We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pie for Connoisseurs”
Review of Mocka's Pies

Mocka's Pies
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Re-opening of an iconic Port Douglas pie shop which closed for some years recently. Was possibly the best known pie shop in Australia due to the unique meat pie filling recipe. Now re-opened by Nigel Quinn using the original and still secret pie filling recipe formulated by Mocka Cheyne and his mother Belle Cheyne. Phone Nigel for more history on 617 4099 5295 or email on nigel_66@bigpond.com
Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Pie for Connoisseurs”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

They lived up to their reputation - if you like a good pie these are up there with the best. Plenty of variety, good thin light pastry and very tasty

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    174
    62
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“THE BEST PIES - EVER!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

WE LOVED THIS PLACE!!! The staff were lovely and the food was by FAR the BEST we have had in any bakery ever. We came back a few times cause it was so hard to resist! Very highly recommended if you want the best pastry you have ever eaten!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Havingfunonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice pastry but have had better.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The pastry was very nice but I found the filling to only be average, I have had better pies before. They also could have been a bit hotter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kubotachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Crocodile and kangaroo pies were delicious, definitely pop in and grab one on your travels! Reasonable price, outside area to dine if needed, but I just grabbed one and walked down to the beach to enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Q
Level Contributor
187 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“STILL the BEST pies in Australia!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Over the years, I have sampled MANY pies up and down the east coast. And there have been a few good ones. Last month in Port Douglas, I stumbled upon a Mocka's Pie shop........ in a side street, no less!! Excited and unperturbed, I ventured in to buy a pie I once knew and LOVED, long ago in Port. And it has not changed!!! Maybe it has even got better!! A big thank you to the new owners who are carrying on the tradition of making the very BEST pie in this country. Until you have tried a Mocka's Pie, you will never know!! But remember........source the blue shop out as it is NOT on Macrossan St.........but definitely worth finding. My saliva glands are now salivating and I can;t wait to return to Port.........for a Pie!! And maybe a trip on the reef too!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoungJenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mocka's Pies also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Mocka's Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing