We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mantra PortSea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Club Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
575
125
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
125
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric frypanrooms are largeice machinegreat hostsfree bikesfamily roomcontinental breakfastminute walkhelpful ownerssingle bedthe great barrier reefguest laundrycovered parkingexcellent place to stayfree wificeiling fansmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 710 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The welcome I received from Penny, the owner of the Lazy Lizard really set the tone for the 5 nights of my stay. It is a delightful place to stay, the room is large, the kitchen area equipped with everything one could need and the bathroom likewise. Yes, it is a bit of a walk into the main area but there is a shuttle bus which stops just across the road when going into downtown Port Douglas and on the return journey the driver just stops wherever he is asked to stop....what more could one need?

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank feta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Jim and Penny are very friendly managers and quite helpful. Location is close to Port Douglas and activities. A short drive by car or 20 or so minute walk to main town.

Best Western was very clean and spacious with outside facilities well taken care of including a barbecue and small pool. The rooms were comfortable with fridge and microwave but overall could use some updating. Continental Breakfast is brought to your room the night before so that you may eat on your own time schedule in the morning. Free internet was good with some slowness at times, but then Jim would reboot it and all was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdjglewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We are so glad that we chose The Lazy Lizard for our stay in Port Douglas. The room we had was quiet and very spacious with good facilities and it was spotless. We were given a continental breakfast on a tray each day which was plenty for the two of us. The grounds are beautifully kept and planted with interesting trees and shrubs. The motel is well away from the main road so we were not disturbed by traffic.

Penny and Jim are the best hosts anyone could wish for. We had recently had news of a personal family tragedy and they could not have been kinder or more understanding and helpful. They also gave the best advice on visiting the area and helped with the bookings too.

I would be very happy to recommend The Lazy Lizard to anyone visiting Port Douglas.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fussybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We found this motel in an Internet search and it lived up to expectations in every respect. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Cooking facilities were limited to a microwave but there was a barbecue for general use.

The pool wasn't huge but very adequate for a decent swim.

Jim and Penny were excellent hosts, Jim giving us very good recommendations for day trips, particularly when to go on a boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef and which companies to look at. Our choice of Calypso was first rate as their excursion was first rate.

The motel is about 2 km from the town centre so easily accessible. There's also a walk through to the long beach but we didn't swim there because of possible stingers, being the end of the rainy season.

It's not far from Mossman Gorge and Daintree Forest/Village, which make a great day out. Kuranda is about 45 mins away and another must for a day trip. We took the train up and the Skyrail gondola back, Doing it this way round gives most flexibility on timings for return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked pretty much the same. Ours was at the far end, away from the road but can't imagine road noise would be a problem anywhere. Being surrounded by lush vegetation the rooms are always in the shade, no bad thing when it's hot.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFromMeldreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate your comments and for you making time to complete the survey. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is a good option if staying in Port Douglas. Just know it is between a 20 to 30 minute walk {depending how fast you walk} to the main part of town. And if you have a car, you can just park in town, there are plenty of public parking spaces. The beds were ok, the mattress was a little hard for my liking but when you are tired, it doesn't matter. The bath was large, separate shower and tub. Plus you have a mini kitchenette with a long counter. There is plenty of room to set things on. Also there is couch. But best of all is the free internet in your room. I found the connection to be good, every once in a while it would freeze, but only for a few seconds. The connection is fast enough to watch videos on your computer.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews