We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just stayed overnight because of tripadvisors reviews and it met all my expectations. It's comfortable and friendly with great service. The room was clean and there's plenty of room to stretch out in case you come with more than two people. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for posting the review, we value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    105
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
150
277
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We just stayed at the Lazy Lizard in order to stay overnight following Carnivale's Long Lunch event. The property is everything the reviews have indicated - spacious, clean, comfortable and in a great location only a few minutes drive from Port Douglas centre. The owners are really helpful and friendly. We'd definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Many thanks for writing us a review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice hotel. Room was very large and spacious. Had a full bathroom and kitchen set. Breakfast was delivered to the room the night before, so we could eat at any time. With two kids, we did not feel cramped at all. Room backed right up to the parking lot so we did not have to walk far. Laundry facilities present. Host was always available and very helpful. Swimming pool was spacious. Good location in Port Douglas, only a few minutes away from shopping and restaurants. No Wi Fi in the rooms but were able to use a computer at the reception area. Would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and for the great comments, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very good value for Port Douglas. The good size rooms are spotless, comfortable and well appointed and the staff are friendly and professional. The location is close to the main street of Port Douglas; you can walk from the hotel into the main street in about 15 minutes, or less, depending on what you consider to be "in town". The rooms have a microwave and electric pan, so you can also be a bit self sufficient with meals.

If you're looking for a luxury resort, this is not the place, but if you're looking for value, you'll find it here. And I can also second the comments about Jim and the staff. Very nice people who run a good basic hotel. This place will always have customers while some of the more upmarket places are struggling - simply because of the value for money.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markjackson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Many thanks for making the time to write your review, we value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Falls
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Large, clean, comfortable rooms with kitchenette. We were so fortunate to find the Lazy Lizard and highly recommend it! We had a rental car for driving into town and could park right in front of our door. The hosts have travel info & will book tours for you. Tour shuttle provides pickup & return. Very convenient & relaxing. No worries, mate.
Friendly, generous, & helpful hosts seem to love what they do and know how to make you feel right at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caperata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for making the time to write your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very helpful, knowledgeable owners Penny and Jim Ewan. Generous and flexible with their time assisting us with our arrangements/tours to make the most of the area for 4 wonderful days. Accommodation excellent, nothing lacking. Outside area very attractive. Great pool and spa pool with BBQ area.
Bonus: stay in Port Douglas at the Lazy Lizard and arrange trips to the reef and rainforest. Avoids traveling to and from Cairns before and after long day tours. Owners arrange arrival and departure transportation to and from Cairns airport. Plus we had time to spend a few hours in Cairns after we arrived before traveling to Port Douglas for our first night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tass07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My partner Paul and I stayed at the Lazy lizard in late February. Jim and Penny were more like friends than hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay special, even giving me a bottle of wine for my birthday! Jim drove us round on the first night to show us the best restaurants and booked all our trips for us.There were bikes to borrow free of charge and the shuttle bus into town (which you paid for) picked you up and dropped jyou ust outside the motel. The small pool was adequate for a few swimmers and the jacuzzi was relaxing!The room was spacious and spotless. I would recommend this motel to all ages. Thanks Penny and Jim. Look forward to seeing you another time.

Room Tip: All rooms the same facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you, we both really enjoy helping our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing