We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Comes to Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niramaya Villas and Spa
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The villas at Niramaya are breathtaking. Having been to Bali several times, they are equal to the best of Balinese villas. They are spacious, well designed, warm lovely pool, and stunning setting.
The villas are only serviced every fourth day, more often would have been good, especially with 9 of us in the villa, and no cleaning products for us to use. One broom was located.
Be aware that they are a good few km's away from town, so some form of transport is needed to get to town.
They rent bikes for $25 per day.
There is free use of the tennis court, but you need to book, as its popular.
Would definitely recommend the Niramaya.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jungones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Villa 39 (Booked through Stayz) for 7 nights in early July. We had 4 adults and 4 children, staying in a 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom villa. From the moment we arrived we loved the tranquility and openess of the Villa - it is truly an oasis. Here is a quick summary:

Positives
- Spacious and beautifully appointed house in a Bali pavillion style
- Bathrooms are first class
- Two outdoor built in bbq's which were clean and good quality.
- Superb grounds that are very well maintained
- Private, quiet and peaceful - It feels deserted, but it's not.
- Access to tennis court and central pool.
- Gym was small, but more than enough whilst on holiday
- Restuarant looked great - but we didn't get the opportunity to check it out as there are so many options in town
- The weather in July is lovely, especially if you are from somewhere cold (Vic/SA/TAS/NZ)

Things to be aware of -
- Our most disappointing aspect was that the pool heater was "broken". The pool was too cold for the adults but didn't stop the kids, although they would come out blue!
- It is about 5-6km from Port Douglas central (McCrossin Street), so you need a car
- The shuttle is unreliable in stopping at the resort. Best to wait on the highway which is a short walk. I waited for over 50 mins.
- Day spa is ridiculously expensive at the resort.
- Book for dinner in town - getting a table is difficult in peak season regardless of the night!
- No wifi, Telstra signal is pretty weak and slow.

Would highly recommend for families, groups looking to experience relaxing, up-market holiday accommodation. One of the best in Port Douglas. I would give it 4.5/5 - half a point off because of the pool heater which we were quite disappointed about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Jacqui I am sorry I dont agree with your post below. This is definitely the best resort in the whole of port douglas and we have visited Port Douglas every year for the last 6 years.
The Sea Temple is not a patch on Niramaya. The surroundings at Niramaya are beautiful, we stayed in number 26 and everything looked as if it was brand new plus it was completely private. They have L'occitane products in the bathrooms which smell divine and the accommodation reminds me of a balinese villa with own plunge pool, simply stunning. We asked for the heater to be turned on and the management did it straight away. The staff made us feel so welcome and went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. We have booked again for next year too.
There is also so much to do, we played Tennis, swam, the kids could take their scooters safely around throughout the resort, we visited the rainforest, played golf, got a babysitter and went out for a night out as there are heaps of restaurants around and the shuttle will come and pick you up from the resort. All in all a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently returned from Niramaya Villas disappointed. On the website it offers BBQ, DVD and spa bath - BBQ didn't work, spa had no plug and no DVD player. One of the main reasons we chose Niramaya was the private plunge pool as we have enjoyed a private pool on 2 occasions at Qualia Hamilton Island but unfortunately was unable to enjoy as ours was not heated when questioned the staff they advised only 'some' are heated which we thought was odd as being June you would assume a heated pool would be considered for guests. Lights in bathroom/dresser not working, shower blocked and to our surprise a lot of dust/dirt visible behind bedhead. Wished we chose Sea Temple had an awesome dinner there and the Resort and staff we upbeat and definitely did not look tired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacquie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Definitely recommend the Niramaya VIllas as they are luxury Balinese style. Lovely décor, clean and fresh with private pool. I would say this is the best place to stay in Port Douglas if you want privacy, cormfort and modern furnishings. It would of been perfect if the villas provided free wifi, foxtel and daily cleaning if there was a need. Also maybe a "starter" condiment kit (eg salt and pepper ... etc) in the kitchen. Overall very happy with our stay at Niramaya Villas - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Calico2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Even driving into the Niramaya Resort is simply stunning, it's a good indication of what you are about to experience. Our villa backed onto the rainforest and we enjoyed the sounds of the birds and frogs. Normally your accomodation is never as good as the advertising photo's but here it's the opposite, the photos do not do these villas justice. The calming music playing through the stereo system, ceiling fans creating a breeze, the open living areas and water features immediately put you at ease. It was in the mid to high 30's whilst we were there so we closed off the bedroom and put the air conditioning on but not in the living areas. Even when it rained the roof line didn't let any water in making it absolutely beautiful to sit in one of the two lounge areas and watch the rain. The plunge pool is in total privacy making bathers optional! How often do you get your own private swimming pool where you can do such things? I'm not sure if I would take young children here, it might be a bit too quiet for them. We were lucky enough to be able to leave our 4 kids with Grandma and enjoy Niramaya and Port Douglas, we are already saving for another trip to this stunning part of our country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sister, nephew and I stayed here for five nights in January 2013 and absolutely loved it. Our accommodation was so gorgeous we could hardly bear to leave it to go out. Just being in our blissful sanctuary was so restful - a delight to the senses. Our heavenly haven was a 3 bedroom Sundaram style house – my favourite of the five styles in the resort – backing onto remnant rainforest and affording us total privacy. Despite the monsoonal heat and humidity, the Balinese style architecture of the home enabled us to leave the living rooms wide open to the elements with the ceiling fans, breezeways and high cathedral ceilings performing as intended to draw cool air through the house. Given the season, we elected to keep the bedrooms air conditioned, but we did not find it necessary at all in the living areas. When the tropical rains hit we sat contentedly dry in these open spaces under the extended eaves of the house as the water fell torrentially all around us. It was so beautiful watching the palm fronds and branches of the abundant foliage bend gracefully under the weight of the water. More water cascaded down the chains artfully placed instead of down pipes to steer the water into the drainage grates completely hidden under river stones. The house provided an opportunity to truly commune with nature. Just being there instilled me with a greater sense of serenity and relaxation than I have experienced in a long time.
Oh the evening bliss of a well made (by me!) gin and tonic sipped while lounging in the tropical warmth of the private plunge pool, listening to the calls of the night birds and the frogs mingling with our music, watching the crystal droplets of water dance from the blue lit fountain, and enjoying the ambience afforded by the uplights shining into the canopy of the remnant rainforest behind us. I sent photos to all my friends telling them that I was in Heaven and all replied to agree that it appeared so! I hated the thought of leaving this magical place but will definitely go back! This is not a full service hotel, but it is not intended to be and most certainly does not need to be. One of the great pleasures of the house was its total privacy and we did not feel the need for servicing at all, though it is available. Want clean towels? Toss them in the Miele washer and dryer – hardly an onerous task. The onsite restaurant, Otz, is only open four days a week but the food was superb With 70 odd excellent restaurants a few minutes away in town, you would be mad not to go out and try some of them anyway. The infinity resort pool is divine for doing laps and just walking around the acreage of the resort gardens provides another opportunity to exercise. But above all, just immersing yourself in the calm serenity of the house is balm for the soul. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: For total privacy ask for a room backing onto remnant rainforest. If you prefer to be more outward l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
2.3 mi away
Cayman Villas
Cayman Villas
#8 of 57 in Port Douglas
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villas and Spa

Address: 1 Bale` Dr, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $427 - $1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Niramaya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Self Contained Accommodation nestled in lush tropical surrounds. Architecturally designed for all your senses, you will feel Niramaya's subtle energy and swim in its natural beauty. The fragrance of frangipani floats on the light breeze - through soaring pavilions, into private courtyards and over the lillipad dotted lakes. Niramaya, literally, rejuvenation of the body through returning oneself to nature, is a boutique sanctuary of exclusive villas set amongst 15 hectares of gardens in Australia's tropical north. Have a workout in the gym, or unwind with a few laps in the 30m infinity edge pool. For something more relaxing, disappear in the pages of a book or indulge in a soothing massage or facial in the privacy of your own villa, Niramaya is luxurious and intensely private. A short stroll takes you to the coconut fringed sands of Four Mile Beach - and leads all the way to the chic village of Port Douglas where the regions famous cuisine, culture and character awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niramaya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing