We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Martinique on Macrossan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hibiscus Resort & Spa(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mowbray By The Sea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
451
143
19
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
143
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetfour mile beachwonderful hostsshops and restaurantsquiet endsmall balconygreat place to stayno elevatoran easy strollunderground parkingrooms are spaciouswi fitop floorlocal knowledgeminute walk to the beachheated pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 632 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Yes, there are many other choices in PD and you can spend a great deal more for some luxe options. But if you want to stay somewhere very well located, personal and unpretentious then Martinique is a great choice. The owners clearly care about their property and your experience and the information on the website can be trusted. They don't over promise and they won't let you down. We also stayed in a five star hotel in Cairns with all the bells and whistles, but we liked the fact that the apartment in Martinique was not serviced during our stay as we really wanted to kick back and relax.

There is a great BBQ on site and with a fantastic butcher opposite Coles (wagyu beefburgers, Bangalow pork sausages), that can be a great thing to day after a sunset stroll on the beach. And what a beach it is - one of the most beautiful in Australia and as close by as you could possibly hope for. You are also a short or long stroll from some great dining choices - Watergate which has a good bar, Little Larder or Hi-Tide for breakfast or Salsa for a wonderful seafood dishes in a great tropical setting.

We are already planning a return visit to Martinique.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived from a cold Melbourne winter to a tropical paradise. The apartments are well equipped and very comfortable, the hosts are charming and very helpful. We spent our days on the beach which is less than four minutes walk. We dined very, very well and really enjoyed exploring the region. It is easy to self cater - we barbecued prawns and fish and had friends over. The facilities here are excellent. Lots of nice touches - the free filtered, chilled water, very reasonable wifi, free onsite parking good advice on tours and dining. Our only criticism ( very minor) is that the toilet paper and soap is of the budget variety but honestly, that is not a real problem. We will definitely come back, it has been the best holiday I can remember.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Lp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I needed a relaxing, quiet break, Martinique was a good choice. it's small and peaceful yet close to 4 mile beach, shops, cafes, restaurants and even the wharf for trips out to the Great barrier Reef. Martinique is at the beach end of Macrossan St which means even at night it is quiet. Fred and Antonia were very helpful, with lots of advise on when and where to go both in Port Douglas and further afield depending on the weather conditions.

Room Tip: There are 3 levels so if you have problems with steps ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan121938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, inside and out. It's close to walk to the Port Douglas restaurants and the beach, but not just a block away so that it's not noisy. Owners Antonia and Fred are warm, welcoming hosts, who helped arranged tours, even getting us a discount when we had two tours from one company. We'd definitely stay at Martinique on Macrossan again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWalker415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I came to Port Douglas to experience the rain forest and Great Barrier Reef. She found this incredible inn. From the moment we stepped off the shuttle, we were delighted with the charm and beauty of the grounds. Antonia and Fred met us in the courtyard and gave us many brochures and choices for the excursions we planned to take. They even kept an eye on the weather so that we would not have a disappointing day at the reef. Anything that you could possibly want was available to us. Umbrellas; reading material; a well supplied kitchen....Every morning we were greeted and given suggestions on where to eat and what to do. There is a pretty fun Sunday Market just a few blocks away. The rooms were comfortable with a tropical feel and the pool area was very charming. If you stay on the ground floor, you can have an additional patio space in the courtyard...a good place to drink coffee and start the day. Never have owners of a property been so accommodating! Antonia even offered to drive us to the wild animal park one day. She had dining coupons and booked tours and basically was our fairy godmother for 5 days. We were able to look at several other hotels as we picked up guests who joined our tours and none were as charming or well located as ours. A bonus was that we had our favorite restaurant around the corner overlooking the beach. We were close to everything and it really felt like home. Beware of stinger season if you go in the spring! You will not be able to safely go in the water. (You wear a Tele-Tubbyish suit on the boat if you go diving.) You will be very happy if you choose this inn! Soooo charming!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews