We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa, but not the perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Niramaya Villas and Spa
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We are 2 adults and 1 8-yr old, and stayed in these villas for 9 nights during the June/July 2012 school holidays. Ilena and her husband are the property managers, and they are delightful to deal with. She booked us into a beautiful 3 bedroomn villa, #25, complete with plunge pool and jacuzzi. Unfortunately the weater was too cold to use the outdoor jazuzzi or the pool during the time we were there. Cairns doesn't seem to use heaters for anything outdoors, so my suggestion is not to go until it warms up there, such as during September/October.

The villa was beautiful, but unusual. The bathrooms are also beautiful, with sunken jet tub overlooking the outside gardens, and huge showers. The achitecture combines the outside with the inside, which was the part we didn't like. My daughter's room was quite far away from our room, and leaving her door cracked open at night meant that anything from the jungle backing onto our villa could crawl into her room at night, or worse, anyone can litterly wander into the garden area and into any of the rooms if they are not locked, because the villas are open aired. Open aired also mean bugs, so on a few occasions I had to wash an army of ants out of our bathroom and spray a nest of spiders out of the shower down the drain! My husband could also not sleep pretty much our entire stay because of the noisy birds in the jungle behind our villa. It really is an experience staying here :-)

There were problems with the villa as well, and this could be due to them shutting down and newly reopening. The microwave didn't work, there was only one frying pan which wasn't non stick and very difficult to cook eggs with. The fancy stove top was difficult to use, the dvd player didn't work until the video guy across the street was called in to fix it for us, and on the last night when we had to turn the heater on in my daughter's bedroom (because it was so cold) we couldn't get it to work and when it started to blow cold air we could not turn it off. Thank god for the 3rd bedroom, otherwise she wouldn't have had a place to sleep our last night!

Whilst a 100% working villa could have a rating of 4-5 stars, I'm rating this property 3 stars for the following reasons:
*there are no facilities, concierge, restaurant, or really anything else to make you want to hang out at this resort expect for the nice villa. They were suppose to open a restaurant on July 1, but we didn't hear anything during our stay and decided to dine out.
*there is only 1 cafe across the street from the villas that you can walk to. It is EXPENSIVE. A simple breakfast for the 3 of us cost over $60, which wasn't worth it. Better to buy groceries and cook your own breakfast.
*these villas are not on the beach and the only view is the jungle from your back yard
*you will need a car to get around- Port Douglas town is about a 10 minute drive away.
*the villas are only cleaned one every 4 nights, and the clean was terrible. They must have only spent 30 minutes, or less, cleaning the villa as the floors were still dirty and spider webs were left in the kitchen after the clean.

Room Tip: Villa #25 is 3 bedrooms, and offers a plunge pool and outdoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paradisegirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 272 of 272 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Niramaya is not a hotel, it is a resort consisting of privately owned villas of various sizes which are let out and managed by resident managers. The villas are so private and luxurious; you hardly want to leave them. There is a double garage if you have a car, otherwise frequent shuttle buses into town. All the staff were very helpful and friendly expecially Ilena and Tim who manage the resort. We chose to do one big food shop as were were there for a week, went out for lunch or dinner 4 or 5 times, and Ilena booked an all day guided tour to the Daintree rainforests, Cape Tribulation, Cooper Creek and Mossman Gorge. Well worthwhile. There are many tours available including the nearby Great Barrier Reef. We saw a few other resorts in the area but none as good as this. Ideal for anyone who doesn't want the expense of buying every meal, plus the convenience of getting your own meals and refreshments when you want them in the Miele kitchen. Excellent accomodation, private plunge pool and beautifully kept gardens offering a great outlook from the villas. There is also another pool, gym, sauna and full sized tennis court (raquets available) for guests use close to the reception area. Great value for a true holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peterperfect070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Originally called Bale. Beautifully kept gardens and villa's. No restaurant facility on premises but either walk or take shuttle to a great variety of restaurants in town. Each villa has it's own plunge pool, gas fired BBQ with outdoor dining area, modern kitchen, large dining and sitting room, plus outdoor seating area and double lock-up garage. Bedrooms with ensuites in separate pavilion. Air conditioning and ceiling fans are throughout the villa. Very comfortable, private and friendly, smiling staff. Probably the best accommodation in Port Douglas. Value for money, especially with your own pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nelliesmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2ベッドルームはプールが広くてお勧め
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ぶうちゃんBuuCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank なっちゃんママ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
472 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
2.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villas and Spa

Address: 1 Bale` Dr, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $467 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Niramaya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Self Contained Accommodation nestled in lush tropical surrounds. Architecturally designed for all your senses, you will feel Niramaya's subtle energy and swim in its natural beauty. The fragrance of frangipani floats on the light breeze - through soaring pavilions, into private courtyards and over the lillipad dotted lakes. Niramaya, literally, rejuvenation of the body through returning oneself to nature, is a boutique sanctuary of exclusive villas set amongst 15 hectares of gardens in Australia's tropical north. Have a workout in the gym, or unwind with a few laps in the 30m infinity edge pool. For something more relaxing, disappear in the pages of a book or indulge in a soothing massage or facial in the privacy of your own villa, Niramaya is luxurious and intensely private. A short stroll takes you to the coconut fringed sands of Four Mile Beach - and leads all the way to the chic village of Port Douglas where the regions famous cuisine, culture and character awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niramaya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing