We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished rooms and great lagoon pool rainforest setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the newly refurbished deluxe room! Lagoon style pool was delightful (could've been cleaner with leaves etc, but hard to maintain With so many trees). Dining and happy hours at the Tree Bar restaurant were excellent. Staff were generally good and helpful. Resort is very family friendly. Will be back with the kids next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whosthebettasoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 927 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Family of three - stayed 4 nights September 2012
Loved the location. Only a short drive/shuttle bus to the main street from the front of the resort and a few minutes walk through the back of the property and you were on the four mile beach.
Port Douglas, Mosman Gorge (highly recommended) Daintree, reef snorkelling and a heap of other things to do makes this spot a great base.
Room was very comfortable and found that the rstaurant on the property was fantastic - open for breakfast, luncg and dinner with good food and a spot right next to the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Phil I,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with you.
We much appreciate your comments and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
it is great to hear you enjoyed a number of the wonderful activities our region has to offer, because as you mention, we are a great base for enjoying it all.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance with a return booking.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Cribb
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay at the Ramada was good. Loved the fact that you could walk out the back of the property and be at the incredible 4 mile beach in about 2 minutes. The grounds were lovely with tropical plants and the pool with a rock wall. The room however was a bit worn and there were little knots/ants all over. I thought, oh this is the tropic/beach, but I didn't find them anywhere else I stayed for a month in Queensland. They were actively renovating when we were there, so likely when that is finished, this will be a lovely place to stay. Also, you have to get into the car and drive to go anywhere, no restaurants or shops in walking distance. The restaurant at the hotel was very good, and a good value additionally. Likely I would stay elsewhere if I returned to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oregon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Oregon99,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.
During your period of stay we were still refurbishing the property and you stayed in one of our non refurbished rooms. We apologize that this room did not meet your expectations and invite you back to experience our brand new refurbished apartments & hotel rooms during your next visit to Port Douglas.
In regards to getting around Port Douglas, many of our guests use the Local shuttle bus that runs through the Resort on regular intervals and find this more than adequate. It also allows you to sit back & relax and enjoy the sights of the area.
We do hope you consider visiting Ramada Resort Port Douglas again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Cribb
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I recently enjoyed a stay at Ramada Port Douglas. We stayed at three resorts in the region and this was by far the best. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out, all staff, from housekeeping to Reception and the restaurant and bar staff, were extremely polite and delivered fantastic service. Lovely pool deck and gorgeous pool. Perfect for afternoon cocktails.The buffet breakfast is AMAZING.Thanks for a great holiday !

Room Tip: For familes the 2 bedroom apaertments are freshly refurbished and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear AngieC,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. Your lovely words have been shared with the team and they are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope that you will consider visiting again, as we would love to you!
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist with a future booking.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Cribb
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our experience. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Newly renovated rooms were great and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. Highly recommend the restaurant in the resort.. staff and food were excellent. To sum it all up we really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jose0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Jose0120,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and your kind words are very much appreciated.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one our newly refurbished rooms & also had the chance to sample our wonderful Breakfast Buffet!
We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any assistance with a return guest booking.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Cribb
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Attended a timeshare presentation at Ramada Port Douglas just over a week ago. Not impressed, should have paid for our accommodation rather than we pay them! On arrival, told I was too early to check in (it was gone 2pm). Was told it was 4pm check in yet the paperwork I was sent said 2pm! Parking for cars is woefully inadequate. Unit smelt stale, as if locked up for months. Tried to open one window and it almost fell out. No insect screens on windows. A/C unit in "living area" didn't work properly and was blasting onto the sofa all the time. Main bed was old and WELL sagged. Resort is outdated and shabby. Access into the pool is dangerous. The only rail point has a very deep first step, unsuitable for child access into that shallow point. In the restaurant, girl at desk was foreign and could not understand us, ended up just ordering 2 x coffee + glass of lemonade (which arrived COMPLETELY flat)...............and they want $25,000 to almost $34,000 to buy into this??? For a 20-40 year lease??? Almost $900 a year for maintenance fees???? Are you kiddin' me? During the presentation, nothing was offered as information or proof of any improvements planned for that resort. Extremely poor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simplyjewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here in September, got a fantastic deal on trademe. When we arrived we were told key would be on the table but it wasnt! so when we wanted to go anywhere we had to take our luggage with us because we couldnt lock the door. This is NOT what we wanted after 7hours of flying! Ladies that ownend the place were uncontactable. we googled the business and found where it said they lived. went around and they had moved but neighbour told us where I can find them. at eclipse hotel. rang eclipe got an unhelpful girl who said the ladies were away but she would text them! after hearing nothing we lugged our bags back inside and went back the next day.. the girl at the other hotel had a key all along! so no need for lugging around bags. other than that it was ok, there were about 10 cockroaches in our room, but they got exterminated and after that only dead ones showed up.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPortDouglas, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Eva N,
Thankyou for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Ramada Resort Port Douglas. Ramada Port Douglas genuinely appreciates all feedback as it is used as a tool for quality Management.

You did not stay in an apartment Managed by Ramada Port Douglas.
I regret that you did not have the true Resort guest experience of checking in at our 24 hour Reception and enjoyment of well appointed apartments. I urge you to book direct with the Resort next time you travel to Port Douglas and I assure you that your next experience, should you choose to stay direct with the Resort, will be better than the one you had.
Please do not hesitate to contact us direct if we can be of any assistance.

Kindest Regards,
Anna Cribb
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
531 reviews
0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
670 reviews
2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing