We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of town, but a great place to stay nevertheless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are looking at a reasonably priced accommodation in Port Douglas. The hosts Jim and Penny are very friendly and try to attend to all your needs. They help to book all your tours in and around Port Douglas and also provide recommendations for the same. The room was simply furnished with an attached bathroom, but was very clean and very well maintained. There is complimentary wifi in the room and the common areas of the inn - we found the speeds to be pretty good throughout the stay. There wasn't a restriction on the number of instruments we could use to access the internet either. The inn also provides washing and drying facilities at a nominal charge.

The location of the inn is a bit far away from the heart of Port Douglas. This is a bit of an inconvenience if you want to step out for meals, but there are regular buses running around town that stop right outside the inn. It would cost you AUD 8 for a return trip to the center of town. The four mile beach is also a short walk from the inn and very easily accessible.

In summary, I would strongly recommend this place as an inexpensive means to stay at Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi Subramani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you completing the survey and for your in depth comments. Quiet is a real plus for us and being out of the Central Business area certainly has its advantages. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 670 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! I stayed at the Lazy Lizard for 5 nights with my dad on our trip to Australia and everything about it was brilliant. Wonderful welcoming hosts, Jim and Penny, comfortable beds and huge rooms, with a kitchen area that helped keep our costs down as we could make microwave meals some nights. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you completing the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and i stayed here with our 5 month old baby for 10 nights. A great place to stay close to town. Very comfortable and clean, well equipped with all that you will need if you want to cook your own meals. What really makes this place is the owners Penny and Jim. They were great with our bub, we always felt welcome and they were very accommodating to our needs. There unbiased knowledge of the area is excellent and helped us have a fantastic trip. Also a lovely pool and well maintained grounds. We have highly recommended this accommodation to friends and would definitely stay here again if we visited Port Douglas again. Great value for money !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and write your review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in September 2013, best value in town, the hotel is spotless, great location, away from the town but not to far, peaceful, and the owners friendly, helpful and enjoyable!!! I didn't want to leave. The price is very reasonable, and I would stay here again, as a matter of fact I hope I get back there so I can stay again!!! Also they have a great pool!!! Only if I were there right now!!! Thanks for a wonderful experience Penny and Jim!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your comments and also you making the time to complete the survey. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

In a town of high end accommodation, the Lazy Lizard is a true delight. Jim and Penny are a master class in good old fashioned hotel management. Not only do they go out of their way to make you feel at home, they do it with minimal intrusion and maximum kindness. The Lazy Lizard is great value. It offers quiet, simple, super comfortable accommodation within walking distance of the beach and the main street. I cannot recommend the Lazy Lizard highly enough, I will happily return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to review our property. We enjoy our guests and are thrilled when we make their stay memorable. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had 3 wonderful nights at the Lazy Lizard and would not hesitate to return! The rooms were lovely, airy and spacious and the hosts - Jim and Penny are wonderful people. They were so helpful and friendly it felt like a home away from home! I booked all my tours with Jim and Penny and their recommendations were fantastic! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouandEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Received a warm welcome from Jim (owner). The property is extremely well maintained.
Our room was very large with kitchenette. It was spotlessly clean. Very private and quiet.
We only stayed one night and would definitely stay here again.
Very good value for money. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Many thanks for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to write your review and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing