We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for three nights with our one year old. If you go there with the expectation of a brand new five star resort you will be disappointed. The resort is large and the pool area is fantastic. We pretty much had a 'private beach area' most of our stay which was perfect with our little boy. The room was very large and as was the basic room did not have a lagoon view. The room had everything we needed and was clean and well maintained. The one disappointment was that there was no balcony which is a shame as we like to sit of an evening outside while our baby sleeps. The ground floor rooms have a balcony.
The staff are not five star trained as I believe that there is a fairly high turn over. In saying that all staff we came across were very friendly and were apologetic if they had forgotten something.We had an issue with our bill on check out but this was sorted out efficiently by the duty manager to our satisfaction.
The buffet breakfast was lovely and I found everything to be fresh and tasty.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but went with realistic expectations of the resort which was built in the late 80's. I

Room Tip: Get a lagoon view and for a balcony ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear SusanW W

Thank you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future and suggest you reach out to us via the above email hotel link and we can ensure you book a rate that includes a balcony.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    683
    397
    196
    115
See reviews for
573
857
51
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location and grounds of this resort are just amazing. Several huge pools surround the property with Four Mile Beach right out front. You can walk down the beach right into Port Douglas. It takes about 25 minutes. The pools have partial sandy bottoms which is kind of neat. As some have noted, the hotel is showing its age but there seemed to be a lot of work going on to spruce things up. We lucked out and were upgraded to the Captain Owen Suite, which was massive. Only complaint was that some of the furnishings -- living room sofa and chair as well as kitchen appliances -- looked like they had been there since the hotel opened. Bedroom and huge bathroom were wonderful. And we had a nice deck to enjoy. Breakfast buffet was included and it was outstanding. We truly enjoyed our five nights here and would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Brad Z

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to Port Douglas.

On behalf of the entire team at The Sheraton Mirage, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the suite, service and quality facilities we pride ourselves on.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property on Tripadvisor, and please let us know when you will be returning, as we would love to have you as our guest when next back to Port Douglas.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were impressed by this resort; it exceeded our expectations the rooms were great as was the pools and gardens, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful it was very relaxing.
The resort catered for families as well as those who wanted a quiet holiday, couldn't fault it really,
We look forward to returning some day and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone.
Port Douglas is an amazing place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Leslie L

Warm greetings from the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort!

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and it is always pleasing to hear and read that our valued guests enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Leslie L, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Port Douglas.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drysdale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a package (My Holiday Centre) that that allowed us to enjoy this resort and not worry too much about the cost! Our room, the meals in the restaurants, the location, service from staff, the main lobby and tours to the reef were amazing. The resort has several pools and the beautiful Four Mile Beach is at its edge. If you are into golfing, the course looks great. Port Douglas is a short bus ride away--too far for us to walk. The downside of that is the cost...so need to check rates. However, it is worth a trip or two into town as it has its own charm and a variety of places to eat or shop. Food is expensive at the resort but we had that covered in our package--however, families may need to budget. Our two trips to the Great Barrier Reef, on different boats and with a different focus, were included and we enjoyed the beauty of this natural wonder. The grounds of the resort are beautifully maintained and very impressive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank presby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear presby62

Thank you for your recent review on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your my Queensland Holiday.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you liked our facilities. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and it is pleasing to learn you enjoyed this.

The resort is ideal for families and with children you can always purchase our SPG kids program which makes dining very affordable.

We very much hope you will have the opportunity to join us again

Best regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in villas for 10 days and lucked out as ours Renovated and great. Friends staying in hotel not as lucky. Grounds and pools most beautiful in australia - but really needs a bit of love to return to former glory. If you can stay in villas hard to go past - and port is a great place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballistic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ballistic888

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Villas here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and so pleased you found the Resort amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future, as with other reviews we are working closely with our owners on the refurbishment plan.

Warm regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The sheer scale of the Sheraton Mirage is impressive, from the entrance foyer to the massive grounds and the enormous pools, to the spacious lounges, bars and restaurants.
I love the marble which has been used in abundance, and the tricky layout and walkways which make the place seem even more huge than it is.
Food was excellent, staff were friendly and always helpful and I even enjoyed playing through the crocodiles on the golf course. Downside was late night corridor noise as the room door seemed to provide little protection from happy loud people.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside rooms have a nice balcony for afternoon drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRedAl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BigRedAl99

We very much appreciate receiving your feedback and I would like to thank you for sharing your views on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas following your recent stay.

It was delight for us to read how much you enjoyed our location and your appreciation for the quality marble and design. Our team strive to deliver at exceptional service at all touch points and it was pleasing to read that you noted their attention to detail.

I however would like to apologise for any disruption you experienced from another guest.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Cairns at 9:00am in the morning and were aware of the 3pm check-in time at the hotel. I had called the hotel the day before to organise an early check-in and advise that we would be using an SPG room upgrade voucher so they wouldn't allocate the wrong room type. I was told that although not guaranteed, she "didn't see a problem with the early check-in". On arrival at Cairns airport, I again phoned the hotel & asked if the early check-in was possible. The "guest relations" member told me that our room wasn't ready at this stage, but wouldn't be too long. I questioned if there was a note that we were using an upgrade voucher, and she said that hadn't been noted. I asked if the upgraded room would be ready and was again told that it should be ready by our arrival. We continued on to Port Douglas, expecting our room to be ready on arrival being an hour away.

We arrived at reception at about 10:30am. Helena on reception just said, "Your rooms not ready." I asked if that was the upgraded room and a look of confusion followed, and then she muttered something about it being the king room. I showed her the upgrade voucher, and obviously she had no clue so she eventually got "the manager" James. He showed her how to allocate an upgraded room which was availbale, however was also not ready. When asked how long it would take to clean the room, we were told "Not too long." Apparently this should be translated to "forever and a day".

About an hour later we returned to reception to enquire about the progress of the cleaning. The cleaners were contacted and they advised it had not started yet. We were given 2 complimentary drink vouchers and sent on our way. Another hour later we returned, wondering why it takes so long to clean a room. Reception again contacted the cleaners who again said, "We haven't started". What a joke - who runs this place - the cleaning staff? The cleaners advised it would be another hour and half...it was now 1pm and we had wasted 2 an half hours actually believing "not too long". James who is apparently the manager, although I doubt it told us that there was absolutley not another room available. This was laughable as we had walked the grounds and sat in the lobby, sighting possibly 10 other people at the most! They kept giving us some excuse about 90 people checking in....ummm big deal?? So off we went into Port Douglas for some lunch...in our trackies...in 27 degree heat.

Some common sense should have prevailed in this situation and they could have allocated us a room that had been cleaned - unless they want us to believe every single room is ready at exactly the same time?!!

As for the "upgrade"...a room overlooking the carpark - nice. So people - when staying at this resort, do not expect an early check-in. Do not expect the rooms to be any better than 3 star - and if the time it takes to clean a room in this place is anything to go by, don't expect the elusive major upgrade to the resort any time soon.

The grounds itself are nice - great pool. There are some beautiful resorts at Port Douglas if you're looking for something that is actually 4-5 star. Peppers, Q1, Ramada, Coconut Grove all look amazing.

We had a great time in Port Douglas, it was just an unfortunate & avoidable start to our long weekend break.

Room Tip: Stay in a lagoon view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightyandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear knightyandkate

Thank you for reviewing our resort on Tripadvisor and disappointed to learn that your check in was less than satisfactory on your recent stay. We do appreciate your kind feedback on our sleep quality and the lagoon pools. As your review remains anonymous we are unsure of the specific date you stayed, though we assume from your review and in speaking with James it was the June long weekend where the resort ran at full occupancy. This certainly made it difficult for an early check in with your room request and upgrade certificate. I have spoken with James our Manager on Duty and would welcome you to contact us directly via the above email hotel link to enable us to clarify the incident and also re explain the reason why we could not assist with the specific room type you had requested for the upgrade and early check in and the resulting delays. I understand in speaking with the team that they endeavoured to assist you as much as possible and James spoke with attempting to explain the limited inventory avalaible at the time. As the resort was running at full occupancy there is a number of factors such as specifically requested room types, guarranteed views, king and twin rooms and interconnecting that have been guaranteed to our guests at time of reservation. I do apologise for any inconvenience here.

Knightyandkate once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Property: Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Tropical North Queensland and the nearby world famous Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest from the luxury beachfront Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort. Located on Four Mile Beach and surrounded by 130 hectares of tropical gardens, an 18 Hole Golf course and sparkling saltwater lagoon pools, guests can enjoy luxurious accommodation and recreation facilities. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing