We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of Sail Tallarook

Sail Tallarook
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail the Great Barrier Reef aboard the historic 91ft vessel "Tallarook". Sail Tallarook is the only company offering two half day trips from beautiful Port Douglas to Low Isles, on the Great Barrier Reef.With the wind behind her Tallarook is one of Port Douglas’ most eco friendly vessels. Fuel consumption is kept to a minimum ensuring you can make a trip to the reef with the knowledge that your carbon footprint has been kept to a minimum. And with a maximum of only 21 guests, you will enjoy a very personal service and an unforgettable experience.Low Isles is an unspoilt inner patch reef composed of small coral cay and is located 15km north of Port Douglas. Comprising 150 species of hard corals, 15 species of soft corals and a large variety of fish as well as green turtles, it is idyllic for snorkelling.
tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went out on the Tallarook today 14.09.2013 It was a fantastic experience, I have done snorkelling of one of the larger vessels and it was no where near as good, the whole thing was so professional and Chris and his staff made it very enjoyable his commentry was great, and they were so helpful and made you feel important not just a number, All the guests got on great and it was like going out with friends, The fact that it was far less expensive as all the other in no way reflects in the quality of the operation it was first class, We also had a 10 year old with us who was a bit anxious the staff made sure he was ok and showed him what to do which made all the difference to the trip The men on the boat got to help with the sails and what a great experience for them. just to top it off we witnessed dolphins jumping out of the water on the way back Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexiTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable sailing and snorkelling - and good value too”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went on the Tallarook to snorkel at The Low Isles. Chris and his two crew were friendly, knowledgeable, professional, courteous and had good senses of humour. I sought out the half day tour offered by Tallarook - and the experience on a sailing vessel was a bonus. We left at 8am and were back by about 12.30. This was not the 5 star, lots of food and lots of people experience - about 20 customers were on board and light snacks and a tropical fruit platter were provided - all that was necessary for the duration. A wide range of customers including family groups, couples and older singles - mainly women. All appeared to enjoy themselves.
Tuition was provided on snorkelling and wet suits were provided for a $5 fee. Safety briefings and procedures were adequate and clear. First time snorkellers should feel confident that they will be looked after.
Plenty of corals and marine life to see - a great experience.
I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone who doesn't want to commit to a full-day reef excursion. If I had more time in Port Douglas I would have considered doing a second trip on Tallarook.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really happy we chose Tallarook”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have a 6 year old daughter and weren't happy spending a whole day out on the reef in case she didn't enjoy it. This half day cruise to Low Isles sounded perfect and it was. The smooth sail out to the reef and back was half the fun. Snorkeling was fantastic we saw lots of turtles. We had the whole area to ourselves and towards the end of our snorkel other large boats started to arrive and I was happy we chose our intimate sailing boat with only 11 other passengers. Good value for money and you can hire wet suits for only a few dollars. Highly recommend. We will definitely be doing this again on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous trip with a fabulous crew”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly a welcome that made you feel at home and good clear briefings to help you with the trip to low isles only 75 mins each way of pleasant sailing then snorkeling the local reef catering for your every need under the experienced hands of Frank the Frenchman who knows how to spot turtles! The skipper was professional and safety conscious guiding the vessel back to the berth with precision - thank you from Peter Watt and company

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Vic, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“92ft motor sail experience, small group, big value, went twice!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We chose this half day sail cruise to Low Isles as we felt the full day offered by the others was just a bit too long having been on 4 other vessels to this location previously. We enjoyed it so much, we returned for another half day in the afternoon 2 days later. We knew it was BYO so packed a bottle of champagne which they kept chilled for us for the return journey. Also took a sandwich each. Both trips are almost like private charters with 11 and 14 groups sharing 92 feet of vessel.

On the morning trip we were first to arrive and had the island to ourselves. It seems we found the wildlife before they were disturbed by bigger groups. We had an amazing display of reef sharks feeding in the shallows. The clarity of the water which was brilliant. The 2nd trip saw us arrive to the island at 2.15pm....just in time for the crowds to leave and again we had the island to ourselves. The weather was incredible and each time we reached the island via a small tender which was fine to get in and out and you step into knee deep water with the assistance of Chris the skipper and Alec or Frank the experienced crew.

This low isles motor sail experience is a must do if you want a half day affordable reef trip with a very small group on a very large vessel to the beautiful low isles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amandamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Tallarook also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sail Tallarook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing