We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a great place for a family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a great place for a family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We selected this place as a reasonably priced option for a family stay (2 adults, 2 kids 9 & 11). We booked the family room which turned out to be two huge rooms, one with two beds, one with a big double bed, the kitchen and lounge. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable and the kitchen had enough gear (pots/pans/electric cooktop/microwave etc.) to make self-catering for the 4 of us very easy.
The place was an easy 15 minute walk into town,the kids did it easily. The included breakfast was simple (toast, cereal etc.) but made up of high quality products. The rooms were cleaned daily and kept spotless.
The pool was ideal for the kids and we used the free bikes a couple of times.
Where this place stands out from the crowd is the hosts, Jim and Penny. More lovely, friendly and helpful people you will not find anywhere. They know everything there is to know about any tourist activity in the region and can organise absolutely anything you want to do.
The pool ended up being out of action for 2.5 days due to leaks. Jim and Penny organised a complimentary family day pass for us to one of the flash resorts up the road, giving us use of their lagoon complex and lunch, to make up for the inconvenience. A very generous and much appreciated gesture.
This place cost us about half as much as a stay at one of the nearby big resorts would have. It was spotless and comfortable and Jim & Penny helped make our stay in Port Douglas a very relaxing and enjoyable family holiday.

Room Tip: The family room is a great budget family option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for deciding to stay at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the review and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    84
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
113
212
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Arrived here after long drive from up half way up Cape York. We hadn't booked on advance, so it was sheer luck. The studio was extremely roomy and faultlessly clean and prepared. Plenty of parking for our big (2.3 more high) 4x4. Service very friendly, especially as we were pretty grubby and covered in red dust. Loved the bath! Very quiet. Good value for money and a most welcome stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us at the Lazy Lizard and for making the time to complete the survey. Thank you also for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here with my parents and it was truly remarkable! Jim and Penny (the owners) are very helpful and accommodating. They booked tours for us and recommended heaps of other stuff to us. And the facilities are great- We made great use of the BBQ! Pool area is beautiful! And our room came equipped with a Kitchenette which came in handy for breakfast and some dinners!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you finding the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just stayed one night after a trip to Cape Tribulation and Port Douglas is close enough to Cairns airport to use as a base before flying. We were glad of the laundry facilities and put on a large wash as soon as we arrived. Owners were friendly and helpful. The kitchenette would have been an asset if we were staying more than one night. The walk along the beach into town is pleasant. It is about 15-20 minutes to walk into the main drag. A good clean reasonably priced place to stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moojea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very clean, but don't come for the amenities. I chose this hotel because it was in the middle of a long family vacation and I was looking forward to having fun in Port Douglas as well as knocking out our laundry. The laundry closed at 8 pm (last load needed to be prior to 7 pm because the "dryer doesn't work very well") at I did not have enough time to do dive trips and get laundry done. The people were nice and the location was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the review. The laundry opens at 8am and is closed at 8pm in consideration of other guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
268 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There is little to fault with the Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, but we were only there for a few hours as we arrived late and checked out early.

As such we didn't check out the facilities of the establishment and these comments are on the room only.

The room was clean. It is average sized for a triple share, as it was with our group. Little to fault.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you finding the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a little different than what you might expect of a Best Western hotel. It is a small, one-storey building along a covered car-port parking but with trees and shrubs around. There's a small pool and BBQ area. Rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. What is especially helpful are kitchenettes with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, electric frying pan and kettle, etc. With restaurant prices so high in Australia, it is helpful to be able to prepare ones own breakfast or lunch - even dinner. The hotel is quite a walk from the main shopping street of Port Douglas so having a car is really needed. The owners, Jim and Penny, are very friendly and helpful, indicating places of interest to visit and booking Great Barrier Reef tours, if requested.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comprehensive comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
7.2 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per studio. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool and waterfall. Relax and enjoy the quiet setting with a barbeque beside the pool. The staff at our free tour desk can advise on tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, which ever suits your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing