We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely excellent - a highlight of our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent - a highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

What a lovely place Martinique is. From the moment we arrived, we felt we had chosen the right place to stay. Fred and Antonia took a lot of time to listen to our priorities and advise us regarding reef trips and other activities. They were extremely generous with their time and expertise and even honoured a discount voucher we found amongst a load of tourist leaflets (even though we had already settled our account). The apartment was perfect for the two of us; we loved the balcony, free beach towels, large bathroom and quaint shutters. The pool was small but perfect for floating in the sunshine and cooling off. There were lovely little fountains decorated with fresh flowers from the garden and it was only a couple of minutes walk from Four Mile Beach. Five minutes in the other direction took you into delightfully relaxed Port Douglas town centre. One of the best things about the hotel was the underground (cool) parking and the fact that no CHILDREN were staying there (I think the rooms are just not big enough for families)! Being a teacher, I find getting away from screaming kids running about the place absolute bliss. Definitely a wonderful place to stay - and not too extortionately priced (more expensive than what we would pay normally, but worth it).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    133
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
436
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The moment you walk in the room it is so lovely. clean and well furnished, nice balcony, gorgeous pool and really central to everything.. the hosts were FANTASTIC and me and my husband will be going back in june next year. what a MAGICAL place....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our deluxe room was large, spacious and spotlesssly clean.
OUr hosts, Antonia and Fred were so attentive to any of our needs,
and extremely helpful. they even booked us into another recommended apartment
when we wanted to stay longer in Port Douglas and unfortunately the Martinique on Macrossan was full.
I highly recommend stayin here, the hotel is in a fabulous location, on the quite end of the main street, and the beach is only a 2 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenthemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in December of 2010. We really enjoy our overall stay in Port Douglas - much more quaint than Cairns. The only downside was that it was during the down season and many of the restaurants and stores were closed. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner. He personally checked us in and assisted with our luggaged to our room. He was also extremely accomodating to ensure our rooms were as expected and was happy to make recommendations as far as dinner and things to do. The rooms were spacious, very clean and very reasonably priced. The atomsphere was very relaxing -- including the pool area - although small. I would definately stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

For couples looking for a lovely one bed apartment, with easy access to both the beach and the town centre, you can't beat this place. It was just lovely. Every one was friendly, from our hosts to the other guests. The accommodation is quality boutique; very tasteful and welcoming. We just could not fault it! We found it through Trip Advisor and can recommend like everyone else. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrnMrsPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have just spent 9 nights with Fred and Antonia at Martinique. We chose to stay there after the excellent trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Fred and Antonia are a warm and welcoming couple who are full of local knowledge and willing to assist in any way they can. Having never travelled to Port Douglas before I was thrilled with the the position of Martinique-so close to everything. Fred and Antonia assisted us with all our tour bookings and advised on the 'must do's'. Martinique is excellent value for money and we hope to return to Port Douglas and stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyanne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We chose to stay at Martinique after being a bit disappointed with Hibiscus Gardens Resort on a previous visit to Port Douglas. The property is as lovely as the photographs and the location is fantastic, really close to the beach and only a short walk to shops and restaurants. The apartment was great value with a nice balcony and handy kitchenette for self catering. Would definitely recommend it over Hibiscus Gardens Resort.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#11 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing