We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John J”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Do not expect normal hotel service, the rooms are NOT serviced daily and the "hotel" rooms are the size of a walk in wardrobe! With out balconies.
Very dissapointed.
I agree with comments regarding pool bar, however the reception staff try to do their best.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi John J,
Thank you for your review on Mantra PortSea. We certainly appologise that we have not been able to reach your expectations on this occasion.
All of our rates are un-serviced rates to ensure that we remain an affordable holiday destination for guests of all budgets.
Servicing is available upon request through Reception with fresh towels, toilet paper or any other amenities which may be required can be replenished from Reception 24 hours a day.
The hotel room is definitely not recommended for stays longer than 1-2 nights, however guests are always more than welcome to upgrade to a larger room type upon arrival.
Thank you for your positive comments about the front desk staff, they really do try their best to look after our valued guests.
We hope we will get the chance to see you again in the future for a stay in one of our larger room types that we are sure you will enjoy.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Mantra Portsea was very good, My Husband and I stayed for 7nights in a one bedroom apartment. The room was a great size for us,had everything in it that we needed for our time there, it was lovely to sit outside on the balcony and eat our meals. We would cook at the BBQ and then bring it back up and have it. We had Breakfast included which was great, I knew that it was continental breakfast and we where very happy with that as you don't need a big cooked meal up in the heat. Very busy with families so if you are a couple and wanting quite you would not go, but great for families with children of all ages. The pool was so relaxing to just sit and relax all day. Pool bar was very nice to get something to eat or a drink(very nice cocktails). If you don't like walking into town don't stay, but we enough strolling in and out or along the beach. Would go back and stay again with or daughter as she would never get out of the pool..

Room Tip: Only stay with children, not a couples resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becccajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi Beccajane,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Mantra PortSea.
Our One Bedroom studio apartments are fantastic with the spacious balconies overlooking the luscious gardens or lagoon pool to enjoy a quiet and relaxing meal in the evening.
The complimentary inclusion of continental breakfast daily per person is a great start to the day. The large buffet of fresh foods is the best way to commence another day in tropical Port Douglas.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future with your daughter, we are sure she will love it as much as you did.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived at Portsea all ready for our first week in Port Douglas and I have to say that our time at Mantra Portsea was very special. This was in no small part because of the staff, who were particularly friendly and so obliging, but the situation of the resort was also fantastic. The kids loved the pool and the ambience of the property, which was very chilled and mediterranean.

I have to say a very special thank you to Kyla who made reservations for us at Peppers for our anniversary dinner. It was amazing and Kyla was so professional. I must also mention Sonya at front desk who had the most sunny and outgoing disposition. She is the sort of team member I would love to have working for me if I managed a resort like this.

This resort is lovely for those wanting some time out in Port Duglas at a family friendly location with all amenities close by. You can walk to Port Douglas main streets (although it is about 15 mins so we opted for a car). The pool is large (not huge by Port Douglas standards, I guess) but it is loads of fun with all its different sections and bar. The gardens are amazing and it is right near the best part of the 4 mile beach. I loved hearing and watching the birds from our balcony every morning.

The only constructive criticism I could give is that the pool tended to get a little unkempt during busy periods and could have been cleaned daily.

Well done Mantra - we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi Daniel_aust,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here at Mantra PortSea and we are delighted to hear that your stay was very special.
Thank you for your comments regarding my professionalism and Sonya’s outgoing nature. She is definitely a valued member of our wonderful Mantra team.
The ambience of the pool is a fantastic surrounding for families and individuals. The kids slide and crocodile are a great entertainment for children, while parents can relax without a worry at the pool bar close by. Thank you for your constructive feedback about the pool bar. Happy hour can get a little crazy but this is something that we need to work on to ensure the work area is acceptable at all times.
We would love to welcome you back to Mantra PortSea, and look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner & I had 6 nights at Mantra PortSea.It was one of the best holidays we have had the pleasure of having in Port Douglas.Our room/suite was on top floor overlooking the lovely lagoon setting.It was clean & had the necessary kitchen,bathroom & electronic equipment provided,ceiling fans/air conditioner.Underground parking also provided.The bed was very comfortable! Probably the only criticism was the mustiness smell in the room & had to buy airfreshner.A great satisfying buffet breakfast each morning to start the day heartily.We were close to the beautiful 4 Mile Beach & not too far from town centre.Lovely lagoon surroundings certainly made us feel we were having a resort holiday.As other recent reviewers have mentioned the spa was too cool & it does get noisy with the children during the school holidays but we preferred the swim in the sea for most of the time anyway.We found all staff extremely friendly & helpful.Customer Service at it's best!We would definitely return & recommend Mantra PortSea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi Westy101,
Thank you for your review on Mantra PortSea, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mantra PortSea. The complimentary inclusion of a continental buffet breakfast is definitely a great way to start the day before heading to the amazing Four Mile Beach for your swim. Being only a short walk from the resorts it is definitely something all of our guests enjoy.
The cleanliness and standard of our rooms here at Mantra PortSea is something we pride ourselves on, and we are glad you enjoyed the comfortable beds; there is nothing like a good sleep in on a holiday!
Thank you for commenting on our customer service we are glad that it made you feel welcome. We would love to have you and your partner back in the not so distance future. So please don’t hesitate to contact us on (07) 4087 2000 so we can endeavour to make your next stay even better yet.

Kind Regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

the resort is exactly what you see online. the pool is ideal for families with young children as its only 1.1mt deep in most places, so parents can relax while the kids play. the pool bar was great and made fantastic cocktails. the staff were lovely, breakfast was convenient. the only complaint would be the bathrooms, which have no exhaust fans and where not cleaned before our check in. the scatter cushions were in need of a good wash also. otherwise close enough to walk into the main street for dinner and shopping

Room Tip: the lower floors suit families with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello Teri P

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. We are happy to hear that you found it so suitable for your family. The lagoon pool and swim up pool bar are two of the greatest assets of this resort especially at this time of the year when it gets hotter. There is nothing better than swimming and sipping on a nice cool drink!

Thank you also for information about your bathroom and the cushions. We will look into this further.

Thanks again
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My sister and I have just returned from the Mantra Port Sea Resort in Port Douglas. We thoughly enjoyed our stay there and found pretty much everything to our liking. We had a 1bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the Lagoon Pool. Our suite was well equiped with everything we needed. It had basic kitchen supplies provided so that we were able to self cater for some of our meals. A good size bathrm complete with spa bath, &shower. Good size living area, plenty of drawers and hanging space. DVD player, LCD TV with a few Foxtel channels including movies and sport as well as the local channels. The foxtel channels were available all the time and NOT pay per view.The buffet breakfast was not extensive but was certainly all we needed to start the day. If you cant find something to eat from the selection of fruits, cold meat and cheese, yoghurt, 3 different cereals, crumpets, croissant, muffins, 3 different sorts of bread juice and coffee then you are very fussy I think! It is true that there were not any hot food options but on a troprical holiday do you really need a hot cooked b/fast???
The staff at reception were very helpful and totally upfront about the fact that the room would not be serviced during our stay, which we knew anyway. If we wanted fresh bath/ pool towels or any other necessities we only had to ask and they were provided with a smile. We were there for 5 nights and this arrangement suited us well. We felt comfortable leaving our things around as we knew no-one else would be coming into the room while we were away. The pool and spa were great if just a teany bit cool for our liking. The poolbar staff worked hard and were friendly. The cocktails were good and the seafood basket was very tasty and great value for $17. The pool did get a little noisy and crowded with kids during the afternoon but if thats a problem for you there was another quieter lap pool or 4 mile Beach only about 150m at the back of the resort. The massage/beauty spa runs a very good and resonably priced service within the resort. I had a very good 90min massage and facial there. The only thing more we could have wanted was for evening meals to be available. The poolbar shuts at 6pm most nights and no other dining facilities are available after that. However the main street (Macrossan St) was just a short 10 min walk up the beach where there are many different dining options to suit all tastes and budgets. Coles supermarket is also there so you and buy your own meal requirements, snacks and drinks if you wish. I would definately recommended this resort to families. One day I hope to return there myself. :)

Room Tip: The 1 or 2 br suites are much better than the hotel rooms as they have the kitchen facilities in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello Allison364

Thank you so much for your lovely review of this beautiful resort! We love to hear that our guests have had a great holiday. Thank you also for your balanced account of our resort and its facilities and services. It is so helpful for our future guests to hear the facts from someone who has already stayed.

We would love to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can look after your every need.

Many thanks
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good place to stay in Port D. A lot of kids but most in and around the pool. As advised previously, grab a room away from the pool if its just two of you. Staff were great to a accommodate this. Breakfast is excellent. I have no idea what some people are expecting......it's continental and sufficient. Close to the beach and a nice walk into town for dinner. Pool bar is a winner too.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HappyDays1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello HappyDays1010

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at Mantra Portsea. As you mentioned if couples are seeking peace and quiet it is best to book one bedroom studios rather than one bedroom lagoon studios as these apartments face away from the lagoon pool and are more peaceful. We encourage guests to contact us before booking so that we can cater for their needs prior to their stay and get everything right. We absolutely prioritse our guests' happiness!

Thank you so much for appreciating our continental breakfast buffet.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $79 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing