We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. At AU $100 a night it was terrific value. Very friendly and helpful management team (husband and wife). Nice clean room. Small pool but well laid out. Complimentary bikes and as we were close to bike trails these were very handy. Our rate didn't include breakfast but for an extra $10 per person continental breakfast was available and would be delivered to your fridge the previous evening. As this was our final stop before heading home to Canada it was a great place to end our vacation

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    100
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
131
262
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We had a wonderful three night stay at the Lazy Lizard and will definately go back again. The rooms are ver large and have everything you need to be fully self contained. A great pool area with BBQ, tables and chairs. The whole complex is kept very clean and tidy and the patio area outside each room is very relaxing. Fantastic hosts, friendly and only to willing to assist with bookings or in any way they can. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenwood286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is our second trip back to the Lazy Lizard Motel. The hosts are the most friendly, attentive and helpful people. The motel itself is immaculate. The rooms are large and bright and very clean. The pool and area around it are very well maintained. There is a guest barbeque area and a nice seating area. The motel is in a nice quiet area but close to everything. It also provides a very good tour desk (lots of information and helful suggestions). One of the surpises was that this motel had an ice machine. We travelled for 6 weeks in Australia and this was the only motel that had one. We can only say that we would recommend the Lazy Lizard to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is a nice cozy place nestled on the side of the highway that leads to Port Douglas. Room was very reasonably priced and roomy. The owners are a nice couple who will help set up any tourist activities and help a traveler find interesting things to do while visiting.

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fireline911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Really good sized rooms and good value. Friendly staff and the continental breakfast was a bonus. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgtEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed one night at this lovely motel. The room was large and had everything we could have asked for, including comfortable beds, plenty of pillows, great light, quite elegantly furnished, very thoughtfully stocked kitchenette and a bathroom with a separate bath (fantastic for small kids). They even supplied complimentary continental breakfast (ie delivered the ingredients to our room the night before, so that we could make it at our convenience in the morning).

The pool was also lovely (if a little cold at that time of year!).

We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night, but could easily have imagined spending longer at the Lazy Lizard, and would have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Needaholiday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

This motel is exactly what you should expect in a motor inn. It has large, reasonably clean rooms and includes a continental breakfast. The location is good, our room had a kitchenette and all guests have access to a barbecue.

My only complaint would be the laundry facility. I would not use it. It cost us A$16 and two plus hours to wash and dry one load of clothes. The owners knew the machines were slow and expensive, but didn't mention it until we came back for change the second time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divehpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing