We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple satisfying food and great friendly service.”

Port Douglas Yacht Club
Ranked #13 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Port Douglas Yacht Club is a unique and beautiful venue, located on the Dickson Inlet. Rick Preen our amazing new caterer has recently come on board, so do yourself a favour, come down have a Beer, Wine or Cocktail and sample Rick's wicked cuisine! If you're interested in holding function here, you have come to the right place. Send me an email and I will be sure to give you a call. Look forward to seeing you at "The Yachty"!
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
339 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Simple satisfying food and great friendly service.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Really nice location on the banks of the river in Port Douglas.
The service is very friendly and the food is great.
It's great that this place remains a great place to get an honest meal.
Well done and thanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    153
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

It's charm is its age and daggyness. Great view, very relaxed atmosphere. They've kept the original shed that was the first clubhouse! It stands nearby. Drinks reasonably priced. Food was restaurant quality and the kitchen runs like a well oiled machine. I had the grilled barra with chips and veggies Superb! Cost $27.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lattegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxed atmosphere and good food. Drinks out of a can or bottle and not watered down! Overlooking the river, big area of grass where the kids can run around without causing trouble. Insect repellant supplied for use if required. Just relaxing with nice food without being over the top.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love the curry”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had dinner at the Yacht club expecting to be able to order a bucket of fresh prawns. But we were told that its only available during the day. Never mind, the local barramundi was good, the curry delicious, and the sea food basket just average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old style”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Took me back to my days of going to the pub for a cheap meal - this is what the Yacht club is like - soft drink out of bottle (not pre-mixer), basic meals, but well priced and nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Douglas Yacht Club also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Port Douglas Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing