We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to unwind”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed 5 nights and had a very relaxing time. The health spa was excellent: one of the best massages that I've ever had. The staff at the resort are very friendly and helpful. The hotel room I booked was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the rainforest like gardens. Excellent value.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden in A block are very quiet but close to the carpark and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyKatG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    353
    140
    39
    23
See reviews for
217
435
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our second stay at this property and we were concerned that our previous great experience might not be repeated. We should not have been worried it was just as good if not better than before.

Our room was in D Block in the wing on the opposite side of the pool area. It was a newly refurbished 1 bedroom apartment with all the facilities one could wish for. Good storage, shiny new bathroom and very well appointed kitchen. Nice tiled entry & spacious bedroom and lounge area with flat screen TV in both bedroom and lounge. The bed was a comfortable king size. Everything was new & fresh.

The pool area is special, with a large pool and waterfall set in in a natural setting overhung by large fig trees in which birds feed and play for most of the day. The birds are not noisy & screeching but give a natural and relaxing background to this pretty area. The pool is bordered on one side by the dining room which is open and natural featuring large beam timber construction with trees growing up through the floor and the roof to overhang the pool.

My wife & I spent most of our time during the day on comfortable lounges poolside, with a good choice of sunny or sheltered positions at all times of the day.

The staff excelled themselves, from the front of house staff to the restaurant staff and nothing was too much trouble.The restaurat provided a good selection of fine food & speciality themed nights. As a change, a pizza from the restaurant was also delicious.

The property is well situated close to Port Douglas by car (about 7 minutes) and close to other properties with golf courses and other activities. Port Douglas is a gateway to the Barrier Reef and a great variety of trips is available from there. The beach is only a block away from this property and I had a scenic walk up the beach to Port Douglas (45 minutes walk).

This has to be one of the best vaule for money properties that we have stayed in, particularly in such a sought after tourist area. We liked the pool are the best and there was nothing that we disliked.
We will definitely be back.

Neil B

Room Tip: All rooms are good but for those with mobility problems I would seek advice when booking to ensure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilB750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The resort is continuing through ongoing rejuvenation and whilst the exterior is slightly dated, the renovated rooms are superb. Our 2 bedroom apartment was modern and spacious. The pool area and bar is relaxing and great for kids with the waterfall

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racingspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As Wyndham owners we recently spent 8 nights at the Ramada and this was our first time at the resort. We had a fantastic time with the tone being set right from our arrival with a warm and friendly welcome at Reception. We were able to check in earlier than expected and the process was efficient.

We had a one b/room apartment in the newly refurbished area of the resort and it exceeded expectations. The layout, decor, in room facilities were of a high standard. Housekeeping was great with towels being replaced half through our stay and they offered to clean the unit, which we had not asked for. Fantastic service!

The resort is in a good location with frequent and fast shuttle services into town so made it convenient since we didn't have a car.

The Bar and Restaurant facilities are great especially with complementary WIFI. Prices really reasonable and the food of good quality. The staff are efficient and very friendly. They certainly made us feel at home throughout our stay.

We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in B Block - it is conveniently located near the Bar and Tree Tops restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a nice getaway location. We had 4 nights in the Ramada resort. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Welcoming reception and a relaxing area to lounge around in. Our room was a deluxe room, plenty of room for 2 people with a kitchen. We spent a lot of time outside. Beach only a short walk from resort. The outdoor walkways are being refurbished, which will look great when finished. It is a beautiful resort, by the cascading pool area, restaurant or lounges outside. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ramada Resort Port Douglas is a nice property that does require some improvements but this should not deter you from visiting.

It has a typical older resort layout with the 3 storey buildings built in a rectangle overlooking a beautiful setting including a very nice pool. The raised walkways, waterways and tropical garden (some might say rainforest) setting all enhance the Ramada.

The reception area is very good but could be improved with the addition of a more formal bar area for patrons to sit and relax away from the pool area. The restaurant met our needs (8 nights) and to be fair to it is not trying to be anything more than a service for the resort. Don't expect it to offer you more than that. The staff within the resort were all terrific and those in the restaurant/bar were tremendous.

We stayed here as Wyndham owners and were offered an owners cocktails which is normal at their resorts. It is a nice gesture and I trust it will continue. It does give you a good opportunity to meet other owners and share ideas. Greetings to our new mates from Armidale!

The laundry areas could do with a spruce up (one machine was not working in our wing). A gymnasium would be good. The front bar. The gardens are getting an overhaul.

A pity that the Wharf building sits in the middle of the complex as it destroys the view from reception to pool and vice versa. The beach is close by if you fancy doing that although apart from a walk in the sand it doesn't really offer anything.

The rooms were very, very nice. Newly renovated and very clean. One of the better Wyndham rooms we have stayed. Some flywire on the windows would be great as it would allow you to open the windows and get some fresh air without fear of being eaten alive by the insects.

There is a local shuttle operator/s that stop at Ramada along with other resorts and takes you in/out of town. If you are there for anything longer than a couple of days buy the 3, 5 or 7 day tickets. They save you a bundle.

Well worth staying if in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OooRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights and we're upgraded to a large new room! We had a full kitchen! Love the pool and the huge trees surrounding the grounds! Very helpful, friendly staff! The drain in the bathroom had a really weird smell but we poured water down and that took care of it! We also didn't realize that when making reservations for dinner we had two option. We thought we had booked for the Big Barbeque night but turns out when we got there we had just made an ordinary reservation. So make sure to specify if you want the special!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Property: Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing