We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic !!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Where to start , arriving with two kiddies and a husband after a long flight, delayed, feeling tired and in need for a sleep, we entered the most beautiful foyer, people laughing , slight drizzel and so relaxed.

The holiday began with great service, reception were great, even with the 18mth crying due to being over tired.

The grounds are tropical and sounds of water in the pond soothing. On arrivaing to the room we realised we never brought the porta cot . By this stage my son was getting quite restless. We rang reception and within 10 mins a lovely lady came, only to be greeted by my son's vomit all over the bed . The lady ( Molly ) didn't hesitate in pulling of the sheets and remaking the bed, bringing extra towels , and sheets packed in a bag "just in case" as it was around 5pm we decided to order in, relax , and start the day tomorrow. Meals were great , quick, with friendly service.

Unit was beautiful, big, and very clean and modern, couldn't fault anything. Tv in master suite, great kitchen with everything needed. Great bathrooms, 2, heaps of amenities, blender, cooking dishes, ( not that I cooked) very spacious bedrooms,

The next morning the same lady (Molly) cameback
just to check if we required any more linen, and to see if our son was ok.

Still drizzling (warm still) we headed for breakfast, unlimited pancakes 4yr old heaven, and so much to chose from for us.

Resturant by the pool, waterfall, warm, relaxed, great start to the day. 6 days of total bliss. We hired bikes, one with kiddie carriage so biked into Port Douglas. Nice ride in, flat, scenic drive by the boats, Kids loved it.

We ate dinner at resturant 4 nights , 2 were room service , great meals, fantastic service. Swim up pool bar , very tropical.

Everyday we would bump into Molly, always smiling , always asking how we were, was everything ok , was there anything she could do for us, think my 4yr old had a crush, as always wanted to see the vomit lady (Molly.)

Having been recommended by friends to stay here due to it being very family friendly , relaxed , and service that is by FAR outstanding. I highly recommend it to anyone with young family's. Nothing is more appreciated on holiday than a friendly happy resort.

Thankyou to everyone for our fantastic holiday. All the staff were brilliant. Nothing was ever a problem. Ange and Jack , Ben and Tommy




  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, General Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Ange, Jack, Ben and Tony,

Thankyou for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in welcoming families to our resort and thankyou for your kind words about our Housekeeping Manager Molly it is great to know she went out of her way to look after you. It is great to hear you enjoyed the brand new refurbished rooms and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you all back next time.

Warm Regards
Nathan Hunt
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    348
    136
    36
    23
See reviews for
214
424
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Bought a voucher through scoopon and loved our stay. Resort was wonderful, with a beautiful bar overlooking a pool.

Voucher gave us $100 meal voucher with no strings attached, a free cocktail, unlimited movie voucher, and bike hire. We didnt get the 12pm checkout stated on the voucher, but this was of little concern. Amazing Value.

Rooms were clean and cosy.

Just out of Port Douglas main st, but walking distance to beach.

Staff were very friendly.

Definitely recommend. Great job everyone at Ramada, this was one of the highlights of our trip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanGibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Jonathon,

Its good to hear you took advantage of the scoopon deal and enjoyed your stay. Thankyou for your positive comments about the friendliness of our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Nathan Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

(Single night stay review only-would have loved to do a week here.)Got a special deal on ebay and got a room upgrade.Wow! Beautiful setting, great facilites, well renovated property. Out from the town centre of Port. The central courtyard was peaceful, shaded, natural-feeling with lovely landscaping/gardening. We hit on a room which had literally not been stayed in before (opening special) so the room was immaculate. Reception area was so lovely, and staff welcoming and helpful but laid back enough for you to relax properly. We arrived tired and travel-worn but were treated so well it was a credit to the place. Enjoyed the pool very much, and the buffet breakfast was sumptuous. (Bummer that the pancake machine wasn't working, but staff made a number of attempts to fix it throughout service.) Restaurant had several tempting and very reasonable dinner specials but we decided to cook in our apartment style suite. Time your beach walk for low tide or expect to walk along the walking track like the locals, because there is no beach at high tide; it's scrub down to the high tide line. Staff were frendly and helpful, and we lacked nothing. Very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: This is co-branded/managed with (Worldmark? (I think?)) timeshare; We were in Casaurina wing which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, General Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Amyshepp,

Thankyou for your comments about your stay with us. It is always nice to hear our team were friendly and helpful which reinforces we are headed in the right direction. Some good news we replaced the pancake machine with a brand new which works all the time now and we have lots of kids coming in every day for the all you can eat for $1 kids pancakes. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and pool. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards
Nathan Hunt

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently stayed here with our grown children. The resort itself is attractive, beautifully landscaped and well kept. We loved the open lobby with chairs for lounging. The young lady that checked us in was very nice and helpful. She recommended several good places to eat and helped with our reservation for one dinner. In fact, all of the staff that we had contact with for any reason was very cheerful with the exception of the bartender. Our two bedroom unit was quite clean and well furnished. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the lack of any type of shelf or even hook in the shower for shampoo and soap, etc. Two small hooks on the back of the bathroom door were the only provision for bathtowels and/or pool towels. Aside from that, we had a great time and if we had the opportunity to visit again would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, General Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Marla N,

Thankyou for your kind words about your stay with us. We will address the housekeeping issues you have mentioned. It is great to hear our team were friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards
Nathan Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Ramada in Port Douglas is a pleasant surprise. The pool is surrounded by natural greenery - gorgeous tall trees that provide great shading.
The restaurant is surprisingly good
We have been back to Port Douglas a couple of times, as we cannot find find anything else that offers all that it does. The pools are fabulous, the kids just would not get out! The rooms are clean and modern, and the furniture is comfortable to relax on. The stunning beach is down a small walkway. We love riding our bikes on the sand each morning.
Port Douglas has such great restaurants that we try somewhere different every day.
We also love the market on Sundays. There is so much variety and great gift ideas.
Overall, the perfect location for a wonderful holiday. We will keep going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneC720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

So I've been living here and renting the room privately so what I say is based on what I've experienced as basically a private owner rather than a guest.

As I have nothing to do with the hotel all of the staff have been very friendly and welcoming to me, the staff at reception are very helpful and have done lots of things for me even though they have no reason to. Nothing is too much to ask of them.

Every Thursday night there is a private barbecue for the Wyndam time share owners which guests aren't allowed to go to, or me. They are down one end of the pool so they don't get in the way and don't make much noise.

Every Wednesday is a themed buffet night, I haven't had a buffet since I'm very fussy but I have had the chicken parmigiana (I think that's how it is spelt) twice and spag bowl both of which have been very nice and reasonably priced. If you aren't all inclusive, I suggest going into town and go to Coles, they have 2 for 1 offers on the meals here on the back of your receipts, so makes it one of the cheapest places to eat out. The puddings are lovely too but could do with being a bit bigger, but then I haven't had any desserts at any other restaurants in Australia so they might be normal size.

The pool is the best thing, it's nice and big, 2m at the deepest point and normally warm or slightly cold so refreshing. The resort provides pool noodles which is nice of them but it is a shame that lots of guests abuse them, they smash them on the water which eventually means they break in half, then the resort buys new ones. To me they shouldn't be buying new ones and people should treat the resorts property with respect since it is there for everyone to use.

I would rate 5 stars but I have stayed in nicer places around the world, but would definitely recommend staying here :)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be noisy as the restaurant sometimes plays their music more loudly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got a great deal on ebay for a private room. The room was fantastic. It had a full size fridge, kettle, toaster, camp style burner (to put a frypan on), cutlery, plates, iro etc. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. The room also had a lounge and a 3 person dining table - with still room to move and put luggage etc. The bathroom was a great size with a 2 person bath. The pool was fantastic - had a swim up bar but no seats at the bar, still good. We had lunch by the pool and it was delicious. The buffet breakfast was also good. Dinner was great too. We found a discount booklet in Coles (next the the newspaper stand by the fruit) that had 2 for 1 meals at the Ramada in there. So we had dinner most nights at the resort at a great price!
We hired a tandem bike from the reception and rode into town on one of the days, it was 9kms return trip (and we also went past the marina). The bikes were in really good condition. There is a shuttle bus that comes every 15mins out the front of the resort and its $10 per adult to go into the main street of Port Douglas. If you have a car this resort is fantastic - otherwise you would rely on the bikes or shuttle bus to go into town. Having said that we enjoyed the resort facilities and didnt spend much time in the main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Property: Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing