We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wonderful Location, Condition and Hospitality.
The hotel is located just steps from the 4 miles beach and in walkable distance to supermarket (Coles) and the town with all the restaurants, bar and shops, while it keeps a small distance that we don't get to hear the noise. The hosts - Fred and Antonio are very friendly and helpful. The room is neat, BIG and fully equipped. It's exactly the same as the pictures on the official website. It comes with a dining room, living room and separate sleeping area. It has a kitchen with all the things you need (fridge, sink, dishes, pans, kettle, coffee maker etc) for simple dishes as it doesn't have kitchen hood. Instead, there's a BBQ grill in the common area guests can use. Would definitely come back next time we visit Port Douglas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    133
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
439
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thank you for making our stay in Port Douglas the highlight of our entire trip to Australia - yes of course, Sydney and Melbourne are great - but that was expected - Port Douglas and the Martinique on Macrossan was a total surprise; recommended by an Aussie acquaintance - and when you get a local telling you were to say - you listen! And for good reason; the wonderful owners, Antonia and Fred, whose friendly insight and recommendations made an already special trip that much more so! This boutique hotel is clean, super convenient, both to the beach (wonderful morning walks on Four Mile Beach), and right on the main shopping/dining street, Macrossan - who could ask for more! I cannot remember when I was so much looking forward to returning both to a place, and to a hotel - Thank you all, the entire community of Port Douglas - you are a gem (or in this wonderful case, an opal!)...

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great, if you prefer being above the pool, just ask for that, otherwise, you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Martinique is special, a unique little spot owned by two very special people-
Antonia and Fred will give you all the knowledge you need to make the most of
what this stepping stone to the Reef and my personal favourite the amazing
rainforest has to offer...yet never intrude, or push you to accept their suggestions!

It's an attractive property, rooms are bright, clean, cool and comfortable-the garden
and lily pond are lovely, especially at night and Four Mile Beach is a couple of minutes
walk....go in the dark and watch the moon on the Coral Sea..stunning and a treat for photographers.

Across the road is a good restaurant, Zinc... Two Fish on the same side as the Matinique
served me beautiful fish meals and, most convenient, you can have most things as a
Take Away. Another recommendation up the main street (only street really) and down towards the Marina is Salsa,the food there was lipsmackingly good (Crab Linguini to die for).

It's a long trip for me, but worth every minute and every penny.....go see Fred and Antonia and
then tell me I'm wrong.....never!

Room Tip: My favourite room is number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Where to start... what an amazing, beautiful little boutique hotel this is! We were met by Antonia, who welcomed us with such hospitality. She took out a map and showed us which restaurants she recommended, etc. And then her husband, Fred, carried our bags to our room! If there has to be a drawback, it would be that there's no elevator. But Fred came to the rescue on arrival and departure... so sweet!

Our suite was so beautiful. Immaculate tile floors, and beautiful décor. We had a little table and chairs out on the balcony, which we used to have evening cocktails and morning coffee. The bedroom was roomy, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very, very nice. The kitchen area was well stocked with coffee, tea, sweetener, milk, coffee mugs and glasses. We didn't use any of the cooking items, but it seemed very well stocked.

The location is excellent, as it is walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a refreshing change from the huge resorts in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start with how fantastic this place is! It's perfectly located, just a few steps from the beach and a couple of minutes to the shops, restaurants and the marina. Fred and Antonia are amazing people - nothing is too much trouble! Great recommendations on where to go, what to do and where to eat. Antonia came to the rescue after one of our carefully planned sailing trips cancelled on us at the last minute. The alternative she found us was wonderful and ended up probably a better option than the one we had arranged! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The bbq on the patio area was an added bonus (especially after we discovered the local butchers!). The pool is small but is a lovely way to escape from the heat. If we ever return to Port Douglas, this is where you'll find us!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just finished a 3 night stay at this lovely small hotel in Port Douglas. Fred and his wife were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make the stay more comfortable. The apartment we had was so spacious with kitchen and lounge area and the whole placed was just perfect.if in Port Douglas do as we did, don't go for the big chain resort but go for this place , small and romantic !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria Austalia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Martinique. The location on the beach end of Macrossen is excellent - left to the beach, right to the shops. The rooms are fabulous - spacious and well thought out, including the fact that the tv can be turned to face either the bedroom or the lounge room. There are only 19 units, and no children allowed. The pool was fantastic - smallish, but well designed with spots for sitting in the water and reading, or drinking that glass or two of champagne. And the hosts were great. Always available, of not in person at the end of the in house phone.

I can't wait to go back - I have stayed many times in Port Douglas but this time was the best.

Gail

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing