We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pool/sundeck/pool bar”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pool/sundeck/pool bar”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Major pros: Pool, sundeck, pool bar

We stayed in a hotel style room as opposed to the apartment style rooms. We did so believing we wouldn't need an apartment with kitchen as we planned to eat out every night.

I'd still recommend to book the apartment style, for the added space. The hotel room was a bit cramped for 8 nights and we didnt have our own balcony.

I've read some other recent reviews about this hotel and I didn't have any bad experiences. To me, staying at a beach location resort is not about the fancy room. We were there to spend our time on the beach, by the pool, play a bit of tennis, and go out for dinner. There are plenty of activities in Port Douglas as well, snorkelling the reef, crocodile spotting, the Daintree Rainforest, etc. And therefore the room we stayed in was fine. The bed was comfortable, we had a TV with Foxtel, DVD player, and the bathroom was adequate.

Sure, if you're after absolute luxury resort accommodation, this probably isn't it. But if you plan to spend most of your time outside, there are plenty of facilities this resort has to offer which makes it a good choice. Plus the beach access is also very convenient.

Room Tip: Don't pick a hotel style room if you need space. Get a 1 bedroom apartment instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Lauren

Thank you for your factual review about Mantra Portsea. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about our beautiful resort.

The balconies are wonderful aren't they. They give guests the opportunity to dine, read and relax outside in the balmy air of the tropics. To ensure a balcony guests need to book one bedroom apartments or above in room type.

As you say in your review we are very close to the beach and we have great facilities such as the tennis court, a gym, three pools and an in house day spa. We are also close to town and provide a complimentary tour booking service for all the activities available such as the reef and the rainforest.

Many thanks for your contribution.
Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    560
    313
    125
    66
See reviews for
465
693
65
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Kids loved the pool & side. Shame its not solar heated. When the swim up bar was open it was great to grab a cocktail. Easy walk into town & the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison261193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Alison261193

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. Children love the lagoon pool and water slide - it keeps them happy for hours yet we have two other pools for everyone to enjoy.

Our swim up pool bar is one of the many wonderful features of Mantra Portsea. I'm glad you enjoyed it. In the high season is is open from 11am daily. The cocktails are worth writing about aren't they.

We would love to welcome you back. Please let us know if we can assist when you next decide to holiday in Port Douglas by phoning 07 4087 2000.

Thank you again
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We recently (May 2012)stayed at this hotel and were terribly disappointed. The floor of our room was dirty and stained. We asked twice if someone could at least vacuum it and nothing happened. We also were bitten by bedbugs! We'd never had that experience before and found out through the chemist in Port Douglas what all the bites on us were from. Fortunately, he gave us some medication and lotion for it. If it weren't for Shoo at the front desk in the evenings, who gave us some wonderful recommendations, this would have received no stars at all. Do NOT stay at this hotel. Can't believe it bills itself as a four star (no service, bedbugs, noisy, and dirty)!

Room Tip: Found out through other travelers that staying right in Port Douglas was a better experience and muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello TravelerTB

Your review is untruthful. We have had a pest inpsector to check the Portsea and there are no bedbugs at the resort. You were most likely bitten by sandflies which are tiny midges and affect many tourists. It is very important to establish the facts before posting a comment on a forum such as this as it devalues the authenticity of such a forum.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked 4 nights at The Mantra on Portsea with an agent and were not informed that there would be absolutely no room service for a stay of less than 8 consecutive nights. Clean towels, extra toiletries, detergent and use of the in-room safe all incurred additional charges. The shower is in a spa bath (which I thought was unsafe) with a liberal amount of mould and the room itself had ants and cockroaches.The cotton blanket was so dirty that it had to be replaced with a clean one. Guests were told to leave dirty towels outside their door which was unhygenic, especially seeing the blood-stained ones by the door right next to ours. The balcony could not be used as the wooden furniture was not properly treated and therefore grease and food stained. Our initial room, with the filthy couch and view of people coming towards it from the car park, was changed for us.The breakfast was fine but served in a large room with the ambience of a bare church hall from 7- 9am. The staff were always friendly, did what they could to be helpful but always had to be called from a back office which gave the impression that they felt safest away from the desk and complaints. My greatest disappointment was receiving no response from my email to management requesting that I be called to discuss my concerns. We stayed only because cancelling our stay meant a 100% loss of the full tariff paid in advance. Please do not spoil your holiday by risking having an experience like ours..

Room Tip: Just don't book to stay there as there are plenty of safer, cleaner alternatives in Port Douglas...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chris772265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Chris772265

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve and provide an enjoyable guest experience. I'm sorry your stay was disappointing.

Our hotel offers unserviced apartments as many guests prefer this style of holiday without the extra cost. Servicing is available however to all our guests for an additional charge. There is no charge for safe hire at Mantra Portsea. $50 is placed on a guest's account but is deleted when the guest returns the key. Perhaps this procedure was confusing.

I would like to apologise for the standard of your room on arrival and I have raised your experience with our housekeeping supervisor. We hate to disappoint and will endeavour to improve. Guests are asked to place used towels in the bins provided throughout the resort or to bring them to reception.

Thank you for appreciating our wonderful staff. They are only too happy to listen and cater to all our guests' needs and are never afraid to speak to a guest. Usually guests phone or come to reception if they wish to raise issues and we respond immediately. Could I ask what email address you used to email your concerns as all emails are also responded to promptly? Please email portsea.res@mantra.com.au.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just booked our fourth stay at Portsea, that says it all.
Great place,great staff, great location.

Room Tip: Lower floors are handy for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Louis G

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your great holidays at Mantra Portsea. We love our return guests and look forward to welcoming you back!

We hope to see you soon.
Thank you again
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights and upgraded to a single studio room, in which we could self-cater. It was worth it for the balcony and extra space. It's not really near Macrossen street, but is only a ten minute walk away. Which would be fine if it wasn't raining half the time. The bus is just across the road however. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating, and helped us with flight check-ins, umbrellas, luggage storage and recommendations for where to eat. They were great.

Personally, I didnt find Port Douglas that exciting. But if you are just wanting to relax and hang around a pool, this would be perfect. Note that the hotel doesnt have a restaurant as such, so for dining, you need to cook yourself or go to the main street.

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorianscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Dorianscat

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. I agree that having a balcony, kitchenette, lounge/dining room in the one bedroom apartment provides a great accommodation experience. It is well worth booking a one bedroom apartment from the outset as we are often so busy we don't have any availability left to upgrade.

Thank you for appreciating our wonderful staff.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Great value, clean room and we were able to walk everywhere, tours pick up from the hotel and staff were extremely helpful with your suggestions. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hello Ernest C

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on your stay at Mantra Portsea. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Property: Mantra PortSea
Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, On-site complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability 1 vehicle per room), an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing