We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clayton96...
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was a perfect location, perfect experience and perfect price. Our flight was delayed significantly which threw off our arrival time and plans. That was not a problem with the place as Jeremy met us at our new time without a problem. He was awesome at getting us acquainted with the place and spent a good time talking to us about things to do, restaurants to eat at and everything. Since we arrived so late, we didn't have much time to get settled and book some of our tours etc. that day. No problem because we were able to make a late evening decision and gave Karen (Jeremy and Karen are the owners and husband/wife) a call and she took care of booking everything for us (as they are tour agents as well) for a trip out to the reef the very next morning. She also helped with booking other things as well and was great to work with. The location is a block away from the beach and two blocks away from the beginning of the main part of town. The place was huge and gave us a lot of space for myself, wife and our 5 year old daughter. If you are going to Port Douglas, book with Jeremy and Karen, you will not be disappointed!!

Thanks guys for helping us create some great memories on our trip to Australia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DimitriM7...
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a great location”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our holiday was in mid May in Tranquil Retreat Penthouse, one of two penthouses at the rear of the 3-level building. The layout is unusual and very spacious. To the right on entering there is a carpeted double bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and built in robe (and lots of different hangers!). Along the marble tiled corridor there is a laundry with tub,washing machine and dryer plus a third toilet and hand basin. Next along is an open plan fully equipped kitchen with everything one would need including a Nespresso coffee machine and a servery counter to the adjacent dining area with large glass top table and six chairs. A feature is the huge living area which is 'sunken' two steps down with a floor of attractive cream marble tiles and a stunning vaulted ceiling. There is a flat screen TV and stereo CD/DVD player. There were no DVD's or novels provided and the TV is a tad small for the long viewing distance from the actual lounges. These are not really criticisms but perhaps not in keeping with the quality of other features. Large full height glass sliding doors, with curtains for the western sun, open onto a patio complete with Weber BBQ, table and chairs.
Up the stairs leading from the entry is a second carpeted double bedroom again with an ensuite bathroom, spa bath and built in robe. The bedhead wall has folding shutters which open to look down onto the living area below and the greenery beyond. Very different! We liked the clean carpeting in the bedrooms and the comfortable beds. From the corridor on this level and a few step up is the opening to the third level patio with umbrella, table and chairs. This is separated from the patio of the penthouse next door by a low masonry wall which could be better screened for added privacy. A second great area for evening drinks and there were no adjacent neighbours when we were there. This patio, like the one below, overlooks a tree fringed vacant block to the west. The apartment is fully air conditioned and has ceiling fans as well.
We absolutely loved this place. Only a short block to the netted area of 4 Mile Beach and around the corner from the quiet end of Macrossan Street and all its wonderful eateries only a short walk away and a little further on to the Marina.
We noted some other older Internet reviews which were quite negative for this building but in the first place these were dated and may have referred to other independently owned and managed apartments. During our stay we did not find the negatives expressed by those reviewers who mostly referred to cleanliness issues. Our accommodation was spotless.
We holidayed at short notice before the peak season started and were fortunate in catching the opening of Carnivale and the great events that took place on the beach so close to our apartment location. Adding to our enjoyment was the very good value afforded to us at this time. At a cost of $1,350 for seven nights including a welcome bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, comparing to other apartments in this location, that is tremendous value. We were even allowed to extend the usual 10 am checkout time to cater for our late flight home at no extra charge.
Owned by the affable Adam Toma and managed by the helpful Karen at Sanctuarystays who was there on time to meet us on arrival, we can't wait to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: No real negatives. Carrying two heavy suitcases up the stairs, but that's only once.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadamJose...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location,”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks and we found the apartment comfortable, clean and the kitchen well appointed. It is one of two sharing the top floor (2nd floor in Australia, 3rd floor in Europe/USA) at the back of the building away from the pool, with a leafy view to a vacant block of land, so its very quiet. There is no lift and lots of stairs in the apartment so its not practical for those with limited mobility. On entering one finds a king size bedroom with en-suite and down a few steps to the living, dining, kitchen and small balcony. Up a flight of stairs is the queen size bedroom with en-suite overlooking the living areas below. Then up another flight of stairs to the roof top terrace, separated from the adjacent apartment by a low wall, with a dining table but no sun lounges. The friendly apartment managers were there on arrival to greet us, and efficient, arriving with a spare gas bottle for the BBQ in a matter of minutes. The apartment is just 1 street from the beach and close to Macrossan Street with its restaurants and good supermarket. We found we didn't need a car and walked everywhere. The apartment is as photographed, beds were comfortable and my only quibbles would be the lack of WIFI and the swimming pool - the pool is small and has only 4 sun lounges and is right next to the apartments at the front of the building, so its not private. If you are wanting to relax around a large exotic pool all day this will not be the property for you as the pool is basic and is in shade by lunch time. Ditto if you have noisy children. However we didn't use the pool as the beach is close and just a nicer place to relax and has lots of shade in the afternoon. We really enjoyed our stay and appreciated the proximity to everything in Port Douglas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size
Liked least: No Wifi, small swimming pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargD
Lake Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booking the property was very well organised with lots of information sent by email before we arrived. We phoned ahead with an approximate arrival time and were met at the property and shown around. There was an undercover parking area and plenty of street parking also. The apartment is up a couple of flights of stairs so would not be suitable for anyone unable to use stairs.

The property itself was lovely, spacious and well presented. The lounge area had a comfortable lounge and a dining area. The adjacent kitchen area had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The separate laundry and w.c. was an added bonus.

The two bedrooms were on separate levels, ideal for families with older children or couples. The main bedroom was above the living area with shutters opening onto this area. For this reason it could be a bit noisy if someone was staying up late in the lounge. The beds in both rooms were most comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious and sparkling. Plenty of towels, including beach towels, were provided along with a starter pack of toilettries.

The location was excellent. It was a couple of minutes walk to the beach or the cafe opposite the beach and about 5 minutes walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. It was also an easy walk to the ferry wharf and the Sunday Markets. The area was also very quiet, with pleasant views from the deck at the rear of the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: shutters in B1
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melburne
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lara
Reviewed October 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
heatherm4...
Ballarat Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunseeker "Tranquil Retreat" Penthouse was just what we needed.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just come back from our 11 night stay in Port Douglas and were very impressed with our choice of the "Tranquil Retreat Penthouse".

Contrary to other reviews we really couldn't fault the cleanliness and arrival greeting. The manager had organised us to call when we arrived in Port Douglas and their rep would then meet us at the premises which she promptly did. Our penthouse looked onto the back of the property with a lovely palm tree and tropical plant outlook. There were basically 3 levels with one double bedroom with full ensuite bathroom (shower over bath) on one, another double bedroom and full ensuite on the next (which also had louvre doors opening with a view down to the living area) and a roofop terrace with table, chairs and sun umbrella on the next. The ground floor included a combination powder room/laundry with washer and dryer, a fully equiped kitchen with dishwasher and full size fridge, a dining area and a huge living area which was furnished with a flat screen tv and a comfy corner lounge suite. Off this was a balcony with a table and 4 chairs and a bbq.

Each bathroom had a hairdryer and lovely Natio toiletries (nice touch). The location was perfect, 1 block to the beach and just off Macrossan Street with a 3minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

We didn't get to see any of the other apartments within the complex but couldn't fault our choice and would happily stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing