We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Queensland visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“North Queensland visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

While in Port Douglas we stayed at the Best Western Lazy Lizard based on previous Tripadvisor reports. We were not disappointed. The room was very spacious, the owner and his wife were very helpful in advising on tours and things to see.
Although not in the main street of Port Douglas there were restaurants within walking distance of the motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many thanks for staying at the B/W Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for the comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    111
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
173
297
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Coming from the US, we didnt have any idea where to stay in Port Douglas. We picked the Lazy Lizard because of its price and the international Best Western name. We were completely and appreciatively surprised what a great choice we made. Jim and Penny were great hosts. Jim gladly set up our Barrier Reef day and rainforest tour for us, and all the recommendations he gave us were spot on. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. WiFi provided. We ate "brekky" by the pool everyday and it was just a short walk to downtown, the marina, and the beach. The Lazy Lizard not only has a cool name, but also a fantastic charm as well. The mango tree in the parking lot is something to see. The Dudaks loved the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you for being wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our first trip to Port Douglas and wow what a place! Staying at the Lazy Lizard was the best choice we could have made. Penny and Jim are amazing hosts. They went above and beyond what we would expect any motel owners to do. This place was exceptionally clean, well kept and tidy. The pool was such a welcome reward after a hot day sightseeing and snorkeling. We can not fault this place at all and would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit an amazing place in the world. Thank you so much Penny and Jim!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and write your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved Port Douglas .. such a beautiful place. The Lazy Lizard is a lovely motel with a nice pool and BBQ to use. We had a nice quite room (9) with parking right outside. The rooms a very large, very clean, comfy bed, sofa and a kitchen with microwave and well equipped,free wi fi too.
Penny & Jim are very nice and helpful recommending trips and places to eat.
We annoyed our stay very much .. Thank you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for making the time to complete the survey. We appreciate you staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good location few minutes drive from Macrossan Street and the beach. Here for 5 nights with our son, spacious room with double, single beds and sofa bed. Kitchenette had everything needed and continental breakfast provided each day. First time staying in Motor Inn and facilities good, nice pool and BBQ area. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Free WIFI and free bikes available. Well worth a ride as everything so close. Harbour for cruises to the reef is only a couple of minutes drive and we would highly recommend Silversonic outer barrier reef which visits 3 sites at Agincourt reef daily.
Only negative - thin walls so may have to put up with some noise, but this only happened on 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the B W Lazy lizard, we appreciate you making time to review our property and for your comments. The walls are concrete and normally pretty good sound proof, we do have 3 inter connecting rooms and this may have been the one of the rooms you stayed in. we are researching for the most efficient material to place between the two doors to lessen the effect and we expect to have this fitted shortly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy Lizard for 5 nights in late September, 2013. Jim and Penny were wonderful hosts. They helped in setting up transportation to and from Cairns and made us feel like welcome guests.

The room was large and quiet. The chairs and table outside the room were a nice touch as we often had our breakfast there in the morning. Overall a very good place to stay in lovely Port Douglas.

Room Tip: The higher number (9 and higher) are further from the road which makes them quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traderjoe6521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard and for making the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we were 3 guys traveling and found the place to be everything we wanted: clean, spacious, helpful and friendly owner, large and well maintained bbq, great starting point for biking, hiking or beach activity. Sure would like to come back sometime soon.

Room Tip: room 001 is just next to laundry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0n5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard Motor Inn and for making the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your comment. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing