We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, good time”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Being an ex travel agent I am generally quite fuss. This property was very good and most outstanding was the excellent service. We appreciated a welcome call just after arrival and this standard of service was maintained throughout the stay. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. It's location just out of town ensured it was nice and quiet and although there was a bus stop very close by, the nice 20 minute walk was easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
70
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Sands was perfect for our family. My wife and 17-year-old son loved the facility, the closeness to the beach, and the service of the staff. First class and great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrysford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrajung
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks in May 2012.Great place to stay. Asked for a quiet room and got just that. Kitchen facilities made it flexable to eat when we wanted. Amanda was
extremely helpfull with choosing and booking tours etc.
Happy to reccomend them.

Room Tip: Ground floors can be less private, as people can walk past some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed here mid May 2012. I had booked somewhere else, however the tripadvisor reviews were poor- so I listened to the reviews on this property- and they were on the money.
The property is situated a fair walking distance from Macrosson Street, so unless you want to utilise the town bus, best bet is to have a car. You can park it in their underground secure parking.
It's on a main road, however the noise wasn't a problem. Our unit had new furniture and was tastefully decorated. The kitchen was very well equipped. We had a great view of the lovely clean pool and well kept gardens. There is a spotless kitchen that offers you free breakfast- with cereal, toast, juice and tea/coffee.
It was apparent that some of the units have permanent tenants- that smoke inside, as we could regularly smell cigarette smoke as we passed their windows. Our room hadn't been smoked it. It was VERY clean- which is what I look for in accommodation. A minor problem was that the beds are on castors and can roll a bit on the tiles.
I believe we had one of the better rooms, however if the others are maintained to the cleanliness that ours was, you could probably overlook some older decor.
Amanda was happy to assist if required. Even Chillagoe the cleaner was up for a chat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 46, which had all new furniture. Apparently room 45 has a lovely white theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faireview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

had a wonderful time. amanda from port douglas sands resort was extremely helpful and very friendly. amanda booked our tours which we are very greatful.Even our tour guides Garry from daintree tour and Glen from Kuranda tour were very friendly and welcoming like old mates we had known for years.i would strongly recommend going to po rt douglas for a holiday.stay at the very friendly port douglas sands resort and make sure you book those tours.

Room Tip: rooms are very big and spacious couldnt have asked for anything better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed there (as we enjoyed it so much the 1st time) - is a truly lovely place to stay. Great Pool, room well stocked with kitchen appliances, and the breakfast room is excellent. Lovely gardens too, and well maintained. Located just across the road to the beach (through the lovely gardens of the Mirage Resort - prob 7 min walk), and about a 25 min walk to Macrossan st so nicely away from there too.

Room Tip: There are only 2 3BR flats - 1st floor has better TV / Couch than 2nd floor, but 2nd floor is top, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with my husband & 2 teenage children during recent Easter school holidays. Very clean, modern & well equipped with full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine & drier, large living areas, bedrooms nice & roomy with plenty of wardrobe space. Kids really enjoyed the pool which has some balls, noodles etc. BBQ also a bonus especially if your hubby enjoys cooking a good steak like mine does. Even though close to road hardly any traffic noise & undercover parking also available. All rooms fitted with ceiling fans & air con also available which you will need especially at night time. Only thing I would recommend is a recycling facility otherwise great place to stay for any age.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdavies70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#26 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#7 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#16 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Property: Port Douglas Sands Resort
Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing