We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Port Douglas Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$199
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$190
Peppers
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$292
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$157
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$168
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$421
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Shantara Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$375
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
593
126
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
126
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric frypanrooms are largeice machinegreat hostsfree bikesfamily roomcontinental breakfasthelpful ownersminute walksingle bedthe great barrier reefguest laundrycovered parkingexcellent place to stayfree wificeiling fandaintree rainforest
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 730 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here on our trip around Australia. What a wonderful place. Rooms were very clean and spacious and very well equipped. Plenty of parking in the shade which was great, and near to our room,
A small laundry was available with a washer and dryer and also a washing line.
The hosts, Jim & Penny, were very friendly and very helpful.
Free internet was available in the reception area.
Wish there were more places like this.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for making the time to review the Lazy Lizard, we both really enjoy our guests, helping them to relax and finding activities that best suit their requirements. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My parents and I stayed at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn for 5 nights in October. The rooms were clean, spacious, well equipped and very affordable; excellent value for money. The town centre of Port Douglas is within walking distance.

The owners Jim and Penny were great hosts, they gave us great advice on day tours, offered us beach towels to use when going to the beach, we could make use of their bicycles at no additional cost and after telling that my parents never snorkelled before, Penny was even so kind to give them an introduction in the swimming pool before going "in the deep" on the reef tour. Thanks very much for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stephan, Marian & Theo from Melbourne / The Netherlands

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We really enjoy the look of pleasure when our guests arrive back from the reef with huge smiles and being able to help them with the snorkelling in the pool gives us a real buzz.. Thank you for making time to write your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If this hotel was almost anywhere else in Australia it would be the best place in town.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped and pretty new - bath, microwave, big flatscreen and DVD player. The owners are super helpful and didn't even mention that we arrived an hour after check closed without calling (sorry about that!).

The rooms are all ground level and you can park beside all of them under a canopy so no hauling of bags around the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, we enjoy welcoming our guests and help them with information and advise. We appreciate you taking the time to review the Lazy Lizard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 9 nights great roomy room has everything from bread board to hair dryer and vey clean that is a must when we travel and stay.great location can walk to beach 5 mins away. The main river and shops are a 15 min walk. I highly recommend this motel. Jim n Penny will look after you they are the owners.cheers have a great stay:)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Many thanks for making time to review our property, we certainly enjoy making our guests holidays relaxing. We appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stay at the Lazy Lizard whenever I am in Port Douglas. Penny and Jim ( the owners) are great! And the place shows their dedication. The rooms are always super-clean.

As many others hace noted the fact that there is an electic frying pan ( and fridge ) provided can be good if you are on a budget. I like to cook,and there are 2 very good supermarkets in PD so I always save some money by making a tasty dinner with the electric frying pan ( mmm@ Brussel Sprouts and Pancetta ! ).

There is also a grill you can use ( located next to the pool ).

PD is a great base to explore this part of Queensland- I think it is much much better than Cairns. The Daintree is a 1 to 2 hour drive ( maybe 2 to Cape Trib).


As noted by others it is maybe a 15 minute walk into town ( a 4 minute drive ) but this is no biggie. It is not like you can;t walk into town. Also the beach is a 10 minute walk at most.

There are no grounds/gardens, but there is the small pool, and you can park your car right next to your room.

If you are going to Port Douglas stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for making time to review the Lazy Lizard, we really enjoy our guests & learn so much about other peoples careers and life experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews