We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great break away”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Flew up to Port Douglas to have a well deserved break and celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. Had a wonderful time and a great stay at the hotel. The room was fantastic, the meals great. The reception service could have been a little better, but all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    348
    136
    36
    23
See reviews for
214
424
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I recently went back to Treetops after a break of about 3 years I had stayed there 3 times in the past when it was a Radisson hotel.It has changed owners 3 times since then,the most recent being a change to Ramada about 1 week before I arrived.This fact was not made known to me and the first problem my daughter -who arrived a few hours before me-and then myself found was that on checking in the staff refused to honour the breakfast deal which was offered at the time of our booking-pay $19 for a continental or $1 more for full buffet--normally $30.
It was quite difficult -and really an unpleasant introduction to our holiday-to get the original deal.We were told to take it up at the restaurant in the morning which we did.Here the staff made it very clear that they would charge as the price we were told when we booked as they felt this was the right thing to do.
I would like to make the point here that if a new company is taking over an old one surely they should be aiming to please rather than behaving in such an unprofessional and unwelcoming manner!
Some other negative features were : no Spa being available for use,the front bar/cocktail lounge previously so enjoyable was no longer operating,the second restaurant no longer in use except for functions,no shop--and none of these are mentioned on the websites even today when I checked before writing the review.
I also need to mention that my bed was extremely hard,and from the first day I woke with a sore neck and upper back such that on my return to Melbourne I had to see a physiotherapist!
The room was generally OK with a big gap near the couch which in my daughter's room had a coffee table.I did not like the bathroom toiletries in their automatic dispensers which smelled unpleasant and I feel looked cheap,as was the "sleep-in Sunday"--in other words a way to avoid servicing the rooms on Sundays unless you specifically ask for it.
During a wedding and one other night the noise levels were extreme,with some screaming girls at one stage seen hurtling down the main walkway on a luggage trolley before crashing into the trees.No staff came to sort this out!
On the good side,the pool remains very pretty although still a bit cool,and I had some very nice meals at the restaurant,where the staff were unfailingly very pleasant.
In summary,when I booked and the price was quite cheap on a special I went back to my favourite place expecting all that I had enjoyed in the previous years.
I was rather disappointed and instead feel this hotel is now catering to people/families who want a good price to stay here as a base for all the area has to offer--which has it's merits -but not for those who want a more up-market resort with luxury rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 29, 2011

After the initial shock of the ownership change (we thought our GPS had lied to us!) we couldn't believe our luck at choosing such a beautiful hotel. The grounds are beautiful and we highly recommend having a cocktail in the pool.

Word of warning, if you plan to eat in the restaurant make sure you book otherwise you may be told off by one of the waiters (even though the restaurant may look empty). However, the food is sensational and we highly recommend the crocodile spring rolls and chocolate fondant! It was the aforementioned staff member that meant we only ate there once howver we would have gone bak again and again!

Great value, excellent service! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The room was musty smelling and there was black mold in the corner on the wall. Needs to be repaired.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

For the price we paid (some of the lowest I came across in Port Douglas) this hotel fit the bill. It's a no-frills room, but adequate for the intended purpose which was simply a place to sleep every night. It served as a base for a trip to the reef and other exploration around PD. The pool is very nice. Food at the restaurant was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing into the courtyard, otherwise you are facing the property's back wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsteinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The location was grand & the little resort bus does an adequate job be mindful that the buses are operated by different companies & the tickets aren't transferable.
So the hotel, the check in staff were lovely when we explained that we had booked a trip for the next morning the staff member (blonde girl can't recall her name) phoned the company to check our pickup time without us even asking we were also given chilled bottles of water, which were welcome & a nice touch.
Walking over the little bridge takes you to a lovely pool & tree lined pathways - all lovely & a nice reminder of your tropical location. We enjoyed our room though we spent little time in it
we would have liked another day to enjoy the hotel's facilities as we really had a full 2 day schedule. We were so grateful for the laundry facilities which were on every floor.
We ate at the restaurant & really enjoyed it even the house wine was lovely & the chocolate
fondant was most enjoyable. Another nice touch is the free Internet in the bar area.
On the downside we were disappointed that you have to pay to use the in room safe, on all my personal and professional travels I have never had to pay to use a safe - the reception staff
stored our valuables in the hotel safe for free but it would have been nice to have that in room.
There are other examples of penny pinching but overall we enjoyed the hotel enough not to be churlish about details.
While there we also ate at the Iron Bar, which was really lovely & went on the Aquarius & Tony's Tropical Tours. All great experiences - just not enough time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Extremely poor serviced rooms, not clean at all, hugely over priced, restaurant extremely expensive and the food is very poor quality. extremely uncomfortable beds, feel like sleeping on conccrete blocks, and the mattresses are that old they sag where you sleep on both sides.
Hugely not recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Property: Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing