We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable - An absolute "must do"!”

Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas
Ranked #39 of 77 Tours in Port Douglas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take off on a romantic hot air balloon ride, every day, west of Port Douglas and the Great Barrier Reef, hot air balloons take off into the wide open blue skies. There's something about floating in the still morning sky in a hot-air balloon that brings out the romantic in all of us. It could be the absolute silence; it could be the feeling that you're as free as a bird.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Out of an action packed week in Port Douglas, this was my no.1 favourite activity. We did the self drive, which means an early start to meet at Mareeba at 4.30am, but getting to talk to the pilot (the marvellous Johan) and see the weather observations and the whole set-up of the balloons makes the early start well worth while. Watching the balloons inflate really adds to the excitement. Beautiful flight conditions - light winds and magnificent views across the Tablelands. Incredibly peaceful. And a perfect landing to cap it off. Very professional, but friendly and down to earth with it. My daughter Emma (11) and I recommend it to everyone. Dave

Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

The day started with an early pick up by an extremely pleasant gent named Alex. We then headed up to Mareeba for the 'take off'. Myself, wife and 11 year old daughter were amazed by the professionalism and hospitality. The ride itself was quite simply 'surreal' and is something that we shared which will never be forgotten, a personal highlight. On completion of the ride a comfort stop was entertained with a complimentary freshly ground local coffee, nice finish to great start of a day. A very big thank you and must do for all.

1  Thank Bigguns75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much Sir for your review of your Hot Air Balloon experience from Port Douglas, I am delighted to hear that you and the family had such a special time floating in the clouds with us here at Hot Air, I will ensure that the team here receives your good feedback on their humour, with warm regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After an early start, 4am, and an hours drive to Mareeba we arrived at the take off site. Conditions were good for our flight . We waited while the team prepared the balloons which was an amazing site amongst the mist and early dawn. No trouble getting into the basket and take off was so gentle it couldn't be felt. Beautiful views of the Atherton table lands as sun broke on the horizon and the patched of fog was clearing below. We landed with the basket on its side, which was not scary at all, help pack up the balloon and were dropped of at our hotels. The Team from Hot Air were friendly, entertaining and both professional and knowledgeable.

Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to review your balloon flight with Hot Air which is much appreciated and your feedback will be passed on to the team here.
Best regards, Andrew from Hot Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Felt completely safe. Amazing experience. Literally floating on air. Staff were friendly even folding up the balloon was a lot of fun.

Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas, and as you point out safety is an extremely important part of our delivery here and so on please that this gave you great reassurance during your ride.
Best regards from the team here, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our first attempt we made it to Mareeba on the Wednesday, but unfortunately due to windy conditions the flight was cancelled. Many thanks to Bob and Alex for a pleasant drive and free Macca's for breakfast. We then booked for the Sat but that was also cancelled due to windy conditions so our last chance to do this was Sunday morning and we were really worried that we wouldn't go up as it was raining in Pt Douglas. Our driver Shane was almost 100% certain that we would take off. Well we did and it was fantastic!!!! Many thanks to our pilot Jay for such a memorable 30 minute flight. Anyone thinking of doing this don't hesitate, just go and enjoy the fabulous experience.....THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED

Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you Marilyn for your review which will no doubt assist future travellers to Port Douglas and planning a hot air balloon ride, thankfully how very reliable location here in the year round tropics of Queensland to mean that we cancel very few days due to the weather. And on those few days that we do a full refund is always given to our guests, I'm delighted to see that you are able to try again on another day successfully, and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback
with warm regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Hot Air Balloon Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing