We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddar Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I dropped into Jim,s hotel for a one night stay as a walk in
He,s a real friendly guy and very helpful
He showed me the room to ensure I was happy and gave me some local information on trips
This hotel is spotlessly clean, good value with a great owner and I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for simple comforts and a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making time to review our property and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    100
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
130
252
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a lovely 5days stay with wonderful hosts jim and penny .this motel should be 5 star rated, spotlessly clean,lovely pool.the thing that made our stay was the kindness of jim and penny .they couldn't have done more to make our stay better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulanewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thankyou for staying at the Lazy Lizard & making time to review our property, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a 'walk in' customer so had not seen any reviews - I went purely on the look from the outside. I was met by Jim who showed me a room before I made my decision. Well that didn't take long to ask for a room! I was lucky enough to be able to stay just over 2 weeks and saw many other guests come and go. Penny and Jim remembered every guests name, and what trips they were going on (whether they had booked through their reception or otherwise). They made a point of asking how their days had been which really made you feel more of a family member or friend rather than being a 'guest'.
The rooms are enormous. Apart from the beds (!) there is a sofa, dining table, extended dressing table which houses a dvd player (huge amount of dvd's available at reception) and a tv. Each room has it's own patio area and if you hire a car you can park it immdiately outside your room under a covered canopy. The kitchen area is very well equipped with everything you need including a full size under counter fridge. The bathrooms are really really clean with a seperate bath and shower enclosure, soaps and toiletries, and the fluffiest white towels. An ice machine and washing machine/dryers (small fee) next to reception complete the picture.
The pool is again spotless with loungers and parasols, and you can borrow pool towels from reception. Adjacent is a barbeque area with everything provided but the food.
An excellent night's sleep thanks to the Lazy Lizard being just away from the main stretch - no lorikeets! Penny and Jim have a wealth of knowledge about the area and will not recommend visits or trips if they think there is an alternative better suited for your needs.
A car is helpful if you intend to drive to local areas such as Daintree etc, but not essential as you are a short stroll from te centre and the marina area,
Would I visit here again? Absolutely.
Liked - Penny and Jim/everyhing about the Lazy Lizard.
Disliked - having to leave :(
xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KizzyPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Many thanks for making time to review the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your indepth review and comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are locals of Cairns and spent one night at the Lazy Lizard. My daughter and I were very impressed. It is VERY clean and the rooms are HUGE! Very nice to have the kitchen also. It was a decent size too. The pool was so lovely and clean.
Thank you for a great stay. I have been telling everyone what a good choice was, although in regards to the location, you need a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for making time to review lazy Lizard, we really appreciate your comments thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Easy to find on main road into Port Douglas. Single storey motel with parking right outside room. Big room, clean, comfortable, quiet. Slept like a log. Nice bathroom. Proprietors live up to their friendly and helpful reputation. In trying to be picky, I'd say it's a little too far off the main drag to walk in Port Douglas temperatures, but that's all. Great place to be based.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write your review, we value your comments which encourage us to provide the best we can, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwajalein Atoll
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Two of us stayed at this hotel for two nights 12/25/12. The rooms where very clean. The location great and easy to find. Jim & Penny, are a great host with tons of local knowledge. Nice pool.

I would stay their again, anytime. My only regret, we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for making the time to write your review. We really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Oz
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to attend a friends wedding.

I had tried to get in at some of the higher end hotels but couldn't, in the end I just went off the reviews on here and booked.

No regrets at all the owners are friendly, helpful and run a first rate establishment.

Where to start? Well for starters we got a really early check in, something I would have totally understood if we had been refused. The flight times from Perth are a pain so I guess we weren't the first bedraggled west coasters they had seen.

The rooms are great we had a queen bed with a second single. But the real plus was the exceptionally high standard of cleanliness. When I say it was spotless I mean it even the car ports were Spick and span. Not a spider web or dirty mark to be seen. Bedding, floors, kitchen all immaculate.

The pool here is also a gem, waterfall, well maintained and plenty of loungers.

This place is set back from the main road in to town so it's a two minute drive to the heart of things or a ten minute stroll. We didn't hear any road noise.

When we come back to Port Douglas this will be my first port of call!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, your comments are positive and encourage us to keep improving as much as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing