We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene location, great food, well priced.”

Port Douglas Yacht Club
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Port Douglas Yacht Club is a unique and beautiful venue, located on the Dickson Inlet. Rick Preen our amazing new caterer has recently come on board, so do yourself a favour, come down have a Beer, Wine or Cocktail and sample Rick's wicked cuisine! If you're interested in holding function here, you have come to the right place. Send me an email and I will be sure to give you a call. Look forward to seeing you at "The Yachty"!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serene location, great food, well priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have dined at the Yacht Club the last 3 visits to Port, and have never been disappointed.
This time we had the wild caught baramundi, which was very good.
This is a place were children can run around outside as there is plenty of room. A very relaxed atmosphere, with a great outlook of boats at anchor, and in some cases sailing by.

Certainly worthy of a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    152
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food...great value...great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a serendipity this place is....food is high quality and more reasonably priced than other place in Port. Staff are friendly and professional. It also isn't too bad to sit near the water and enjoy the views...lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Local secret - eat and drink where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want somewhere the locals frequent that has a good vibe, good atmosphere, no tourists then this is the place. 3 min DRIVE (10min walk) from Macrossen street, this bar and restaurant offers outdoor (both undercover and outside) dining. The guys who own the restaurant have been here the 8 years I've been coming up and this is definitely my favourite food. Try the fish on the specials board (updated regularly). Straight off the boat and definitely NOT frozen. Went here 3 nights in a row as it is that good. Restaurant open dinner 7 nights from 6pm and lunch Saturday/ Sundays. Good quality food at good prices without the pretentious attitudes some of the mainstreet restaurants have.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We discovered this local gem on our previous trip and took the kids back again...with great meals reasonable priced, a perfect location right on the marina/river and space for the kids to run it is definitely a winner for us. You can also head there on a Wednesday afternoon to crew one of the yachts before heading back for a drink and a meal. Couldn't take advantage of it with 3 small kids but would have loved to. Will head there again next time we are in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bilby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great setting and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the beachfront, so naturally a great setting. Typical pub / club style food, very generous servings, well priced and tasty! The seafood especially was fresh and well cooked.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank flipperPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Douglas Yacht Club also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Port Douglas Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing