We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Nearby Hotels
$315
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
By The Sea Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$165
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$342
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$149
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Martinique on Macrossan(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shantara Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$378
$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$450
$386
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveler rating
369
403
169
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
403
169
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bartime sharepool areabarramundifree wifiphone receptiondeluxe roomrestaurant stafflocal shuttlehire carshort walk to the beachfour mile beachgreat poolenjoyable staytown centrethe ground floorrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our 6 day stay at the Ramada did not begin very well. We were placed in a disabled room - very small with bathroom containing fittings obviously for people unable to toilet or shower without assistance - and an unpleasant smelling linoleum on the floor and up part of the wall. While I admire the resort for providing this very necessary facility for people with physical disabilities, it was not at all what I was requiring or indeed wanted! We requested a change of room and were told they were fully booked. Tried again the following day and late in the afternoon were provided with another room.
The pool is fantastic and there are plenty of chairs and lounges to relax in. There are lovely trees to provide shade as well.
Eating was overall quite disappointing. For breakfast we were given 2 options - express or full American. The express was just cereal and toast - no fruit, which was disappointing. The full was the usual self service you see in any hotel. There was no change to either menu during the time we stayed. Dinner was pretty ordinary - although there were 2 specials each night. Unfortunately they usually sold out very quickly! The biggest disappointment was the night we ordered one seafood special to share between my husband and myself and waited ....... and waited .... and waited for 90 minutes! There were 4 couples in the restaurant at the time. No excuse nor apology.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you like to sit outside your room (or dry your pool towel) as there are no balconies.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Ramada Resort Port Douglas served up a lot more than I expected and only disappointed on a couple of fronts. The room and resort facilities were above expectations for a medium priced resort hotel. The room was large, clean and very well appointed with a big screen TV, full size fridge, warming oven, compact dishwasher and washing machine. Reception and restaurant staff were courteous and very accommodating. The hotel is on the outskirts of town, a short 5 minute walk from 4 Mile Beach which is a great place to walk or run plus there is a children's playground at the beach entrance. On the downside there are few other facilities close-by so it requires the use of one of the shuttle bus services at $5/trip to get into the town centre for shopping and restaurants if you aren't arriving by car. My biggest beef is with the restaurant. Firstly, the hotel books events which take the complete restaurant out of service for the other guests; options being room service (hotel offers 20% discount for the inconvenience) or head into town as there are no other restaurants within easy walking distance. Secondly, the only breakfast service you are offered is self-service buffet style 'Express' or 'Full American', which is just not good enough for a large full-service hotel. Finally, there are usually 2 or 3 dinner specials that are offered at a good price, however, these are often sold out very quickly. In my books if the hotel is offering a special it should be available for all guests whatever time they choose to eat. The Ramada Resort Port Douglas is good for those seeking a 'resort' experience, but not so good for those who want to make the most out of being in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ramada Resort Port Douglas for 5 nights in October 2013. We booked through our travel agent at home and check in was excellent with friendly service. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the parking lot and as other reviewers have added there is no balcony. A balcony would be nice but the resort is so beautiful we spent no time in our room. The room was large, bathroom was large and bed was comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room, as well as a safe. Breakfast at the resort was good and the big Australian breakfast was $20 per person. For $10 you could have fruit, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. We had full breakfast included daily which was great. Great service in the restaurant. Lots of chairs around the pool area and the pool area is beautiful and tropical. As there are many trees it is very shaded. 4 mile beach is a couple minute walk from Resort. Town is a great bike ride but a far walk in the heat. We rented a tandem bike from the resort and had a great time. There is also a shuttle in to town for $5 per person each way that leaves on a regular basis. You can also buy a 3 day pass etc for a slightly better value. Overall the resort was relaxing, had a good restaurant on site, small business centre, close to the beach and good service. It is not close to town which was good for us. We felt like we were staying at a tropical paradise and if we wanted to go to town it was a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is very spacious and well laid out with tropical plants and a small lake, which attracts all the various exotic birds. Our room was very large, clean and well decorated and included a sofa and chairs plus a small outside area to sit with chairs. The restaurant serves up very good food and as a result is very popular I suggest booking to ensure you eat when and where you want to.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional from the front desk to the room cleaners, they have been selected and trained very well. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Port Douglas and is a useful touring point for the Mossman gorge, Daintree forest etc.
There is a pool in the hotel but we did not use it as there is a path at the back of the hotel which takes a 5 minute walk to a typical tropical beach, fabulous, we swam there every day in bath temperature water.

Room Tip: For a quiet outlook choose a garden facing room, not one overlooking the pool or car parks.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only had a weekend away,would have liked to spend a week. The Reception and tour desk were friendly and helpful, the 2 bedroom unit was newly refurbished and a generous size. Both rooms had full ensuite, one with shower and the other with shower over bath. Full size kitchen (fully equipped including dishwasher). Dining room seated 6 and there was a comfy lounge with flatscreen TV. The laundry had washer,dryer ,ironing board and iron. We were only a few metres from the excellent restaurant, Spa and Pool. The famous beach was only a short walk down the path. We drove ourselves to the many attractions but tours are available at Reception.

Room Tip: The Resort is multi-level, our unit was on the ground floor (our choice) and was very quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews