We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinique on Macrossan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome! Antonia and Fred were so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Even on the second day when our tour booking forgot to pick us up, they did everything to get us a car rental and we were able to go on our own tour! The Martinique is in the perfect location. It is clean and beautifully kept. The three days went so quickly and even though the weather was not so kind to us, Antonia and Fred made our stay more than pleasant. If we can ever go back again, we would definitely stay at Martinique on Macrossan!!

Room Tip: The third floor is great if you're fit and don't mind stairs. The couples on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    132
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
433
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Friendly staff, optimal location to downtown, restaurants and four mile beach. My only Port Douglas advice is to stay near Macrossan as this is where the shops and restaurants are - this accommodation is oh the downtown street while still far enough to avoid the noise and foot traffic. Clean and welcoming accommodation. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Based on previous reviews we expected quite a bit from this place but found it to be pretty standard and nothing to write home about. Biggest selling point is the location but we would try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharpeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location, within walking distance of everything in Port. Very close to the beach. Antonia and Fred are very friendly, and most helpful. They booked us with tours and snorkeling trips, and even suggested that we reschedule the snorkel day when they learned that there were expected high seas that day.

It's very convenient to have the kitchen available, and some guests barbequed and ate dinner every night in the lovely patio area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank otravezCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Back in Melbourne for a month and are still talking about how much we enjoyed our week in Port Douglas and how happy we were to stay at the Martinique. The hosts, Antonia and Fred, did every thing possible to make you feel welcome and they gave very helpful advice with tours. They really work hard and try their best to make the Martinique the charming place it is to stay.
The hotel is all one-bedroom apartments on three floors, and very quiet and peaceful. The pool is small but beautifully warm, and the BBQ area has lovely flowers decorating each table which make it a relaxing place to sit and have a glass of wine.
As everyone says, the location is fantastic, close to the beach, and shopping and restaurants are an easy stroll away.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Let Antonia and Fred know what your priorities are as the lower and top floors each have something d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights here. The location is wonderful - the four mile beach is a few minutes away and so are the cafes and restaurants in Macrossan St. The hosts are warm and friendly and have lots of great local tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are just finishing a perfect holiday at Martinique on Macrossan, and I can't think of anything negative to say. The location is very close to the beach and the restaurant / shopping strip, and is calm and peaceful. The apartment, and the outdoor area, are lovely. Most memorable are the charming and kind hosts, who gave us such helpful advice about what to do here, they made a big difference to the enjoyment of our holiday. Our thanks to them both.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing