We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Whileaway is the Port Douglas destination for lovers of great books and delicious coffee.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Local favourite! The whole place has a great vibe - great variety of books and cool furniture. Staff and coffee are great. Try the lamingtons!

1  Thank sdemmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thanks very much for your lovely review, our lamingtons are the icon of Australian cakes and we love introducing them to local and visitors. So glad to hear you enjoy spending time with us and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Sooo cute little place! The best idea ever to have a book shop and a great Café combined. The coffee was delicious and the warm housemade muffin to die for. My friend had the banana, pineapple cake which was fantastic too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SunGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thankyou so much for your very kind review, we are very proud of our homemade cake and muffin selection and thrilled that you enjoyed every mouthful. See you next time you are in Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Such a gem of a place - browse the bookstore or settle down in a comfy chair to enjoy your quality coffee and read the paper. A quiet spot on the main street, but tucked away from the main thoroughfare. A locals favourite

1  Thank Julz-T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

We love the fact that you found Whileaway peaceful and relaxing and so nice to hear we have achieved exactly what we set to do, thankyou and see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great place to get a coffee and check out some books. They have a great selection, especially for kids, nice ambience. Only problem was it was hard to get a seat! We had to do a lap of the street and return 10 minutes later one morning. Friendly staff. Thanks.

1  Thank Kasc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our store and glad to know it was well worth the lap around the block! See you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited Whileaway many times during our Port Douglas holiday. Every town needs a haven like this one, a perfect match of bookstore and coffee shop. Always busy, and lots of treasures inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thankyou Susan, we are very grateful for your lovely comments and hope to see you again some day, enjoy your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing