We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts and Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts and Perfect Location”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, inside and out. It's close to walk to the Port Douglas restaurants and the beach, but not just a block away so that it's not noisy. Owners Antonia and Fred are warm, welcoming hosts, who helped arranged tours, even getting us a discount when we had two tours from one company. We'd definitely stay at Martinique on Macrossan again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWalker415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    138
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
454
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I came to Port Douglas to experience the rain forest and Great Barrier Reef. She found this incredible inn. From the moment we stepped off the shuttle, we were delighted with the charm and beauty of the grounds. Antonia and Fred met us in the courtyard and gave us many brochures and choices for the excursions we planned to take. They even kept an eye on the weather so that we would not have a disappointing day at the reef. Anything that you could possibly want was available to us. Umbrellas; reading material; a well supplied kitchen....Every morning we were greeted and given suggestions on where to eat and what to do. There is a pretty fun Sunday Market just a few blocks away. The rooms were comfortable with a tropical feel and the pool area was very charming. If you stay on the ground floor, you can have an additional patio space in the courtyard...a good place to drink coffee and start the day. Never have owners of a property been so accommodating! Antonia even offered to drive us to the wild animal park one day. She had dining coupons and booked tours and basically was our fairy godmother for 5 days. We were able to look at several other hotels as we picked up guests who joined our tours and none were as charming or well located as ours. A bonus was that we had our favorite restaurant around the corner overlooking the beach. We were close to everything and it really felt like home. Beware of stinger season if you go in the spring! You will not be able to safely go in the water. (You wear a Tele-Tubbyish suit on the boat if you go diving.) You will be very happy if you choose this inn! Soooo charming!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the midst of a British Lions rugby tour we took a few days in the tropics to see the reef. Bouyed by Trip Advisor reports we booked Martinique and we weren't disappointed.

Antonia arranged transfers from Cairns airport to make sure we got there OK. Check in was swift and friendly with Fred and we were soon in our room. There's no lift on the premises so if you are likely to struggle with luggage, make sure you book a ground floor apartment! We had no issues so our third floor room was perfectly OK.

The location is excellent. Less than 5 minutes to the beach and town centre is ten minutes or so on foot. Martinique is however at the quiet end of Macrossan so there's no late night noise to worry about.

The room was clean and spacious. There was air con for nightime too which helped with sleep in the heat. Aprtment facilities are pretty good. There was a kettle, toaster and a cafetiere and a small hob for cooking. The fridge was vital!

Wifi was available for a small charge and the big city hotels should be ashamed of themselves for the charges they lobby compared to Fred and Antonia.

Both of them were available to assist with booking excursions or even advising where to go. We would love to come back to Port Douglas and if we ever do, there's only one place we'll be staying!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Martinique on Macrossan on June 24 - July 01, 2013; this was our second trip to Port Douglas and first time at the Martinique. This is the perfect place to stay in Port Douglas. The location is great – out of but at the edge of the Port Douglas CBD, and just a block from the Coral Sea and Four-Mile Beach – very convenient. The room we had was delightful and very comfortable. We had wi-fi for only $10 for the entire week, parking was free, and we also used the outdoor grill to cook up some steaks. All-in-all, an excellent value!
The best and distinguishing feature of staying at the Martinique are the owners Antonia and Fred and the help they are able to provide. They are very knowledgeable about the various reef, snorkeling, and Daintree tours, listened to our wishes, provided very useful advice re the various operators, and then made the reservations. For example, I ended up paying Calypso (reef diving) an extra $100 – in cash with no receipt. Once Antonia heard about this, she was on the phone to Calypso instantly, and I had my $100 back within an hour. Martinique is definitely THE place to stay in Port Douglas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We loved our week's stay at Martinique. It's in a convenient location and Fred and Antonia were very helpful in arranging tours and suggesting restaurants and activities. They couldn't have been more accomodating. The apartment was well presented and clean and parking was provided. Would love to visit again sometime!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LynF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

First off thanks to Fred and Antonia. So helpful, and accommodating. We loved our apartment here. The location is perfect. So close to the beach, and a quick walk to the main part of town. We enjoyed four nights here, and felt right at home.

Our hosts made some good recommendations for coffee, as well as activities, and we really appreciated the hospitality.

Room Tip: Be sure to spend some time in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julienandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I met frank out the front lighting the garden flames & immediately I was welcomed into to check out the apartments & to meet Antonia his wife. Location was perfect, just out of the hustle of town & an easy stroll to the beach. We will be back for sure.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank holdingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing