We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Douglas - Excellent accomodation - stay here instead of Cairns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
“Port Douglas - Excellent accomodation - stay here instead of Cairns!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very helpful, knowledgeable owners Penny and Jim Ewan. Generous and flexible with their time assisting us with our arrangements/tours to make the most of the area for 4 wonderful days. Accommodation excellent, nothing lacking. Outside area very attractive. Great pool and spa pool with BBQ area.
Bonus: stay in Port Douglas at the Lazy Lizard and arrange trips to the reef and rainforest. Avoids traveling to and from Cairns before and after long day tours. Owners arrange arrival and departure transportation to and from Cairns airport. Plus we had time to spend a few hours in Cairns after we arrived before traveling to Port Douglas for our first night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tass07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    111
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
173
296
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My partner Paul and I stayed at the Lazy lizard in late February. Jim and Penny were more like friends than hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay special, even giving me a bottle of wine for my birthday! Jim drove us round on the first night to show us the best restaurants and booked all our trips for us.There were bikes to borrow free of charge and the shuttle bus into town (which you paid for) picked you up and dropped jyou ust outside the motel. The small pool was adequate for a few swimmers and the jacuzzi was relaxing!The room was spacious and spotless. I would recommend this motel to all ages. Thanks Penny and Jim. Look forward to seeing you another time.

Room Tip: All rooms the same facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you, we both really enjoy helping our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Lazy Lizard Inn was more like a B&B rather than a motel. Jim and Penny were the best hosts a traveller could ask for. They went out of their way to offer advice, provide a good selection at breakfast (which was delivered to our room the night before) and book excursions for us. Penny even invited us to join them for coffee and toast the morning of our checkout - such nice, gracious people! If only all accommodations could provide this level of service. The room itself was spacious, airy and clean, with small kitchen with fridge, microwave and all the dishes we needed to prepare simple meals. The grounds were spotless, and BBQs on site were great to have. Port Douglas is heaven on earth, what a gorgeous spot. Between the hotel and the area, I didn't want to leave!!!
Thank you Jim and Penny for making our stay in Port Douglas even more memorable, and for recommending Calypso for our Great Barrier Reef excursion. The Calypso's crew were professional and educated us on different aspects of the GBR. Super lunch too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandDMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you, the pleasure was all ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

It was lovely to stay at the Lazy Lizard. We had everything we needed. Penny and Jim had lots of good advice for tours, and were wonderfully friendly and personable. Our daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Your response is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Penny and Jim are naturals for Motel management. They did all that they could to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Penny even volunteered to teach my wife to snorkel in the superb pool. Great barbecue area. Apartments well appointed and well fitted out with a well equipped ktchen. Very spacious. Great shower. Who could want for more and great value too! Watch out for the giant sized Fox bats that roost not so far away. They fly over the motel at dusk on their way to their feeding grounds. An amazing sight if you haven't seen it before. And it was free!

Room Tip: All the apartments seem to have a similar aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our Motor Inn, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here as part of our trip through OZ with my brother and his wife in two identical rooms. We elected to pay for a week, even though we only stayed for 6 nights since there was a "pay for 5 stay for 7" package deal.

The owner was a very friendly gentleman who seemed very knowledgeable about the area and different tour type things available. We really enjoyed the 'natural looking'; pool and made good use of the grill for cooking our dinner.

Easy walk to the beautiful beach, and a short drive to town for groceries, dinner, and our SCUBA/Snorkeling trips. Could also be done as a long walk if you have the time, but probably better to at least have hired bicycles nearby if you don't have a car.

The included kitchenette was fine for doing our own breaky.

The only negative here was that we found the cleaning was a little hit or miss, given that after a few days we noticed some fairly disgusting garbage from some previous occupants was under the bed. Other than that it was an excellent place to stay, and we would probably stay there again if we make another trip to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancurtis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
An apology to our guests! We were really disappointed our cleaning staff had missed this one, we have spoken to the team and emphasised the importance of keeping the standards high. Double checking is so important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We had a lovely time at the Lazy Lizard, it is located perfectly to town and the facilities and the owners are fantastic. They helped us line up our tour to the Great Barrier Reef and knew all the ins and outs of the area. Our stay couldnt have been better, Thank you Jim and Penny for a lovely stay. Arnold and Cecilia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing