We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another glowing review !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stay at the Lazy Lizard whenever I am in Port Douglas. Penny and Jim ( the owners) are great! And the place shows their dedication. The rooms are always super-clean.

As many others hace noted the fact that there is an electic frying pan ( and fridge ) provided can be good if you are on a budget. I like to cook,and there are 2 very good supermarkets in PD so I always save some money by making a tasty dinner with the electric frying pan ( mmm@ Brussel Sprouts and Pancetta ! ).

There is also a grill you can use ( located next to the pool ).

PD is a great base to explore this part of Queensland- I think it is much much better than Cairns. The Daintree is a 1 to 2 hour drive ( maybe 2 to Cape Trib).


As noted by others it is maybe a 15 minute walk into town ( a 4 minute drive ) but this is no biggie. It is not like you can;t walk into town. Also the beach is a 10 minute walk at most.

There are no grounds/gardens, but there is the small pool, and you can park your car right next to your room.

If you are going to Port Douglas stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for making time to review the Lazy Lizard, we really enjoy our guests & learn so much about other peoples careers and life experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Motel kept our luggage in kitchen area until check in whilst we explored the area. They gave us helpful advice on attractions and gave us maps. The rooms are large and clean with a sitting area. There is a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and electric frying pan but no hotplates. Good size bathroom with shower and bath. The rooms are serviced daily and are nice and quiet with parking right outside the door (all rooms are on ground floor). There is a little terrace area outside the rooms which was nice to chill on after a day on the reef. The motel is in a good location around 10/15 mins walk from town. There is a guest laundry at $4 per wash. There is a free internet terminal in reception but WiFi in the room is paying. Good air con and ceiling fan kept room comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for making time to review the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lazy Lizard for about a week a couple of weeks ago. The room was very clean and tidy and we loved the fact that there was a kitchen that we could use in our room. We were able to save a lot of money by going to the local grocery store and preparing our own meals. Though the lazy lizard is not centrally located - it's still less than a 5 minute drive to the downtown. Penny and Jim, the owners, were also pretty awesome. They just won an award for customer service among Best Westerns in their part of the world - and I understand why! We knew we wanted to go on a couple of tours during our stay in Port Douglas. Immediately after I booked my reservation, I emailed them and Jim promptly responded and hooked us up with two pretty awesome tours - a snorkeling one to the great barrier reef and a drive into the rainforest. We were most certainly taken care of! We also accidentally left our passports with them and didn't realize it until 1hr before our flight when we were already at the Cairns airport. We called Jim and he drove all the way to Cairns and brought us our passports. He saved the day! We have stayed at numerous types hotel - from the cheapest to the most expensive and luxurious. The Lazy Lizard was very affordable - but the property didn't "feel" like that. We most certainly would stay there again and we highly recommend anyone else to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLee1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for making time to write the review on the Lazy Lizard. We endeaver to make our guests stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on a tour of North Queensland and luckily found the Lazily Lizard Motel. My wife and I have traveled extensively in Australia and stayed at countless motels over the years and I can safely say that the Lazy Lizard is one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in. The gardens and grounds are well cared for and very relaxing. The rooms are very spacious and clean and have all the facilities one needs. The rates are very very reasonable too. The owners Penny and Jim are very friendly and most cooperative. We have no hesitation in recommending the Lazy Lizard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lazy Lizard was just what I was after - a place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city especially as I had arrived pretty ill. While the location would not be ideal for some, it suited me being in the quieter part of PD. It was a 10-15 minute walk into town but it was a nice stroll and could be done quite easily along the beach which was very close. After a day of activities it was the perfect place to come and relax for the night with a spacious room, a kitchenette, a flat screen TV and a comfy bed. There is also wifi if you need it. I only saw Jim once during checkout (checked in late..) but he was very friendly and gave me suggestions and maps on what to do for the rest of the trip across the tablelands and north of PD. Needless to say everything he told me was right and made for an enjoyable couple of days across these parts!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Many thanks for making the time to write your review, we are pleased you were able to recoperate during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were in Port Douglas for a flying visit for a wedding. Owners Jim and Penny are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful and Jim pointed us to all the best places to eat in town. The room was big and spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable, and the motel is handy for beaches and the town centre (but not so handy you can hear the parties in the bars at night!). Port Douglas is a great place to relax and the Lazy Lizard certainly helped us to do that. There are plenty of things to do in the area (and Jim and Penny can help you with that, too). All in all, a great place to stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormydog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for making time to write a review for the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent a week at the lazy Lizard in August and wish it had been longer. The room was spacious clean and very well equiped.The outside areas were beautifuuly maintained. Jim and Penny were brilliant hosts ...loads of advice and help when booking trips and planning visits. They were always on hand and were interested in your day. It felt like staying with friends.Would certainly stay there again and will and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Many thanks for making the time to review the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate your comments, and thank you for choosing to stay with Penny & I.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing