We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is a pleasant hotel/ apartment block. Nicely laid out around the pool with plenty of shallow areas for little ones. The 2 bedroom apartment was fine, nothing special, but ok. The kitchenette was just about adequate but there was very little cupboard space. The few cupboards that it did have were taken up with kitchen utensils and there was no where to store food we bought. The cooking facilities were not very good as there was a two ring cooktop and no oven, just a microwave. We ended up just having salads and sandwiches as this was all we could produce in the small space. The staff were very friendly and attentive and check in was good. The breakfast included in our room rate was very poor. The danish pastries were as hard as bricks, the toaster was useless and the fruit was not good. We only went down to breakfast once and then ate out each morning. Despite this we felt this was ok value for money. We go up for the diving and don't spend much time in our hotel anyway so probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PymSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

I'm heartened to hear that you found Mantra Portsea good value for money for your stay. We endeavour to provide an affordable holiday whilst still providing a great location with excellent customer service and facilities.

Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast. I have shared this information with the Food and Beverage Team Leader. We are always seeking to improve and make our guests' stays as enjoyable as possible.

Should you choose to return for another holiday at Mantra Portsea to dive we offer return guests a 10% discount. Please contact us at the hotel on 07 4087 2000 or email reservations portsea.res@mantra.com.au

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

I was really needing a short break and this resort was recommended by a friend so I took his tip and cannot thank him enough.I arrived in the morning and was greeted by Helen the manager and given a full rundown of the resort and local activities.I had a 1 bedroom studio which looked over one of the 3 huge swimming pools and had a large balcony which doubled as a outdoor diningroom.The apartment was immaculate and had beautiful white linen and free scented soaps and shampoo etc which added to the whole experience.All the other guests seemed like nice people and I met a few at the pool swim up bar during the day .There were plenty of quieter areas to sit by the pool and even a tennis court and gym as well.The beach is just behind the resort and the main street about 10 minutes along the beach.I would recommend a 4 day break here anytime and thank all the staff for their courteous service.Thanks guys.

Room Tip: These apartments are called rooms but are larger .
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyMyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This resort would rate an OK if it was $100 cheaper, but at nearly $200 a night you have to ask yourself "why bother"?

Starting with the positives - the hotel is walking (about 15mins) distance to town, has free parking and, well I suppose that's it.

I'll also agree with some other reviewers - this place does have a mould problem - evident on the ceiling of every walkway (not a good look), though thankfully, not in our room.

Now I can't speak for every room, but ours was small - quite small for the price. Added to this was that being at ground level there was NO privacy and we spent most of our time with the blinds shut which really is a shame in a place like this. And whilst on the subject of the blinds - they poorly fitted over the sliding door/window and hence no opportunity for a sleep in!

Breakfast is a joke (both in content and settup) - don't bother. No cable TV (or ABC), no free internet, dirty grout in the bathroom - I could go on with minor criticisms, but I'm sure you get the idea.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of problems during your stay.

We do currently have an issue with receiving a signal for ABC and SBS at the resort. This will be remedied when the scheduled upgrade from analogue to digital is completed. In the meantime current channels include Seven, Nine, Ten, Sky News, 2 Fox Sport Channels, Movie One, Movie Extra as well as Pay to View Movies.

Due to high humidity in the tropics mould can be a problem and we endeavour to keep on top of this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have reported your experience to the housekeeping supervisor and she will address this with her staff.

I aoplogise for any disapoointment you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The PortSea overall was OK. We stayed there for a week with my husband and our 8 month old baby.

The staff were lovely, very helpful and nice. The location was good - a bit of a walk into town, but quite a nice walk along the beach.

Our room was a bit "cold" in that we didn't get any sunlight onto our balcony because of the big trees (probably a bonus if it was the heat of summer.) They were also cleaning all the gutters during the day which was annoying.

The other disappointing thing was that in 7 days we didn't get our sheets and towels cleaned once. I asked for new towels (which housekeeping said they didn't have) and then i ended up washing them myself in the laundry.

Overall, Ok apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We offer unserviced rates and serviced rates for guests when booking their holidays at Mantra Portsea. Most people choose to book unserviced rates as it can offer a more cost effective holiday. We do offer servicing of rooms for an additional charge at any stage of your stay. I'm sorry you were not advised on arrival that fresh towels can be obtained from reception. These are free of charge. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Portsea again soon.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at the Portsea for one week in atoll on the 3rd level at the rear - no help with luggage. The room was superficially clean, but dirty around drawers and moldy along tiles around shower. The telephone did not work for the first three days. I reported that the television did not receive ABC or SBS and was told that their was poor reception due to the channels (transmission) This problem had been noted on Trip Advisor last month and
still was not fixed. Enquiries with both tv channels confirmed that the problem was at the Portsea itself.
Reportedseveral times never fixed and we lost reception of another channel for the last few days. Might have
accessed the Internet to catch upon missed shows but the charges for Internet access were exorbitant.
Great grounds, rooms fine, but no follow upon complaints and forthcoming about undrlying cause of problems BP

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samtouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

large family friendly pool, waterside (small) kids loved it. Shame spa areas are not heated. Swim up bar, shame its not open longer though. Great cocktails & a happy hour 4-5pm.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. The resort's three pools are very popular with guests especially the lagoon pool. Children love the water slide. The hours of the pool bar have now been extended for the high season to cater for the needs of our guests. Thank you for complimenting our bartenders on their wonderful cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Mantra Portsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My partner and I booked a hotel style room which was light and airy and quiet as it was away from the main lagoon pool (which is also amazing) and looked over the beautiful gardens. The staff were fantastic especially Helen and Rian on reception and the pool bar cocktail steward was also really professional. This resort has everything including tennis court, gym and health spa and the whole place is surrounded by water features and lush gardens. There is a walkway at the back to the beautiful beach one minute away. As we were there for only 3 nights (not long enough) we didn't use the BBQ areas but ate out each night and one night spoiled ourselves with a fine dining experience at "Harrisons". I think this resort is one of the newer ones but not expensive at all. It is like a 5 star resort but at a 3 star price. Highly recommended by us.

Room Tip: We preferred a more secluded and quiet apartment
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smiley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review of Mantra Portsea. The resort team do go out of their way to make guests feel at home and have a relaxing holiday. It is lovely to hear about it when you have enjoyed yourselves so much - thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Mantra Portsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $87 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing