We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret”
Review of Daintree Safaris

Daintree Safaris
Ranked #21 of 78 Tours in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Daintree Safaris and Nicholas Fox conduct luxury, four wheel drive day tours from Port Douglas to the oldest rain forest on Earth. We carry a maximum of just six guests per day, travelling exclusively in the comfort of a spacious, late model Toyota 200 series Land Cruiser, featuring individual air conditioning and equal legroom throughout. We’ll cross The Daintree River by cable ferry on our way to the Jindalba board-walks. Enjoy a morning tea of home-made muffins and locally grown tea or freshly ground plunger coffee. See two World Heritage sites meet as the Daintree Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef touch at Cape Tribulation's beach. Take advantage of a true locals knowledge and enjoy our secret, sparkling swimming hole. Savour frosty, tropical delights at The Daintree Ice Cream Company while you stroll through their beautiful gardens. Then, stop for a photo, at the scenic Alexandra Lookout. Lunch, well sit back relax and dine, a la carte, in any weather at The Daintree Tea House Restaurant. Enjoy a choice of Chicken, Beef, Vegetarian and allergy free meals or perhaps you'd like to try our tropical speciality, Barramundi. All dishes are served with salad, chips, fresh bread and a large array of tropical fruit. Your host will talk you through all the exotic locally grown delicacies as you enjoy your meal. Next we take you to The Daintree River Cruise Centre for a one hour guided wild life spotting cruise on the Daintree River. Perhaps we'll spot one of our giant Saltwater Crocodiles. With World Heritage Accreditation and over twenty year’s local experience, Daintree Safaris knows how to show you the best of our beautiful region in comfort and style.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I can only agree with the positives others have said about the experience with Nick. It was a wonderful day in the rain forest and other sites. We even saw rare water fowl - a great-billed heron on the river tour.

Thank norjore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

It really is our pleasure to spend the day with such good company. Thanks both for choosing us & taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It makes us so happy, glad you had a good time up here in Tropical North Queensland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"home made muffins"
in 13 reviews
"daintree tea house"
in 12 reviews
"morning tea"
in 34 reviews
"land cruiser"
in 17 reviews
"cape tribulation"
in 26 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 18 reviews
"wild barramundi"
in 4 reviews
"fruit tasting"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 10 reviews
"personal trip"
in 3 reviews
"comfortable vehicle"
in 3 reviews
"freshwater creek"
in 5 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 13 reviews
"mossman gorge"
in 17 reviews
"fountain of knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"croc cruise"
in 4 reviews
"crossing the road"
in 3 reviews
Filter

231 - 235 of 270 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nick is an amazing tour guide with so much knowledge, a beautiful speaking voice and a clever sense of humour. We were lucky enough to have Nick all to ourselves as no one else had booked that day. The car was comfy, cool and Nick always opened the door for me! I thought initially it would be a long day, but it was paced so perfectly we had a brilliant time. Lunch was awesome, but defintely the highlight was meeting such a lovely man with such passion and knowledge for this area. There were things we just would never have seen or known about had we just taken ourselves to the Daintree for the day. Although I can be a bit tight fisted at times, this was definately value for money, and I would recommend this tour to anyone, young or old. Thanks Nick
From Emilie and Sean x

1  Thank Emilie_and_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

You are so kind. What a lovely review it got our day off to a great start. Thank you for joining us & thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent the day with Nick and 2 other clients yesterday, and had a very nice time. Nick takes a very personal approach, and his vehicle is new, clean, and very comfortable. I felt very privileged to be with Nick and not on one of the many other tours we saw during the day!

Nick is quite knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna, and he keeps the day moving along at a good pace, without making anyone feel rushed.

I highly recommend Daintree Safaris!

1  Thank DavidLawrenceR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We were very happy to have your company for the day thanks so much for choosing to visit The Daintree with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were so lucky last week to choose the best attraction in Port Douglas. Nick's groups are never big but we had him all to ourselves. He is such a knowledgable guide. More importantly, he pitches his day out at just the right level for non-experts like us. There was not too much walking. We left early before the heat of the day and when the trails were reasonably visitor free. Morning coffee with home baking was excellent, as was our lunch. We had an enjoyable hour on the river and saw baby crocks. We saw such a variety of wildlife on Nick's safari (some of which we would have walked right past but for his experienced eye).if you do nothing else on your Port Douglas holiday, visit the reef and join one of Nick's safaris

2  Thank silversurfer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your review it made us very happy & thanks for visiting us in Tropical North Queensland. Glad to help make your stay fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As soon as we met Nick at the front of the hotel, he was already pointing out a local bird to us! This was an amazing tour - a must-do when staying in the Port Douglas area. We couldn't believe how many different things we did and places we went in one day. Nick was so knowledgeable about all the wildlife (especially cassowarys!) and history of the area - you can tell that he loves what he does. He pointed out so many things to us that we would never have caught otherwise - like forest dragons, camouflaged insects, python, and turtles, and taught us how to make soap from one of the local trees. The breakfast muffins were really good - for 2 people who normally don't like raisins, we both gobbled them down. Lunch at the Daintree cafe was also delicious - we tried so many kinds of tropical fruits that we would never have normally ate, and we very much enjoyed the lesson on each fruit they gave. Get the barrimundi for your main dish. For a very personalized, small group tour with a walking encyclopedia, we would recommend this tour to anyone!

3  Thank e419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you very much, we put a lot of work into our tour & when kind people like you make time to share your compliments it means a great deal to us. Making you happy is the whole point of our safari & we love that you had such fun with us. See you both next time you are back over this side of the planet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Safaris also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing