We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Great 3 Day Break”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Beautifully appointed newly refurbished apartment. Close to everything. Exceptionally friendly and helpful management. Really enjoyed our stay there have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
142
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have just completed five wonderful days with husband and friends at Nautilus Apartments. We stayed in 2 bed/2 bathroom spacious apartment with high level qualities of cleanliness and maintenance with modern and functioning appliances including new air conditioners and recent paintwork throughout. Mick and Sue the managers, are knowledgeable and can give the directions to all types of activities. Their high standards are reflected in the property and certainly enhances the wonderful experience of Nautilus Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItstheExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was exceptionally clean, airy and spacious with a lovely balcony looking over the street.The beds were very comfortable. The full kitchen was great to prepare meals. Despite the heat and humidity, the fans in the apartment were more than adequate. There was no need to use the aircon. We loved the swimming pool and surrounds. The apartment was well located, particularly to the beach and a short walk to the great shopping precinct in Macrosson Street and the Marina.The managers (Sue and Mick) were so welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend the Nautilus while staying in Port Douglas. Sue and Mick manage a wonderful accommodation facility in the lovely holiday destination of Port Douglas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. Rooms are very spacious with a big living area, full kitchen & good size balcony.
Great location to Four Mile Beach - lovely stroll just across the road (about a 5 minute leisurely walk). The shops are around a 10-15 minute walk depending on where you are headed. Easy drive for those with a hire car.
Hosts Sue & Mike were fantastic. Sorted out a minor issue with parking by moving their own car and were extremely helpful in planning activities & had great local knowledge.
There's a great Chinese restaurant just across the road (just past the bottle shop on Davidson street) which you can get takeaway and eat on the balcony :) Also don't forget to check out the little gem by the beach called Beaches on The Epslanade for breakfast (take Mowbray St on the right and follow all the way along to the beach).

Room Tip: Had a room on the 3rd floor away from the road and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice set up, the self-contained apartments have a welcoming interior. The rooms are of a decent size and it's nice to have an open plan area with the kitchen, lounge and dining area, there's also easy access to the pool from front and back doors. Love the pool!
Located close enough to the shops via a stroll and the beach is five minutes slow walk away.
Mick and Sue are incredibly helpful
Would definitely be a place to go back to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife & I were visiting Port Douglas from New York City & loved the Nautilus apartment we were given. It was spacious, airy & light as well as very clean. All facilities were in very good working order. The location was very good for access to 4 Mile Beach but just good for being a little far from Macrossan Street, the main street of the town.
The managers, Mick & Sue Whalen, were excellent hosts who were very helpful & friendly with a sound knowledge of the different tour companies operating in the area. They booked our tours promptly & the tours lived up to the Whalens' recommendations.
It was a pleasant experience with good value for our money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed in 5 different places in Port Douglas over the last 10 or so years. Each had its charms, and (usually minor) problems. This time we stayed at Nautilus on the recommendation of our local dive tour operator (Dive Blue). They said that all their previous clients had been very positive over the apartments, and said that the managers, Mick and Sue, were excellent. Having now spent 3 nights in one of their self catering apartments, I can totally agree. We arrived late in the afternoon, and as for some reason Port Douglas’s shops shut early on the Friday nights and over the weekend, it was pointed out that we needed to shop! Our hostess Sue took us in her own car and dropped us at the supermarket in more than sufficient time to get what we needed. It proved that nothing was too difficult. We had dive gear with us and were in an upstairs apartment – did we want locked storage on the ground floor rather than drag it upstairs? The apartment was well sized and had its own clothes washer and drier. The bedroom was simple, but had an excellent bed. The kitchen well equipped and set out. There was a nice balcony which proved an excellent place for breakfast. It may have been the time of the year, but previous places we’ve stayed in Port Douglas have been prone to mould. There was absolutely no sign of it in our unit. With good restaurants (and I can highly recommend Zipangu Japanese located nearly next door) very close by, and everything within about 10 minutes walk, the location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Holiday Apartments

Property: Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Address: U 69 71 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautilus Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heated swimming pool and Austar TV available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Nautilus Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing