We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and Beautifull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique on Macrossan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Martinique in early November and couldn't find any fault, our room was light, clean and airy, the hosts Fred and Antonia were ever so helpfull they helped us with our reef trip, showed us where to go in the Daintree and even where to eat at night.

Our apartment was in the front half of the hotel and as I said it was very airy with the louvers open we didn't need the air conditioner on. The kitchen was adequate enough for us you could cook a meal in there no problems but then you are on holiday take advantage of the restuarants that are close by.

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay even though it was only 5 days we plan on staying there for longer next time.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    120
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
413
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had booked MOM based on the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and I am so glad we stayed here. Apparently the owners were away and we were warmly greeted by Chris and Leann, the caretakers of the property - they were amazing; friendly, and helpful (Chris even helped my husband carry our heavy bags all the way up to our room on the 3rd floor!) and suggested a great place for lunch, a delicious place for dinner, and great activities for the afternoon. The room is spacious and well laid-out, unfortunately we were only staying one night but you could easily stay a week and not feel crowded. It comes equipped with a full kitchen and has a separate dining and living room so it definitely has an apartment feel to it, but was nicer than I had expected. The pool is beautiful and quiet, the grounds are lush and tropical (the pond up front has its own resident fish and frogs!) the room was quiet and clean. We had the option of A/C or open windows though I'll be honest, the A/C was confusing to use :)

There is free (bottled) drinking water, beach/pool towels and beach chairs to borrow which was such a bonus! It is literally a 5 minute (slow) walk to the 4 mile beach and about a 10 minute walk to the beach on the other side down Macrosssan - location could not be better, especially for the great price.

The only reason we didn't give this rating 5 stars was because although it was a non-smoking room, we had someone else's smoke wafting into our room throughout our stay, which was frustrating, so we had to keep jumping up and shutting all the louvers and turning on the A/C (and we would have preferred fresh air anyway). I realize this is definitely not the owner's fault, though I wonder (and don't know) if smoking rooms are near the non-smoking ones or if someone was smoking on their porch. Regardless, it soured our experience a bit. Not having a lift was also a bit of a trouble as we had 5 bags with us - though as I mentioned Chris was super helpful assisting us with our bags while checking in. 2 small petty things in the overall experience, truly - this was a wonderful place and we would stay here again. We had an excellent time here and are so grateful for Chris and Leann, thank you for a great stay!!

Room Tip: There is no elevator/lift so if you have heavy bags like we did, you might want to request a lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanchic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutcheggs, Owner at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that our relief managers looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay at Martinique. We are sorry to hear about the smoking part because we are an ABSOLUTE NON SMOKING COMPLEX INSIDE AND OUTSIDE. This is written in our compendium and web sites. ThIs guest much have simply ignored our rules and we apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Martinique in early September 2012. Based on previous reviews we expected quite a bit from this place but we found the room very disappointing..
I wouldn't really call this place a hotel or a resort it's more privately owned apartment block and very old and a lot of cheap uncomfortable furnishings with poor quality sheets, mattress and pillows. I felt really uncomfortable and dirty staying here and certainly wouldn't pay to stay in this sort of establishment.

My biggest complaint , however, is about the cleanliness of the room. Every surface in that room contained a thick coat of DUST and also found a dead BEDBUG! I got lots of typical red bed bug bites. I showed the owner but he just said..ooh it must be sandflies..BUT it was not because the bits were in a typical row (“breakfast, lunch and dinner row”) and they followed us home and has made our autumn both a hell and costly !!
And as also mentioned by some other reviews:
1) be aware the block is older style and not nearly as well furnished and comfortable as more modern places (VERY NOISY FANS, internal bedroom and bathroom with no windows etc).
2) Also there are NO LIFTS and you don't always feel like going up and down 3 flights of stairs all the time especially with luggage.
3) SMOKERS are allowed on the balconies and even an ashtray provided for your convenience (the first time in a lot of travel I have ever seen this). 

4) The KITCHEN is not fully self-contained - it is a small basic kitchenette (bar fridge, microwave, stove top - no oven).


5) The parking is very limited (13 spaces for 19 apartments) - we (along with others) had to park on the street.


5) The apartments are very dark (no natural light).



  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyredOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutcheggs, Owner at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Who ever you are??? to have the urge to write that devastating comment about Martinique on Macrossan. We can only say and hope for you that 2013 will bring you a lot more hapiness and less Frustration than 2012
Fred and Antonia (proud owners of Martinique on Macrossan)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hosts - couldn't be nicer, and show a real interest in making your stay memorable
Position- great! Right near the beach, main street, restaurants, shops
Comfort level- tops
Ambience - the gardens are beautiful, pool is gorgeous, BBQ and tables etc, everything is really convenient.
Return ability- absolutely

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClarebearVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed for a week at Martinique and wouldn't choose any other accommodation. The apartment on the ground floor was spacious. No airconditioning was needed as we used only the fans. The kitchen was well equipped for breakfast and lunch and we enjoyed the spacious outdoor private terrace. The lush tropical foliage and exotic Morrocan style swimming pool gave us complete happiness and relaxation. Perfectly situated close to the beach and within walking distance of shops and restaurants and our friendly welcoming hosts, Antonia and Fred, made for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: If physically handicapped or elderly, select a ground floor room as there is no lift to upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our stay at the Martinique on Macrossan coincided with an eclipse, an event that saw 70,000 people arrive in the area. We rang to confirm our arrival and I mentioned to the host that I would probably hire a car to get up from Cairns. A couple of hours later, his wife rang to say that because of the eclipse all hire cars were booked out (something I confirmed shortly after) and if we didn't have a car already booked would we like them to arrange a transfer for us. Of course we said yes.

This is service of the highest order. They're genuinely concerned to make sure that people who stay at their establishment have a good time. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. The rooms (apartments really) are good quality and clean with comfortable beds. The location is excellent right on Macrossan street near the beach. The pool is small but well landscaped

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at Martinique on Macrossan. Comfortable, well equipped apartment, and very convenient location at the quiet end of Macrossan St, close to the beach. Fred and Antonia are fantastic hosts, and very helpful with advice on activities, tours and restaurants.

The grounds and pool are lovely, with just about every amenity you could want.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment as per our request. Our apartment had a shady terrace which was a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb7758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing