We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, food and wine”
Review of Sassi

Sassi
Reserve with
Sassi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, food and wine”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Could not fault the service, you do not just have your waiter all the waiters attend to you which ever one is nearest to you or not busy. Food, could not decide what we wanted had many different dishes, left things out etc no problem what so ever. Coctails amazing. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recomending this restaraunt for any occassion lunch or dinner, try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    194
    68
    38
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Service and Meals”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The service was near perfect at this restaurant. We had a great seafood squid ink pasta and the most divine chocolate lava pudding to finish. I hope to come back one day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic meal in paradise”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The restaurant was suggested by good friends in Melbourne, and they did not disappoint on their recommendation. The food was fabulous with an appetizer of gently seasoned local fried shrimp, followed by the scallop risotto which was the best I have had in my life--better than an any Italian restaurant in the US or in Italy itself. The rest just kept on fulfilling our dreams and we left being serenaded by the chef and owner himself--Toni. You don't have to think twice about going to dinner here--just do it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Pleasant Italian restaurant”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a nice meal here, sat outside, pleasant surrounds, food prices reasonable, staff helpful. Nothing spectacular but nice enough

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Sassi”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Epic spot. If nothing else, go there for a pizza and a glass of wine! I've had exceptional food at this place, including my favourite of black squid ink pasta...
Would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Last time we went the service was a bit off, perhaps with new staff on for the wet-season, so I won't hold it against them.
Sassi over Bel Cibo anyday!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudgeOhSus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing