We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had reservations about not staying in the centre of town.What a lucky choice,this is an excellent place to stay.My friend and I needed a break away,so booked a 2brm dual key apt.As we didn't have children with us this time,we requested a room away from the pool.The room was lovely,spacious and very peaceful.If you are flying into Cairns,you are probably going to hire a car to get to Port Douglas(about an hour away).As i was 7mths pregnant,I wasn't doing a lot of walking in the humidity.We never found it a problem to get a park though scool holidays might be another story.I don't understand the complaints about no restaurant in the resort.There is so much available a short walk or drive away.Certainly some of the best places to eat in QLD,but good budget fare as well, and the apartments are self catering some goodness sake.We would both stay here again in a heartbeat either with family or friends,just choose your room accordingly.A car does allow you to explore and saves a lot of money in the long run rather than taking guided tours that can be pricey.Stop at the excellent supermarket on the outskirts of Cairns(can't miss it on your way to Port)Its much cheaper than shopping in Port Douglas.We treated ourselves to a special dinner at Harrisons-excellent.

Room Tip: level 3 rooms at the back of the resort are very quiet but not that convenient if you have small chi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear rubytoes, WOW – thank you for such a lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had such a wonderful stay. We are so lucky that we have both lagoon rooms and garden rooms as this provides us with the opportunity to give our guests peace and quiet if they request. The Lagoon rooms are amazing if you wish to be in the midst of the hotel hype. The self catering is a great facility especially with families or when you are travelling as a group. We are glad that you would come back in a heartbeat and welcome you to do so. We would love to meet your new addition and wish you all the happiness that comes with welcoming a new family member.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a standard room - a bit basic but clean and comfortable and with both fan and a/c really handy in Port Douglas - good continental breakfasts and the pools are splendid. The staff are really helpful giving lots of useful advice on where to go and what to see. Only down side if you want to eat out in Port Douglas bring a fat wallet, typical main courses cost <> AU$ 30-35 a bottle of wine similar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Ian H, thank you for your review. We are glad that you found out hotel room to be clean and comfortable for your stay. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the relaxing pools and the breakfast was a satisfactory start to your days. Our staff are truly wonderful and enjoy assisting our guests to make their stay memorable. Thank you for your positive comments, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I vistited Port Douglas and had picked the Mantra Port Sea as our base. The resort was Ideal for our purposes as the rooms were self catering, but breakfast was included in the price,(this was optional, and you could prepare your own breakfast in your room). Our room was large enough for our needs,As you enterd from the door,there was a kitchenette area with a sink, two ring hob and microwave oven,as wellas a fridge freezer. The main part of the room consisted of, a double bed, sofa and TV, Dining table and chairs, all on open plan. There was French door access to an adequate sized balcony. The Bathroom was even fitted with a Jaccuzzi. Ceiling fans helped keep the room cool.
Within the Resort you had all you needed to relax. The Lagoon pool with pool bar was the main attraction for most people, and helped cool you down in the swealtering humidity of the area. There was also a tennis court pool room and free internet access (something we found very rare in Australia). The local amenities were all within a short walk of the resort, wheather you wanted the shops,pubs and restaurants, or the beaches and marina, nothing was ever more than 10 minutes walk away. The only negative, ( and I will level this at the vast majority of hotels), the breakfast was the usual buffet style with the same (bland?) items available as you find at most hotels. Over all our experience of this hotel/resort was very positve and I would recommend it to anyone who asked.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as I believe that some were quite small and suitable more for those who only n...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Lewis S, Thank you for choosing the Mantra Portsea as the base for your holiday. We are glad that it met your expectations and that you would recommend it to fellow travelers. Your description of the rooms will be most helpful for others looking to book accommodation so we appreciate you taking the time to go into such detail. We are glad you enjoyed relaxing around the pool and that you found it assisted with relief from the north qld humidity. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights last November.
What a beautiful hotel! Our room had pool access, and what a godsend this was - definitely a great way to beat the heat and humidity of Port Douglas. Swim up bar was fabulous, and Simon, the bartender, was an absolute hoot!
Only let downs were the breakfast, and that there's no restaurant.
But in saying that, there's a great Chinese restaurant pretty much across the road - Han Court. Such delicious food - we're still reminiscing months on!
The town is a nice 10 minute stroll from the hotel.
Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Victoria Z, We are so delighted to hear that you and your husband had such a perfect honeymoon. We pride ourselves on providing a wonderful holiday for our guests. A honeymoon is such an exciting time in your life, thank you for allowing us to share in your experience. Simon very much enjoys his job and is a great character to have down in the pool bar. He enjoys the company of our guests and making them laugh and have fun. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us to your family and friends.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Mantra Portsea for two days last year, for a work trip. My room was on the bottom level (pool level) and it was quite small. However, sufficient for a work trip. The resort itself is beautiful - the pool is gorgeous and the surrounds are pretty. The resort is in a good location - about 10 minutes walk into the town with great restaurants etc. In saying that, my major gripe was that there was no restaurant in the hotel. Although I love to eat dinners out, it is sometimes more convenient to grab breakfast and lunch at the hotel. At the Portsea, the continental breakfast is served in a 'room' - there is no kitchen (there was a selection of cereal, yogurt, toast which was ok), and the pool lunch/snack menu is all deep fried, processed food. So my recommendation: great place to stay if you can get a good deal, but be ready to eat most, if not all, of your meals offsite. This really isn't the biggest deal if you can afford it, as Port Douglas has some excellent restaurants and cafes. But just a good thing to keep in mind.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear JazzyJeffrey, Thank you so much for your review of Mantra Portsea. We are glad that you found our resort to be a beautiful place to stay. We are very lucky to have such a large selection of amazing restaurants in town and across the road from the resort, as well as some great takeaway options for the nights when people want to stay in and relax. Our larger room types also have kitchenettes which are a great facility for people who wish to prepare their own meals. We hope to see you again in the future, business or leisure. Thank you.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

we were booked into one of their small hotel rooms and it was a bit of a squeeze for 2 of us and a wheelchair - had to leave it in the left luggage room. Breakfast was average with limited options.
nice swimming pool and the cocktails were great during happy hour. Too far for us to walk to the center.

Room Tip: stay in an apartment - hotel rooms are very small
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello tcauUkVulcan,

Thank you for your review on Mantra Portsea.

We are sorry that you found your booked room type to small. They hotel rooms are great for a short stay or single travelers. We do offer the option of upgrading to a one bedroom studio for a little charge, if a Hotel Room is not suitable. One Bedroom Studios do provide so many more facilities and are worth booking for guests wanting extra space, cooking facilities or a spa bath.

Our ‘continental’ buffet breakfast is included in the majority of our bookings as a complimentary service to our guests. The buffet consists of a variety of cereals, four types of bread, pastries (croissants, muffins and crumpets), ham, cheese, fruit salad, a variety of spreads (vegemite, honey, jam), yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee from our fancy push button coffee machine (flat white, latte…however you like it).

We appreciate your comment on the Pool with its swim up Pool Bar. Our Happy Hour clearly is one of the most important hours of the day for many of our wonderful guests. We get great comments about our delicious cocktails.

We hope we will get the chance to see you again in the future for a stay in one of our larger room types that we are sure you will enjoy.

Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ended up at the Portsea because we visited at the last minute and the other Mantras in the centre of Pt Douglas township (of which there are several) were all full. I was very happy with this choice. It is probably a good 500m to walk into town, very flat and civilised along the pedestrian path across the road, you do tend to feel the humidity on the walk though. The Portsea is a really elegant complex in a 'South of France' kind of style. The place is a bit of a maze of stairs and buildings and it can take a while to get your bearings but that is part of the charm of the design. Despite looking very elegant and upmarket, the meandering pool system is very much set up to cater for children/families, with various spas, deeper pool, many shallow pools, wonderful water slippery slide. The water is literally as warm as a bath which is just amazing. Our toddler had a ball in the pools. Our accommodation was lovely and modern and functional. The breakfast in the morning is more than enough (no hot food but loads of pastries/breads, fruits/yoghurts, cereals etc.) The 100m or so walk to the beach down the side of the resort is a delight too, as of course is the beach. This place was remarkable value, wouldn't hesitate to stay again and really, can't wait to come back. I would perhaps comment that the bed was a bit hard.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool would have a lovely view but might also suffer from the noise of children...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poniesnpuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello Poniesnpuppies,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great stay at our Mantra PortSea. We are glad that you found us and chose to stay with a Mantra Property. The description you gave of our setting is just gorgeous, thank you, and is similar to how I describe it to my friends and family. It is a very large building but the benefit of that is being able to find your own space when you want some R&R and for us to be able to cater for families and couples alike.

It sounds like you and your family made the most of your holiday and the resorts wonderful facilities.

It is such a great help for our future guests to hear these facts from someone who experienced a recent holiday here with us.

We would love to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us, so that we can look after your every need.

Many Thanks,
Kyla Sippel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $87 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing