We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and i spent the anzac weekend at this wonderful place.This place is a palace and iam glad i had the chance to stay here.I have read many of the reviews of the other guests,and the most comon feed back seems to be of the place being out dated.I agree that it may need some updating,but the true beauty of this place is the great size of the entry and how large the place actualy is.They dont make Hotels like this any more in size and attention to detail with the dacor.i have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels,but this place is something to treasure and enjoy as i dont believe they will build hotels like this any more.
The staff was out standing and always ready to assist.The manager on duty,named Mathew,is a credit to this place.He went out of his way to help and advise in any way he could.Mathew knew his job well and exeeded my expectations in his professionalism.Well done Mathew and the rest of your staff.I would deffinately come and stay at this place again.
How ever,the buffet breakfast daily was outstanding.The food was fresh and the variety was great.One area of apportunity is the sea food buffet.The problem was not with the freshness of the food or the staff,but the price of it.I believe iam not the only person complaning about the cost of the dinner.I believe if the management does something about this,there would be more people interrested in dining in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erdienumnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Erdienumnum

Thank you for sharing your review on your most recent stay at The Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

We are delighted to read that you had an exceptional stay with us and appreciate your thoughtful comments about our location, spaciousness, comfortable guestrooms and cuisine. I do note your feedback on the pricing of the buffet and will review this. We strive to provide our guests with warm and friendly service and I am pleased that you received that through your various interactions with the team and of course Matthew one of our Managers on Duty.

Erdienumnum, we do hope to welcome you again in the near future on your next visit to Port Douglas.

Regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    671
    388
    192
    114
See reviews for
559
849
50
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently spend the long Anzac weekend at the hotel. The grounds and property are great and have so much potential but it does feel like the resort has seen better days. The entire staff was wonderful and very service oriented. They should be commended. The rooms were very clean and orderly but were dated. They need a remodel. The gym (across the street at The Mirage) was VERY dated and needs upgrades. The pool and resort grounds were great and very well maintained which was wonderful beaus you don't spend much time in the room anyway. It is a good resort for families as there are many great pool activities and attractions (blow up water obstacle courses) for kids to play on. Overall it was a good experience that could have been spectacular due to the location if the resort decor and inside amenities were upgraded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear AmyInShanghai

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mirage for your trip to Port Douglas from Shanghai.

We very much appreciate your kind comments on the facilities, the team, the gardens, and clean rooms and note your feedback on the resort in general. We are currently working on the resorts refurbishment plans for the future.

AmyInShanghai, thank you again,

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Sheraton Mirage as part of a great deal we got through My Qld Holiday. This was a package including return air fares and airport to hotel transfers and two trips to the Barrier Reef.
The Sheraton is a lovely hotel to stay at, with a beautiful pool edged by pristine white sand, and set between a very good golf course and 4 mile beach.
We had some very good meals at the hotel but also enjoyed some magnificent dining experiences in the town which is only 10 minutes away in a regular bus service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Brian R,

Thank you for passing on your personal views from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

We do appreciate you raising the positive aspects of your stay; the resort being beautiful, the beautifully maintained gardens, great choice of swimming pools to relax and enjoy.

We are glad the package you booked offered so much for an affordable holiday; it is great value to experience the Resort and relax in comfortable surroundings.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORWELL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a one week package with My Holiday Queensland which resulted in a great value holiday. The Resort although built in 1988 was clean and functional, The staff were helpful and the meals were terrific both in variety and value.
Our trips to the reef were interesting although the weather spoilt on trip.
All up a great trip and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear JohnG

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and feel that you have had good value. We pride ourselves on our service and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our restaurants as well It is a shame that your trip to the reef was marred by the weather; that is good enough reason for you to visit with us again soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. We welcome and appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Walker
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had reservations at this property during our visit to the Great Barrier Reef. It is in terrible need of a remodel. The landscape was unkept, the pool and water features need a major cleaning, there was no one available to help guests, we were concerned about eating the food as there weren't many people around and we were concerned it might not be turned over enough to be fresh, the drinks at the pool bar were terrible--they made them again and weren't much better.

The sleeping room was musty, rusty and doesn't look like it had been touched since it opened. There were spiders, bugs all around--it was much like camping.

There were so few people staying at the property, it was a little concerning--made us feel uncomfortable. After returning from dinner and seeing more of the property, we decided to go to our room and find other accommodations. We were fortunately to find rooms at the new QT Port Douglas.

The highlight of the trip as the hotel's flexibility at the front desk in getting us out of our reservations and allowing us to move to the other hotel.

I've read other reviews on the property, and cannot beging to see how anyone would rate this other than a terrible experience.

The land/site of the hotel has the potential to be spectacular--with the right owner and investment it could be incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sheryl S

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort from your stay in December 2012.

We do appreciate the gift of feedback and note your thoughts on the resort. Sheryl S, your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We value you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond. We hope to see you back in the future, perhaps after the renovation.

Kind regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We attended a conference at the Sheridan Mirage Port Douglas and stayed at the resort for a few days. We stayed in the pool view room and it was excellent, quite, cool and very roomy. The staff were very polite and helpful which made the stay perfect. Yes the style is back in the eighties but I think this is what gives it its charm. The gardens and beautiful and pools are well kept and is a joy to just walk around and sit in one of the many lounges and read or take a dip.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Peta-Anne N,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mirage as your accommodation for your recent conference. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the rooms quiet & cool, the team helpful and gardens, pools beautiful; thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Port Douglas should your travels bring your back from Perth.

Best regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Room is a bit old. But we have the pool view with 25 bucks extra and it's beautiful. Additional 10 bucks for room service is a turn off. Do buy the discount vouchers for 240, it works out 20 bucks for a breakfast - good value.
Pool is excellent - a real delight.
Hotel lobby is very grand - free internet as well.
I wish free wifi provided in the room too coz it's an expensive hotel.
The green idea is great, you get 15 bucks credit if you don't require daily room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markchanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, lachlan Walker. General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear markchanchan

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed the location, views and breakfast and appreciate the complimentary wireless in the Lobby areas and last but not least out Green Initiative.

Markchanchan. do reach out to us for your next visit.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Property: Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Tropical North Queensland and the nearby world famous Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest from the luxury beachfront Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort. Located on Four Mile Beach and surrounded by 130 hectares of tropical gardens, an 18 Hole Golf course and sparkling saltwater lagoon pools, guests can enjoy luxurious accommodation and recreation facilities. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing