room (where the kids slept) only had light when you open the metal louvres, which also let the insects and humidity in. Therefore they stayed closed and the room dark. The studio apartment was well stocked with a large fridge and all appliances a family needs to cook xmas dinner. It is a good 15 min walk to town which got to be a drag in the summer heat / rain. The pool area is lovely but the kids were disappointed that the waterfalls and spas were turn off so early in the afternoon. We had a nice time but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkygirlCentralQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear yorkygirlCentralQld


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Christmas getaway. Let me start by saying that since your stay the louvers in all of our hotel rooms have been changed over from the metal louvers to a new design that allows the light in, and views out to the hotel gardens or pools depending on location. Due to past guest comments about the louvers and darkness of the rooms we have since made very extreme changes to this aspect of the rooms which has seen a remarkable difference. It is all natural light which is so lovely when in the tropics. I am sure if you saw this now you would agree. We are very pleased with the outcome and guest comments to us have been very positive. The walk into town is just 1km, which can be very pleasant under all the lovely big trees and convenient pathway or local buses are available directly out the front of the hotel. The waterfalls and spas turn off at 6pm as the resort goes nice and quiet and they waterfalls can be quite loud for the rooms located beside them after this time. During the day when the resort is in full swing this is not a problem and they are seen as fun, inviting and is a stunning asset to the property. We just control their timing for the convenience of all guests. It is a shame that you would not stay with us again considering you had a nice time. If you reconsider we would love to hear from you and would welcome you back to enjoy our wonderful resort.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Property: Mantra PortSea
Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing