We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb apartment, perfect location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Area
Living room Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Dining Area
Living room
Bedroom
Private balcony
Lounge onto balcony with views.
Kitchen
Port Douglas Apartments - Nautical Contemporary
Pool and Spa Area
Entertainment Unit Inc DVD/Bosse Stereo System
floor plan of the apartment
Chat Direct if Required
BBQ area
Arial Location 90 Mtr to Beach
Living
Living
Kitchen
BBQ area
sitting area
Port Douglas area
St Mary's Church
Port Douglas area
Sunset cruise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
630MKJ
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb apartment, perfect location.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The Nautical Contempory is a modern apartment having a private balcony with a large relaxing sofa on which to sit/lounge and wind down the day.
Close enough to hear the Ocean but at the quiter end of classy Macrossan Street avoiding the early evening manic antics of thousands of birds and fruit bats!
Great views of Flagstaff Hill across the street with its multi million dollar houses.
The owners Phil and Lisa looked after us very well and we can certainly recommend The Nautical Contempory Apartments to anyone considering visiting Port Douglas.
We have visited PD 5 times now and in our opinion this apartment was the best one we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the general size and condition of the apartment.
Liked least: Giving back the keys at the end of our stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2012
Thank you so much Mike for taking the time to review your stay with us as it means a lot to have guests say how they feel.
Trust when booking is a big thing on line & specially when your from overseas UK so we do go the extra mile to make sure that guests like yourselves have comfort in booking with us.
Mike you were a pleasure to have & you looked after the apartment like it was your own.
Sometimes with guests you feel you have made a friend and that certainly feels that way with you both.
We look forward to having you again soon & wish you all the best for xmas in Sheffeild UK.
Thank you again.
Warm Regards Phil & Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith F
Busselton, Australia
1 review
“An expereince my Partner & I will not forget thanks to Phil & Lisa.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My partner and myself recently enjoyed a week long stay in Port Douglas for my Daughters wedding, staying at the Nautical Apartment.
Apart from the joy of the wedding, it is an experience that we will not forget easily. Phil & Lisa were so professional in their handling of our booking and stay, providing excellent facilities & centrally located. In addition to the apartment, the value added information provided was great and beneficial.
We believe the service provided to us by Phil & Lisa and also your wonderful managers made our stay very memorable. We will be back! Keith & Sylvia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Car parking and central location to both ends of town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2012
Thank you Keith & Sylvia for taking the time to review your stay with us & were so pleased that your special day was 'special'.
Yes our manager is great & thanks for noteing it, as we find it important to greet our guests on arrival where possible for their stay, I know others just leave a key on the bench & you never have contact with anyone the whole stay, but we have found going the extra mile for our guests before & during gives them a feel of comfort that contact is available only if needed.
Thanks for looking after the apartment like it was your own home which it is for your stay.
Keith we hope too have you both again soon & please stay in contact.
Warm Regards Phil & Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrum Downs
Reviewed June 28, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2012
Thank you Lyn & Adrian
We love having you guys there as the apartment is always left clean & treated like your own home.
We look forward to having you again in November, there's not too many months left in a year that you haven't tried is there :o)
Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us as it does help other guests looking to stay in Port Douglas and feeling comfortable with choosing our apartments at "Port Douglas on macrossan."
Look forward to seeing you in November..
Warmest Regards
Phil & Lisa. 0424 322 181
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Cruz CA
Reviewed January 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2012
Hi Gina and friend..
You both had a long trip from USA and im so pleased you both managed to finally relax and do some great tours while in Australia.
You both were perect guests and thanks for trusting us to book your trip on line and with your person details by payment.
Trust is a big thing on line and im pleased the apartment was what you saw on line and even better.
Gina you took the time to review your stay and i thank you for that and for the photos :O) cute !!
Regards Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed January 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to sit and write a review on your stay with us as nothing pleases us more as owners than to hear back from a guests who has not only enjoyed our service and the apartment, but their stay in PD and the tours they did..
You both were perfect guests and would love to have you stay again.. Please keep in contact any time and have a great new year.
Cheers
Phil & Lisa
www.portdouglasapartments.net.au
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne M
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Typical Perfect Day at this apt...”
Reviewed November 27, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

starts with breakfast on the balcony, choosing either the outside sofa or the table and chairs to sit and watch the lorikeets, whilst drinking your cups of tea without having to argue over who gets the bigger mug!

Then, a dip in the pool. Sun loungers with cushions, shade or sun, bamboo and palms surrounding the water. Perhaps a dip in the whirlpool.

Then back up to the apartment - either open the doors, switch on the fans, and let the air breeze through, or lock up tight and switch on the aircon. The full size fridge holds all your food and drink, and the freezer has room for ice and ice cream! There are loads of bowls, plates, serving dishes and cutlery. Tell me where else you find steak knives in your self catering apt!

Now, back to the pool. Or walk the 5 mins max to the beach and nets to swim.

Time to head out for dinner? A short walk takes you right along Macrossan St. You could, if you wanted to, just cross the road and eat. This apt is in the middle of town without being in the noise. If you don't believe me, try it!

Then home, to sit on the sofa (the BEST sofa I have ever sat on) and chat, or sleep in the comfortable bed.

Yes this sounds amazing, but yes it is! This apt is the best stocked I've ever seen - want a gas bbq (shared), a set of six champagne glasses, a bottle opener, scissors, two chopping boards and knives that cut, and crockery and cutlery that allow you to have a night off from doing dishes? - yep! How about glad wrap, matches, books, dish washing liquid, tea towels, towels, blankets, cushions, a dishwasher (and the powder to go in it), and the access to a laundry (and once again powder) and you will get the drift!

A great apt, a great location, and some fantastic hosts (both the owners and the person who greets you) who really do care if you're having a nice stay, who want you to enjoy and relax and are there to help in any way they can, not to mention the comfiest sofa in the world, you would be mad to go anywhere else. I just wish Phil and Lisa owned apts in all the cities I want to holiday in!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was just fantastic
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2011
Anne we couldnt be more pleased that you both just a great time with us and you both trusted us with your accomodation from so far away.
More importantly that your Port holiday was what you expected when you arrived as booking on line can be daunting to say the least so thanks for having faith in us.
Your sms's were appreciated that you were ok and enjoying yourselves.
Anne there are nice guests and perfect guests BUT you both were that & FANTASTIC !!! Lisa & I wish you both the best xmas and truely hope we see you again so please keep in touch.
Im sorry you both had to go back to the cold of NZ :o)
Kind Regards
Phil & Lisa. Port Douglas on macrossan.
www.portdouglasapartments.net.au
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, perfect for our Port Douglas Holiday”
Reviewed November 13, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in the Nautical apartment in Port Douglas, and it was fantastic.

The location is the primary benefit of the apartment, as it is a short walk to either the beach or the restaurants on Macrossan. Much more convenient than most of the hotels available.

The room itself was very nice, with air con and some foxtel channels. We also enjoyed the balcony and daybed. The kitchen is functional if you want to stay in for a meal. Photos accurately depict the layout / condition of the apartment.

The pool for the apartments is failry basic, but there is rarely anyone there so we enjoyed the quiet and loungers around the pool.

Overall we had a great stay and Phil went out of his way to ensure that we had a great time.

Would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in Port Douglas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2011
Thank you Anthony & Rachel.
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your special trrip to Port Douglas and your accommodation.
All our apartments are in a great location to everything and as you saw first hand individually designed for comfort. You guys were just the perfect guests and we would be more than happy to have you anytime.
Prompt payment was made by Anthony without any fuss and we at "Port Douglas on macrossan" would highly recommend these guests too any owner to have them stay.
Thanks again for the above comments as it does help future guests looking to book with us on line with confidence.
warm regards
Phil &
The team @ Port Douglas on macrossan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing