We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it!”

Aquarius - Sail & Snorkel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aquarius Sail & Snorkel offers luxury day cruises to the calm waters of Low Isles. Departing Port Douglas daily, this brand new 62ft sailing catamaran carries a maximum of 23 guests, each spoilt with amazing corals, snorkel sites, glass bottom boat, guided island walks and high levels of customer service. Want a day on the reef, relaxing like a celebity? Aquarius is for you!
leicester, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Highlight of our trip. Don't be daunted by the cost. The catamaran is lovely, modern and spotless. The crew helpful and friendly. We were snorkel virgins, and they were patient and encouraging when we didn't quite master it initially. After that - you can then appreciate the beauty of the reef. Do it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mel.w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    46
    17
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We prefer small intimate tours as opposed to the cheaper bigger tours. That is why we picked Aquarius and we weren't disappointed. The boat, food, and crew were all fantastic and absolutely worth the extra money. My gf isn't very confident in the water but the crew take this in their stride offering all manner of assistance. As a result my gf had an amazing time and declared it the best tour of our 3 month trip in Aus.

Book this boat, you won't be disappointed.

We'll be booking the sunset tour in the next few days.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing trip and crew”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great boat and excellent crew for both the sunset cruise and snorkelling. Could not have asked for more from both Andy and Louise. We were looked after incredibly well from the moment we walked on to the moment we walked off. Very friendly and very experienced. Thanks for a great day! Louise did a great job and the snorkelling tours were fantastic - swimming with the reef sharks after lunch and her helping us find the turtles were highlights. Having been on the other boats in port douglas - this is a stand out day on the reef!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day on the Low Isles”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visited with my parents who were over from the UK. Didn't fancy a going on a big boat to the Outer Reef as we don't scuba dive. Was one of the best decisions. We did a sunset cruise a few days previously and were immediately won over by the charming and genuinely lovely personalities of the crew, especially Louise. We rebooked for the day sail (and got a discount for booking on board - bonus). The boat accommodates up to 23, there were only nine of us so it was perfect. The yacht Aquarius is gorgeous, a really lovely spacious boat and there was plenty of room to stretch out and make ourselves at home. Water, orange, tea, coffee, muffins and fresh fruit were offered immediately on arrival. It was a leisurely one hour cruise out to the Low Isles and then we stepped into our stylish stinger suits (although I only saw one tiny jelly in 3 hours of snorkelling). It might seem a pricier option but when you factor in everything is included (ie stinger suits, masks/ goggles, a guided tour of the reef before and after lunch, a tour of the low island - more on that later - & except BYO alcohol and soft drinks which you can buy onboard) it's exceptional value. They also have a glass bottomed boat if you don't want to snorkel.

We saw turtles, sharks, giant clams, angel fish, clown fish, rays, and all sorts of coral. This was following a really entertaining and informative talk from the skipper Drew who said he has been working the reef for twenty odd years. After our first snorkel he took us on a tour of the main Low Isles island - seriously incredible. You wouldn't think shells were so interesting but when you learn the Cone shell is not only Australia's but one of the world's most venomous animals or that one shell contains over 400 toxins found nowhere else on earth and could have huge scientific benefits, suddenly there's a lot more too them than just pretty shells. Anyway, Drew was very funny and incredibly knowledgable and made it an awesome exploration.

Lunch was huge and delicious and better than expected. Prawns, chicken, salad - everything was great. Could not recommend this trip more, was a fantastic way to see the reef and get an introduction to this incredible ecosystem and underwater world.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispeck_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a wonderful day with Captain Drew and his assistant Sally. The journey to the Low Isles took about 45 minutes then we had a talk from Drew about the Great Barrier Reef which was not only informative but interesting and humorous. I did not believe that they would get me at almost 70 to start snorkelling - but they did, and boy was it worth while. Mind you, I don't think the stinger suits will catch on as a fashion item - we all looked very odd! The lunch was delicious and we were lucky that the other people on the trip )only 10 that day) were very congenial. We were delivered back to the hotel and I slept right through a tropical storm!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookie6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius - Sail & Snorkel also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Aquarius - Sail & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing