We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy lizard .... just the ticket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lazy Lizard for four nights and enjoyed exploring the Port Douglas area from this base.
The bedroom / dining / seating area was spacious, the bathroom had a separate bath and shower and, usefully, a short washing line over the bath. The kitchenette had all that we needed as we chose to eat out each night. Each unit had a patio area but was functional rather than scenic as it over looked the landscaped parking area.
The area is quiet and about 20 minutes' walk into Port Douglas. Jim and Penny are always on hand to help and certainly take great pride in providing their guests with an enjoyable stay. Lazy Lizard is very good value base which I'd readily use again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estravellerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for making the time to write your review, we enjoy helping our guests make the most of the stay in Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 681 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Was very happy staff was great very clean and nice faculties like bikes and a pool!!! Neer beach and town great place to spend the night!!! The breakfast was good and it's off the busy road so very quite. Sitting in the sun by the pool really makes you feel like a Lazy Lizard!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank luke n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Many thanks for making the time to review our property, yes sun and pools go well together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here 29th of June. We wished we would have known about this place earlier instead of staying at a few lesser quality accommodations. We found Australia to be a very expensive country to visit for five to six weeks, particularly as Americans, but we found very good value at the Lazy Lizard. Jim is an excellent host...very informative as well as very entertaining. Hopefully one day he makes enough money so he can buy some shoes.
The Lizard is very clean and very quiet. This is one of the top five places we stayed at on our journey in this great country.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We appreciate your comments and making time to review our property, many thanks for staying with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. We had the family suite which had a good amount of room. We had a bedroom with 2 single beds made into a king bed, then a large living room with a queen bed and sofa bed. Breakfast was continental (cereal and toast) which was dropped off the night before in our room. There was a small laundry room available. The hosts were great and helped with arranging all tours. They made perfect restaurant recommendations.
It is about 0.9 miles from town so it would be best for those with a car. There is free covered parking. It is also a little bit of an easy walk to the beach - about 5 blocks.
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for making the time to review the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Short but sweet - We had a pleasant stay for one night and would have stayed longer if time was on our side. The owners, Jim and Penny are friendly people and geniunely wanting to ensure that their guests are comfortable. I noticed a lot of little things that they care about their guests just for example, very clean BBQ area and provided cups/glasses for beer and wine, complimentary biscuits with the complimentary tea and coffee, on their counter they had a small meal pack (my guess for guest arriving late who haven't eaten), whole establishment including room were spot on clean and tidy. Only downfall, we had to have the sliding glass door closed so we couldn't hear or be heard by the guest staying in the next room who were sitting in the outdoor patio area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUTH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family just spent a week at the Lazy Lizard. As other reviewers have noted, Penny and Jim are great hosts, friendly and helpful. I've never encountered motel owners who care so much about their guests. Housekeepers were pleasant and friendly too. Penny and Jim also provide great tips on worthwhile places to visit.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The kitchenette is well-stocked, and along with the grill by the pool, visitors have everything needed to prepare nice meals, saving on food costs. It was also great to have breakfast provided.

We enjoyed the patio and it was a comfortable place to share a bottle of wine after a busy day. The grounds were immaculate, and well landscaped to provide privacy and shade.

It was also very easy for us to catch up on dirty clothes with the nice laundry facilities. The motel even had clothes lines behind the motel (out of sight) where we could air dry our clothes. One day we had clothes on the line while we were on a road trip, and when it rained, Penny took them down and put them in the dryer for us. How nice!

The motel is a few minutes walk from the gorgeous beach as well as the marina area, where there are several nice places to eat. There is also a wonderful restaurant, Zai, a couple doors down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MISnowbird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We appreciate your in depth review, it was lovely having your family to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I confer with all the great reviews I read regarding the proprietors, Jim & Penny - VERY friendly & helpful. Huge rooms, great accommodations. This "motor hotel" style is a lost art in the USA and a wonderful, say nostalgic, place to stay. Truly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelI632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We thank you for your kind thoughts, and making time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $83 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing